Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1224 (Tracy Reese misses' dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 406 times 72 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR
About jenleeCstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:11/13/13 1:58 AM
Last Updated:11/13/13 2:06 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1224 by jenleeC

Vogue Patterns: 1224 by jenleeC  Vogue Patterns: 1224 by jenleeC    
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1224
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I wrote this review almost 2 years ago but was never happy with the quality of the photos and intended taking some new ones. Never happened, so apologies for the slightly overexposed images.

Pattern Description:
Pullover dress with short dolman sleeves, lined skirt, elasticized waist and neckline, stitched hems and above mid-knee length. Neckline has elastic with self-fabric tie ends.

Pattern Sizing:
Multi-sized (8-14) and (16-24). I cut a 10 top and 12 skirt which is pretty close to my actual measurements but larger than I would normally cut for a Vogue. The top is loose fitting and size forgiving so it is only the skirt that you need to be careful with.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, but I made the skirt longer and less fitted.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, very easy. Anyone with an overlocker/serger will probably choose to ignore the 'double stitched' seam instructions and do their own thing, but it is good to know that an overlocker is not necessary for this pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The lined skirt is great as it give a nice smooth line with no VPL. Using elastic attached to self fabric ties worked really well for the neckline. ...And I loved how quick and easy this dress came together. This is a 'make in the morning and wear in the afternoon' dress!

Fabric Used:
A very bright poly/spandex knit. I deliberately chose a very bright knit. There are quite a few reviews and my favourites were always the bright loud ones!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- Well this little baby is short and tight; fine for some but not for me! I knew from other PR reviewers to lengthen the bodice and skirt and to cut the skirt a little more generously. I added 4cm (~1.5") to the bodice and 6cm (~2.5") to the skirt length. It turned out I didn't need quite that much length for the skirt (I am short) so I just did a double 2.5cm (1") hem rather than the recommended single 1.5cm (5/8") hem.
- Like most reviewers, I used the waist seam for the casing instead of adding a separate casing strip.
- The elastic guides for the neckline and waist were too long for me. The neckline elastic seemed to be common issue for many reviewers and probably stems from the fact that most people will want to wear the neckline a little higher than the model. I used 65cm instead of the recommended 82cm in order to have the self fabric ties neatly enclosed in the casing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would recommend this pattern to others as a quick and easy project. I am not sure if I will sew another as my preference is for natural fibres and I am uncertain about the poly/spandex for our hot Aussie summers.

Conclusion:
I was worried this style would be too young on me and my daughter would score a new dress, but it turned out just fine with the longer length and less fitted skirt.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Pretty fabric and a lovely summer dress!
11/13/13 2:13 AM
velosewer said...
Cute and sassy Jen.
11/13/13 2:41 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, Jenlee!
11/13/13 4:00 AM
Sharonspils said...
Great dress and looks perfect for summer.
11/13/13 6:08 AM
msschiel said...
This is very nice! I love the pattern and the fabric.
11/13/13 7:52 AM
MrsCharisma said...
NOW I'm getting jealous that it's summer there :) This dress looks really good on you! Nice work!!
11/13/13 8:50 AM
caper81 said...
Love this!:)
11/13/13 9:35 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! Love the fabric.
11/13/13 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Cute and well fitted - beautiful fabric. We are into a-our late Fall early Winter in Canada so your background looks enviously lush - le grande sigh!
11/13/13 11:36 AM
ArtAttack said...
It's adorable on you! I made several of these, it's a great pattern. I love your fabric!
11/13/13 11:42 AM
madbadger said...
One of my favs! Love your version!
11/13/13 8:19 PM
Dilliander said...
Looks great Jen and will be cool for Summer
11/13/13 8:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sew Simple 2026 Pullover Top
photo
Review by DeJa Chic on 4/18/12
Read Review

McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8787 Misses Dress
photo
Review by lah119 on 1/8/14
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us