Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8584 (MISSES' PANTS AND BELT) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 436 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 227
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/11 5:52 PM
Last Updated:10/23/11 5:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
Great pants!
10/23/11 6:05 PM
lamstu said...
So fun! I have this one in mind for DD, now maybe I need to get to it.
10/23/11 9:06 PM
treefrog said...
Love the print! You've done well with the elastic.
10/23/11 11:35 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stylish and comfy-looking pants, Ren! I did not notice this pants pattern until I saw your version. You are such an enabler - one more pattern to the wishlist!
10/24/11 1:39 AM
Margaret said...
Great pants... love the bold print! Nice job on the elastic -- I'm glad it turned out a comfortable length. This sounds like a good pattern that allows for lots of different variations.
10/24/11 8:10 AM
gramma b said...
Do you cut that type elastic to your waist size, then sew, or stretch it?
10/27/11 6:47 PM
Renren said...
gramma b, the way I did it was to measure my waist and then cut the elastic 7 inches shorter (careful here, this is going to be a personal preference). Then I sewed it into a loop using Sandra Betzina's method of butting the ends together and joining them with a strip of fabric (grosgrain is what she recommends, but I used the fabric itself cut into a wide strip and with the sides zigzagged). Then I divided this loop into quarters (like Kwik Sew advises) and I matched each of those quarter marks with the CB, CF and Side seams. Then I stretched that elastic like crazy and sewed first the top channel (the one nearest the top edge of the pants). The first channel took a lot of finessing it, but the next 3 channels were easier. Each channel requires lots of stretching but the 1st channel helps hold everything in place. So far my experience is this elastic is stretchier and not as firm as ordinary elastics, but it seems to cling into place better, I guess because of the 4 channels. You can google "sewing sports elastic" and find some links to get some better ideas. Next time I will make my elastic not quite as tight. So far I am really liking this elastic and based on how much I see at the sports stores, there must be a reason for its almost universal use. Good luck!
10/28/11 5:28 PM
PhillyUK said...
Thanks for posting this review. I have been looking for a pattern like this one (I especially want to do tie ankles) and want a fit with wide legs like yours. Think I'm going to buy the pattern!
10/30/11 5:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Kwik Sew 3740 Tops
photo
Review by SueT on 7/29/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tessuti Anita Ponti Pants
photo
Review by ajhewing on 6/2/13
Read Review

New Look 6305 Pattern
New Look 6305 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us