Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: PMB3: Plaid Jacket (PMB3: Plaid Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1463 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/04 5:17 PM
Last Updated:10/1/04 5:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
That is a very very nice looking jacket. Thanks for sharing your sources for sewing techniques also. Please post a picture with you in it, if you get a chance.
9/29/04 6:17 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Very attractive!
9/29/04 6:36 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
gorgeous!
9/29/04 8:45 PM
jlg said...
Wow, your jacket is beautiful. I've yet to get a successful garment for my upper body on PMB. Your results have inspired me to try again soon.
9/29/04 9:56 PM
tamtay said...
Very, very nice, Rustybobn; I've been following your inklings and I'm amazed at how prolific and talented you are. You really go to town with PMB. Great jacket!
9/29/04 10:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great looking jacket! Perfect for fall.
9/30/04 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
That is just wonderful. Love the colors.
9/30/04 7:22 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! This was fun, and I'm ready to try again. I'm having a hard time remembering that you've got to have something besides jackets in your wardrobe!
9/30/04 7:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. You did an excellent job with the plaids, windowpane buttonholes, the whole thing. Looks very good on you.
10/1/04 6:21 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely! And you did a great job of plaid matching. -Ann
10/1/04 6:56 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks for showing us the pictures of the jacket on you, even if you felt goofy :) What a great, great fit you've acheived! I've used Judy Barlup's single welt pocket technique too (it was featured in Threads quite a few years back), and I love it too!
10/2/04 0:45 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks for showing us the pictures of the jacket on you, even if you felt goofy :) What a great, great fit you've acheived!
10/2/04 0:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very flattering jacket on you -- great fit and professional-looking tailoring details. Thanks especially for the welt pocket link -- I've bookmarked it and want to try it myself.
10/2/04 5:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
Terrific job and great fit. (I don't think any of the photos look goofy.)
10/2/04 6:58 AM
kempcor said...
You do very nice work. How long did it take you to learn to use the software and feel comfortable with it?
11/7/04 11:15 AM
Rustybobn said...
Kempcor, thanks! I've had the software for about 20 months now. I've been comfortable with the software from the start, but my comfort level with any software is enhanced by the fact that I've been working in the (computer) industry for>20 years. It does take quite some time to understand how each measurement and setting affects the others, and I can't say that I'm completely there yet. A good set of body measurements is of utmost importance, and those measurements must be taken the way the program expects them to be taken. You might want to try out the demo version of the software, or buy one of the Click & Sew CDs to see if you like it. Also, there is some discussion of this software in the PatternReview message boards, if you want to read more opinions.
11/8/04 3:20 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
Thanks for posting this - your jacket is beautiful - I just got the PMB software - And it is WONDERFUL - I've made a skirt and blouse - and you are right no more fusing to get a perfect fit - Thanks for the great links that you've provided for everyone.
11/25/06 6:06 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket, beautifully fitted. Nothing makes a jacket look expesive like great fit. I especially appreciate the links you added to your review
12/18/06 8:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us