SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2619 (Two Piece Knit Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2677 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/04 12:37 PM
Last Updated:2/13/05 4:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
The skirt looks great, and I love the fabric. Sometimes the simplest patterns turn out the best, especially when you use a great fabric.
10/3/04 12:51 PM
JoleneF said...
Looks great. I also love the fabric.
10/3/04 12:59 PM
cindyann said...
LOVE it! WANT it! Looks great with that top. Is there a pattern for it too? :)
10/3/04 4:17 PM
Dot said...
Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I am in the mood for a new skirt, and this looks like a winner.
10/3/04 4:23 PM
Levone said...
Pretty skirt.....this color looks nice on you.
10/3/04 8:32 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the nice comments. Cindy Ann, sorry but the top is an old Ann Taylor sweater.
10/3/04 9:03 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Wow! I think that outfit looks outstanding on you!
10/4/04 6:44 AM
Lisette said...
Beautiful outfit I love your fabric and skirt. I would have never given this pattern a second look!
10/4/04 8:06 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! So what is it about the waist on this skirt compared to others that keeps it from being bunchy?
10/4/04 9:39 AM
mag said...
Very nice outfit. Fun to read how the whole thing came together for you. I keep hearing about the technique with the elastic waist, and want to try it.
10/4/04 7:40 PM
JDpenelope said...
Based on your comments and other reviews, I may have to get this pattern. It's interesting to read about your process of choosing patterns and fabrics that go together. I am constantly baffled when doing this, but am encouraged to know it just takes some time and thought, even for a fashion savvy sewist like you!
10/7/04 5:51 AM
Hilary said...
I have been looking at this pattern for a long time, I think I will go ahead and get it now- your skirt is really pretty, Thanks for reviewing it! I will have to look at the other reviews also :o)
10/20/04 8:00 AM
Mini said...
I'm so glad you tried this. Your outfit looks wonderful, like expensive ready to wear. I think this is the best a-line skirt pattern I have ever used-not too tight and not too full.
10/29/04 2:06 PM
cindyann said...
Great top. I like the neckline too. It's just the right length with a nice shape.
10/29/04 2:17 PM
candyo said...
What a flattering outfit! OT- you mentioned you are a pediatritian, right? You don't happen to be in FL, do you? We're moving there and would love to have you be DD's doc!
10/29/04 2:54 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the nice comments, guys. Candyo, I'm in Tennessee; sorry.
10/29/04 4:58 PM
LiZ said...
Your outfit looks really great, the colours a lovely and go together well. A very nice pattern also
10/29/04 5:49 PM
drsue said...
I seemed to have missed this the first time around. Looks like a really nice top and skirt.
10/29/04 6:02 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love this on you, JLG. The fabric is stunning. When you say you might go up next time, did you sew this in an XS? I usually sew a M in Kwik Sew, and I usually find that has enough ease, but would I need to go up in this pattern? -Ann
10/29/04 9:03 PM
jlg said...
Ann, I sew between an XS and S with 1/4 inch taken in at the fold with Kwik Sew knit tops. With so little ease and with the top coming down so far at the hip, every time I move my arms, I'll be pulling the hem back down in place. It wants to settle in a thinner area. When I make it a couple of inches shorter, I don't think that this will be such a problem. If I cut it as a small, I think that it would give just enough ease that it would drape instead of cling. Also, I guess that I could just give myself a little more ease in the hips. Of course, a different fabric may make a big difference. I find that stretch velvets are tighter on me than say buttermilk or rayon/lycra cut at the same size. Another reason that I will cut this shorter when I make it again is that this length comes down right under my tummy fluff, and I think that a top that cuts right across the fluffiest part is more flattering, particularly if it is close fitting.
10/30/04 5:31 AM
Lisette said...
Lovely top, the neckline came out great!
10/30/04 9:39 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are the so prolific you are the Energizer bunny of sewing! Furthormore, everything always looks great. You attention to detail makes your garments look wonderful. I covet your warm weather. I won't be wearing anything sleeveless again for another 7 months. Meanwhile, I get to look at your beautiful green yard in all your reviews. Thanks for taking the time to share so much.
10/30/04 9:51 AM
BjP said...
Lovely new top. I swear you put me to shame with your ability to get so many new outfits sewn...do you ever sleep? I can tell you really enjoy sewing and that you have a very keen eye for what colors and fabrics will look best with a pattern. Love to read your reviews!
2/13/05 7:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Microcrafts - Mini-dog

photo
by: duckbucket

Review