Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2011-101 (military jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest    printable version
Viewed 629 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:allycovey
photo
Friend of PR
About allycoveystar
AR USA
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/11 10:39 AM
Last Updated:10/31/11 4:22 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redrockcity said...
Thank you for the review! Your version is so cute!! I muslined this jacket but did not put the collar on the muslin. Hopefully that wasn't a mistake as the fabric is all cut out and ready to go.
10/27/11 10:48 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!
10/27/11 12:43 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful shade of pink! It is so cute! Interesting about the neckline...
10/27/11 1:07 PM
Renren said...
Fabulous! Congratulations on your Think Pink! entry!
10/27/11 1:55 PM
Scheryka said...
Cute jacket and color, too.
10/27/11 3:54 PM
Christas said...
Very cute jacket!
10/27/11 5:33 PM
miausiau said...
It looks nice...Not cutting a seam allowance does change the way a garment goes together, you can run into some problems this way. What you end up with is a muddle of sizes and things like oversized necklines.
10/27/11 11:28 PM
Terri A said...
Your jacket turned out really nice! Pretty fabric too.
10/28/11 3:12 AM
pdiddly said...
Thanks for the review love the colour great jacket
10/28/11 4:33 AM
Woolygal said...
This is a great jacket. Congrats.
10/28/11 8:04 AM
DillyD said...
Your jacket looks good. The problem you had with the neckline was probably caused by cutting out without seam allowances - essentially when you do that you are cutting on the stitching lines and when you sew you create "new" stitching lines which may no longer match. On side seams, it will not be obvious, but on a garment with a collar, the result will be a neckline opening that is larger and a collar which is smaller. Hope that makes sense ...
10/28/11 10:19 AM
allycovey said...
Well, I was not clear I can see what you are saying if it were the neck band that were too big, that would make sense but the neck band itself was much smaller than the are I had to put it on. With out the neck band on the jacket notheing was laying right I didn't figure it out until I went to put the neckband on and saw how much too big the whole neckline was. If it were seam allowance problems the are I put the neck band on would have been too small. This is the third lined jacket I have made from Burda the other two were full blown winter coats. I bet I have made 50 things from Burda this year and never use a seam allowance and everyhting always comes out nice. If I used a seam allowance I would have to cut a smaller size add a seam allowance and it would end up being the same
10/28/11 10:27 AM
Norsecross said...
I have avoided Burda patterns. I once saw the instructions and multi colored pattern sizes and pieces. It looked like a headache in the making, just as you said. I might be wimping out, but I think I will continue to avoid them. Your jacket looks great, and I applaud you for forging through, headache and all. Your reward is a super cute pink military jacket! What a nice twist! I would love to see a picture on it buttoned and shown from the front.
10/28/11 11:50 AM
SisterBelle said...
Great to see your review. I am also working through a muslin, getting the fit right. After see you jacket I can't wait to get started.
10/31/11 7:33 PM
prttynpnk said...
Great job and the pink and black is lovely!
11/1/11 7:59 AM
Norsecross said...
Oh! I like how close together the buttons are, I didn't expect that! The black and pink is so striking! Thanks for posting the pic and satisfying my curiosity:)
11/1/11 10:28 AM
Margaret said...
Congrats on getting it to work out despite the confusing instructions. I really like the pink with the black too.
11/1/11 11:45 AM
barebear said...
Very nice jacket! I really like your colour choices here. Good on you, muddling your way through Burda instructions! lol You are far braver than I!
11/6/11 3:46 PM
lauraborealis said...
I've got this traced and ready to cut, but as I was reading through the instructions, I wondered, "Where are the welt pockets they mention?" Is that for a different style or are they hidden somewhere? Your cute jacket has renewed my interest in it!
1/24/12 8:31 PM
grays08 said...
I'm in the middle of making this myself and nervous after reading the issues you faced. I cut a 40 and included seam allowances but so far I'm disappointed because it seems so large right now. I'm not happy with fit so far but am thinking it will come together at some point (perhaps not!). You're my hero for tackling this project! I'm trying, hopefully with as great of results as you had. Thanks for putting this out there - we need reviews of the Burda stuff!
2/14/12 12:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by chicagoche... on 3/12/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2652
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us