SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> PMB3: Plaid Jacket (PMB3: Plaid Jacket)

Viewed 1463 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/04 5:17 PM
Last Updated:10/1/04 5:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
That is a very very nice looking jacket. Thanks for sharing your sources for sewing techniques also. Please post a picture with you in it, if you get a chance.
9/29/04 6:17 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Very attractive!
9/29/04 6:36 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
gorgeous!
9/29/04 8:45 PM
jlg said...
Wow, your jacket is beautiful. I've yet to get a successful garment for my upper body on PMB. Your results have inspired me to try again soon.
9/29/04 9:56 PM
tamtay said...
Very, very nice, Rustybobn; I've been following your inklings and I'm amazed at how prolific and talented you are. You really go to town with PMB. Great jacket!
9/29/04 10:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great looking jacket! Perfect for fall.
9/30/04 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
That is just wonderful. Love the colors.
9/30/04 7:22 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! This was fun, and I'm ready to try again. I'm having a hard time remembering that you've got to have something besides jackets in your wardrobe!
9/30/04 7:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. You did an excellent job with the plaids, windowpane buttonholes, the whole thing. Looks very good on you.
10/1/04 6:21 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely! And you did a great job of plaid matching. -Ann
10/1/04 6:56 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks for showing us the pictures of the jacket on you, even if you felt goofy :) What a great, great fit you've acheived! I've used Judy Barlup's single welt pocket technique too (it was featured in Threads quite a few years back), and I love it too!
10/2/04 0:45 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks for showing us the pictures of the jacket on you, even if you felt goofy :) What a great, great fit you've acheived!
10/2/04 0:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very flattering jacket on you -- great fit and professional-looking tailoring details. Thanks especially for the welt pocket link -- I've bookmarked it and want to try it myself.
10/2/04 5:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
Terrific job and great fit. (I don't think any of the photos look goofy.)
10/2/04 6:58 AM
kempcor said...
You do very nice work. How long did it take you to learn to use the software and feel comfortable with it?
11/7/04 11:15 AM
Rustybobn said...
Kempcor, thanks! I've had the software for about 20 months now. I've been comfortable with the software from the start, but my comfort level with any software is enhanced by the fact that I've been working in the (computer) industry for>20 years. It does take quite some time to understand how each measurement and setting affects the others, and I can't say that I'm completely there yet. A good set of body measurements is of utmost importance, and those measurements must be taken the way the program expects them to be taken. You might want to try out the demo version of the software, or buy one of the Click & Sew CDs to see if you like it. Also, there is some discussion of this software in the PatternReview message boards, if you want to read more opinions.
11/8/04 3:20 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
Thanks for posting this - your jacket is beautiful - I just got the PMB software - And it is WONDERFUL - I've made a skirt and blouse - and you are right no more fusing to get a perfect fit - Thanks for the great links that you've provided for everyone.
11/25/06 6:06 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket, beautifully fitted. Nothing makes a jacket look expesive like great fit. I especially appreciate the links you added to your review
12/18/06 8:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6525

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Other One-Yard Wonders Page 140

photo
by: JuneHawk

Review
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now