SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8584 (MISSES' PANTS AND BELT)

9 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:renren
photo

 
 
About renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews: 231 (patterns: 222)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/11 5:52 PM
Last Updated:10/23/11 5:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PhillyUK said... (10/30/11 5:29 PM) Reply
Thanks for posting this review. I have been looking for a pattern like this one (I especially want to do tie ankles) and want a fit with wide legs like yours. Think I'm going to buy the pattern!
renren said... (10/28/11 5:28 PM) Reply
gramma b, the way I did it was to measure my waist and then cut the elastic 7 inches shorter (careful here, this is going to be a personal preference). Then I sewed it into a loop using Sandra Betzina's method of butting the ends together and joining them with a strip of fabric (grosgrain is what she recommends, but I used the fabric itself cut into a wide strip and with the sides zigzagged). Then I divided this loop into quarters (like Kwik Sew advises) and I matched each of those quarter marks with the CB, CF and Side seams. Then I stretched that elastic like crazy and sewed first the top channel (the one nearest the top edge of the pants). The first channel took a lot of finessing it, but the next 3 channels were easier. Each channel requires lots of stretching but the 1st channel helps hold everything in place. So far my experience is this elastic is stretchier and not as firm as ordinary elastics, but it seems to cling into place better, I guess because of the 4 channels. You can google "sewing sports elastic" and find some links to get some better ideas. Next time I will make my elastic not quite as tight. So far I am really liking this elastic and based on how much I see at the sports stores, there must be a reason for its almost universal use. Good luck!
gramma b said... (10/27/11 6:47 PM) Reply
Do you cut that type elastic to your waist size, then sew, or stretch it?
Margaret said... (10/24/11 8:10 AM) Reply
Great pants... love the bold print! Nice job on the elastic -- I'm glad it turned out a comfortable length. This sounds like a good pattern that allows for lots of different variations.
Heatherrique said... (10/24/11 1:39 AM) Reply
Stylish and comfy-looking pants, Ren! I did not notice this pants pattern until I saw your version. You are such an enabler - one more pattern to the wishlist!
treefrog said... (10/23/11 11:35 PM) Reply
Love the print! You've done well with the elastic.
lamstu said... (10/23/11 9:06 PM) Reply
So fun! I have this one in mind for DD, now maybe I need to get to it.
margk said... (10/23/11 6:05 PM) Reply
Great pants!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5825

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Deer&Doe Blouse Datura

photo
by: House of P...

Review