SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8584 (MISSES' PANTS AND BELT)

9 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/11 5:52 PM
Last Updated:10/23/11 5:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PhillyUK said...
Thanks for posting this review. I have been looking for a pattern like this one (I especially want to do tie ankles) and want a fit with wide legs like yours. Think I'm going to buy the pattern!
10/30/11 5:29 PM
Renren said...
gramma b, the way I did it was to measure my waist and then cut the elastic 7 inches shorter (careful here, this is going to be a personal preference). Then I sewed it into a loop using Sandra Betzina's method of butting the ends together and joining them with a strip of fabric (grosgrain is what she recommends, but I used the fabric itself cut into a wide strip and with the sides zigzagged). Then I divided this loop into quarters (like Kwik Sew advises) and I matched each of those quarter marks with the CB, CF and Side seams. Then I stretched that elastic like crazy and sewed first the top channel (the one nearest the top edge of the pants). The first channel took a lot of finessing it, but the next 3 channels were easier. Each channel requires lots of stretching but the 1st channel helps hold everything in place. So far my experience is this elastic is stretchier and not as firm as ordinary elastics, but it seems to cling into place better, I guess because of the 4 channels. You can google "sewing sports elastic" and find some links to get some better ideas. Next time I will make my elastic not quite as tight. So far I am really liking this elastic and based on how much I see at the sports stores, there must be a reason for its almost universal use. Good luck!
10/28/11 5:28 PM
gramma b said...
Do you cut that type elastic to your waist size, then sew, or stretch it?
10/27/11 6:47 PM
Margaret said...
Great pants... love the bold print! Nice job on the elastic -- I'm glad it turned out a comfortable length. This sounds like a good pattern that allows for lots of different variations.
10/24/11 8:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Stylish and comfy-looking pants, Ren! I did not notice this pants pattern until I saw your version. You are such an enabler - one more pattern to the wishlist!
10/24/11 1:39 AM
treefrog said...
Love the print! You've done well with the elastic.
10/23/11 11:35 PM
lamstu said...
So fun! I have this one in mind for DD, now maybe I need to get to it.
10/23/11 9:06 PM
margk said...
Great pants!
10/23/11 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity Vintage 7147

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now