SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5107 (Bistro Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2389 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/2/04 11:29 PM
Last Updated:10/3/04 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Just a gorgeous jacket -- very nicely done! Thank you for the info on more professional finishing of the jacket, too. The pants in the photo look as if they match the jacket -- what pattern are they?
10/2/04 11:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket looks just wonderful. The tailoring details you added worked very well. Where do you get your tropical weight wool?
10/3/04 6:31 AM
mClones said...
Elegant suit. I make a narrow back adjustment and taper to larger waist and hips. This gives me the shaping I need so I won't look like a large box. Can I assume that your back adjustment is more suited for the slimmer figure? I'd like to see what the back looks like.
10/3/04 7:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This jacket just keeps looking better and better to me as I see more of them made! Yours looks terrific. I hadn't heard the tip on splitting the back before; I wonder if it would improve the fit on other LH/TS jackets? Do you do that on all of them, or just this one?
10/3/04 7:43 AM
MickeyFan said...
What a beautiful suit - not to mention the gorgeous backdrop in your picture. I there any chance you could post a picture of the back view some time? I would love to see how your mods change the drape in the back.
10/3/04 8:30 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love that tip about the back! I usually have to add about 1" so this would be perfect for me without adding to the shoulder. I take it you taper to nothing at the neckline seam?
10/3/04 8:54 AM
dbsewer said...
What a beautiful jacket and you did a terrific job. I have not tried this pattern but it looks like a winner. Thanks for a great review and for providing some inspiration to try this pattern.
10/3/04 9:52 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful looking suit! Beautiful. I'm also interested in your back ease alteration. Is this something you do to all jacket patterns?
10/3/04 9:54 AM
KarmenG said...
Yes - the pants do match. I used La Fred's pattern called Daphne Pant; I will do a review of that pattern soon.
10/3/04 10:29 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Yes I do that back adjustment on every jacket I make. I am a larger size on the bottom so it also helps in making that adjustment, but I also add to the side seams to accommodate the larger hip area. I wouldn't want the back adj to be eliminated by my hips. Rhonda Chaney recommends also doing it on blouses. I can't post a picture of the back right now; I don't have a digital camera yet. I will take a photo and and post when the roll is developed. Thanks for all the input everyone.
10/3/04 10:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Beautiful work.
10/3/04 12:33 PM
KarmenG said...
Irina - I get my tropical weight wools from one of the following: Sawyer Brook Fabrics or Apple Annie Fabrics.
10/3/04 5:54 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is stunning on you. Thank you for your tips. Someday, I am going to make this one up.
10/3/04 6:10 PM
MarilynB said...
Lois, you and your jacket look great!
10/3/04 8:03 PM
Sew it seams said...
That is a gorgeous suit. It fits you beautifully. Thank you for the tips. I'm looking forward to your review of the pants.
10/4/04 9:28 AM
MelissaL88 said...
What a beautiful suit. You did a fabulous job!
10/5/04 6:37 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Karmen, that is beautiful! I love the fabric. Great review. I'll try that back-ease trick next time. -Ann
10/5/04 11:47 AM
KarenP said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I'm going to have to move this one up higher on my to-do list.
10/5/04 11:53 AM
Irene said...
The outfit is beautiful, and the proportion and fit are so "what to wear"! I believe your claim of having a pear shape, but it's not evident when you model your wonderful clothes.
10/5/04 12:10 PM
AnneM said...
What a great jacket for you. And thanks for the tid-bits on finishing it, also! I like the tip on the back; it will probably help with these hips of mine.
10/5/04 3:49 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, please post a photo of the back when you get a chance. The jacket couldn't fit or look any better. Thanks for the succinct tips.
10/7/04 6:00 AM
drsue said...
This jacket is terrific. I really like the back alteration idea you suggested. I tend to cut my jackets shorter to avoid the hip problem but I may give this idea a try.
10/8/04 6:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am just getting ready to make this pattern. I wish I had read your review so I could have tried the walking ease for the back. Great idea. I do plan to interface the collar and facings. Your jacket looks great on you. Hope mine turns out as well.
10/10/04 8:43 AM
KarmenG said...
Linda L - We'll all be looking forward to your review.
10/11/04 8:05 AM
sewywabbit said...
I have one of these on deck now, and I only hope mine turns out half as good as yours!
10/12/04 0:26 AM
Sewphie said...
thank you, good comments
11/18/04 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now