SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Purrfection> 1007 (Kimono Jacket & Vest)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2405 times 
Reviewed by:ShereeSews
photo

 
 
About ShereeSewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/04 11:30 PM
Last Updated:10/5/04 4:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket, Sheree. Your fabric colors are delicious, but your triangular pocket treatment really makes the jacket. Great design choice!
9/30/08 4:00 PM
j222b said...
Very nice, I think it would look good longer, too... to your knees or lower...Also I would like to see a close-up of the interesting top stitching...
7/19/06 12:29 PM
lornakismet said...
I would love to wear this jacket. :-) -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/16/06 6:19 PM
Mayleen said...
Sheree: I love what you did with the pockets! I hadn't noticed the patch pockets until you pointed it out. I may borrow your idea when I get around to making this pattern, if you don't mind *g* Mayleen
1/12/06 10:50 AM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful,you did a terrific job on this. This seems so nice for fall. If Purrfection is at Novi, make sure that you show your jacket to Dana.
10/8/04 11:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a great look. Love the fabric. I agree with your comment about 3/4 length sleeves and am also partial to them.
10/7/04 5:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. I really like the changes you made to the pattern.
10/5/04 6:20 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Sheree, Beautiful job on a beautiful jacket! I sew a lot with batiks, and have found almost all of them to be 40-42 inches wide, which could account for the extra yardage needed. I always buy more than I think I need, because I always need more than I think.
10/5/04 5:10 PM
ShereeSews said...
Irene, if you overlap the fronts, and use a closure the band takes on an angled look. If you let it hang open, then the bands appear to run vertical as the front lays open! One pattern, two looks!
10/5/04 4:33 PM
LSBCATS3 said...
Truly beautiful!
10/1/04 5:47 PM
cmarie12 said...
Sheree, Love the jacket! I will have to remember your pocket technique as it is really kewl!
10/1/04 11:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely colors, so vivid. Made up nicely.
10/1/04 5:42 AM
mClones said...
Beautiful jacket - really nice pocket redesign. Love the fabric. How does it look on?
9/30/04 10:18 PM
Mollykat said...
Sheree, I've seen you in this pattern's vest. You are right, it is very flattering! Thanks for the review and the pic of the jacket.
9/30/04 9:04 PM
mudcat said...
Lovely jacket.
9/30/04 8:45 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Sheree, This jacket is Beautiful ! You did a very good job on it. i wish it was mine.
9/30/04 4:26 PM
Collette McManus said...
Your jacket is truly awesome! I love the details you used...I'll have to "borrow" your great ideas. This is truly wearable! Enjoy it!
9/30/04 4:14 PM
SouthernStitch said...
This is truly lovely. I love batiks too, but have not been brave enough to sew one up. You have a very unique kimono now!
9/30/04 12:34 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Sheree, your jacket is stunning! I do love those cotton batiks.
9/30/04 12:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket.
9/30/04 8:24 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous looking jacket and I love the detail you added on the pockets. You obviously have a great colour sense, what are you going to wear on the bottom?
9/30/04 3:43 AM
Irene said...
Sheree, I'm so excited that you reviewed this! Your jacket is gorgeous. Can't wait to see the vest. (Does it really work as a sleeveless blouse, or do the armholes gape?) The fashion drawings on the envelope show the front overlapping (kimono-style), but the line drawings show the front edges meeting (like your photo). Can you do it either way? BTW, it looks like this is pattern number 1007 on the purrfection.com Web site.
9/30/04 1:59 AM
Izzie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love your fabric choice.
9/30/04 0:10 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!! Wow. I bet it is quite stunning on you.
9/29/04 11:59 PM
tuolumne said...
Bea-uuuutiful! Thank you for sharing this with us!
9/29/04 11:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6760

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now