SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 3138 (Tank Leotard and Biketard)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:JEF
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JEFstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 102
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/11 7:52 PM
Last Updated:10/18/11 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia C said...
Very nice & your daughter looks very happy with the new leotards.
10/18/11 9:47 PM
jenleeC said...
I have never been game to tackle leotards for fear of the 'homemade jane' look but yours are great! They fit her well and look very professional!
10/18/11 10:09 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for your quick review of this new Jalie pattern -- this leotard is on my sewing list for this week so glad to hear it does up quickly. Isn't the Jalie binding technique great? Your DD looks very happy with the results.
10/19/11 10:36 AM
kittykate said...
Excellent job and great review ! You beat me to it! It was lower down in my list anyway. Question, how do you think this would work with some of the very sway back girls without having a CB seam or at least a back V join?
10/19/11 2:04 PM
JEF said...
kittykate - except for having a little too much length (b/c of my sizing choice) the back looks great on my daughter...but she doesn't have a notable swayback.
10/20/11 9:33 PM
isakswings said...
Looks great! I need to figure out the binding thing. I have wanted to add it for contrast on a few skating dresses...
10/25/11 10:44 AM
pterion said...
Great looking leotards! Just ordered this pattern and it can't come too soon - my daughter has grown out of her old ones too!
11/8/11 1:05 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I just used this pattern, too. I like the band application. I had to recut them because I used fabric that wasn't stretchy enough. Nice job on dd's leos! I had 2 dd's in gymnastics and they let me know, very vocally, when their leotard needs were not being met :-)
12/11/11 6:21 PM
agympro said...
I am learning to sew leotards as my first sewing project- ever. Its quite the learning process. This is the pattern I bought. I don't understand the elastic though. It looks like they only tell you to put elastic in the leg area? All of the other leotards my daughter has have elastic around all of the opening- legs, arms, neck and back area. Is that correct?
8/17/12 12:31 PM
JEF said...
Yep, you're right. The neck and armholes just have binding. It works well...I think it's easier to sew and I have had no complaints from my gymnast.
8/18/12 9:25 AM
agympro said...
Ok, thanks!
8/19/12 1:30 AM
PeepSews said...
Thanks for the review! It boosted my confidence in trying to sew my first leotard. I had to choose between this and the Kwik Sew one, and I chose this one. I am excited about trying it!
10/4/12 11:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Other Gertie\'s Book:

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-144

photo
by: grays08

Review