SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-104 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 222 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstarstar
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 118 (patterns: 115)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/11 10:17 PM
Last Updated:4/5/15 8:31 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Pattern Description: Plain cut unlined jacket with elbow length raglan sleeves, sporty sleeve and belt tabs, high collar, and belt

Pattern Sizing:36-44
I graded down to a 34 in the neck and shoulders without too much trouble

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?yes. The only weird direction is the "shoulder seam". This is a raglan jacket, but the sleeves do not extend to the neckline like a lot of raglan sleeves do. They stop approximately where a set-in sleeve would which is kind of a nice feature...the comfortability of raglan sleeves with morIe of the slimming look of a set-in. But back to the "shoulder seam"--it's really wee--like 1.5" or something like that. Mark your stitching lines and carefully match your seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love everything about this jacket. The tabs are a fun detail, the collar is comfortable and flattering, and the belt cinches in the waist nicely. I concluded that the me-without-kids-living-in-some-European-vista version of myself would totally be wearing this whilst riding an aqua Vespa carrying bread, wine, enormous greens for soup, and a costumed dachshund.

Fabric Used:stretch cotton sateen that actually was okay from JoAnn.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I shortened at the waist so that the jacket hits at my high hip per my usual.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Whenever I wear this jacket out, I will definitely consider this pattern.

Conclusion: A great jacket to layer for fall or as a spring topper. More on my blog.
Elizabeth Made This: Fall Jacket
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said... (10/16/11 10:18 PM) Reply
Nice!!!
Erin D said... (10/14/11 11:08 PM) Reply
What a fun and unique jacket! I love all the details that go with it. You definitely need some killer stilettos to fully complete the Vespa look.
Sewingelle said... (10/13/11 9:36 PM) Reply
I love this jacket. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern
Kayseri said... (10/13/11 5:12 PM) Reply
Great looking jacket
seeshellsew said... (10/13/11 3:20 PM) Reply
Great job! That is such a cute jacket!
eruuska said... (10/13/11 8:07 AM) Reply
This is adorable! One of my daughters wandered in while I was looking at your picture, and she said she wants one! High praise, there.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Kwik Sew 2956

photo
by: LiZ

Review