SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Neue Mode> 22733 (Wraparound dress)

Review submitted in Think Pink Contest
Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/11 9:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Looks very interesting--I think this is the one you showed us at Stash SAL. Is it possible to get the picassa link to the photo fixed so we can get a better look? Congratulations on completing your Think Pink! entry!
10/25/11 10:24 AM
Aroura said...
I agree, I'd love to see a bigger photo, I hope you get the link fixed! :) The thumbnail is intriguing though, the fabric looks very cool.
10/25/11 11:10 AM
MNBarb said...
I'd also like to see it in full-form. It looks like a great dress. It also seems like something that would work for a trip to the beach.
10/25/11 12:23 PM
kkkkaty said...
here's a link to the images: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-bU_2r1fYwHQ/TqXiUYbo1CI/AAAAAAAAHBw/zAX7PHI1v0k/s500/front1.jpg
10/25/11 1:39 PM
jannw said...
That does look very '20's to me..you did a great job and it does look fun to wear. Is your linen glazed or is that the lighting?
10/25/11 2:16 PM
treefrog said...
Lovely dress Margaret and as always a very extensive review. I like the way you added the back stay to counter the weight of the extra fabric on the front of the dress. I'd have never thought to do that. Excellent work all round!
10/25/11 4:17 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Check out this dress by Etna Maar, it works on the same concept of wrapping to the front: http://www.etnamaar.com/data/images/variations/content/174.jpg I saw this dress in a local store and copied it last week. I love the way it wraps to the front. Your dress looks great! If you think its too baggy, you might consider putting in a few darts as you mentioned and pulling in the rest with a belt.
10/25/11 5:17 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the link -- I changed it and also added an https one in the review just in case removing the s has stopped working (or stops working in future). The linen isn't glazed -- it was just difficult to get good lighting without going outside, and it was too cold for that :) Arianamaniacs, thanks for linking the Etna Maar dress. I was afraid belting this dress wouldn't look good, but since it works on that one, maybe it would be fine on this one too. Were you able to look at the dress closely in the store? It looks like it wouldn't be too easy to copy otherwise!
10/26/11 4:38 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I'll post a review of my dress maybe tonight. It was so easy to copy, you'll see when I show how I cut mine out :) I'll send you a link to it
10/26/11 1:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Margaret!! So nice to see you "in the pink" ;D
10/26/11 4:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for adding the photos. They tell so much about the pattern. You were so clever with your back stay addition. I have to say the pattern envelope would lead you to believe this was an easy-sew, easy-wear dress and it doesn't appear to be either.
10/26/11 8:23 PM
Scheryka said...
Cute color and different concept. Good job.
10/27/11 4:15 PM
Terri A said...
How unique and interesting! Thanks for the review.
11/1/11 3:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
An intriguing project.
11/2/11 5:48 AM
fourkid said...
Very pretty and very interesting. I think that come summer you will be very happy you made it up.
11/2/11 7:31 PM
petro said...
Looks like the perfect dress for hot days, relaxed and easy, but with interesting styling.
11/7/11 11:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8263

photo
by: wildberrym...

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Beauval Reve de Bebe

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review