SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3108 (Panel skirts w/ godets)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2979 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/04 9:53 PM
Last Updated:10/3/04 10:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
WJean said...
Thanks for the review in which you give a lot of insight to this pattern. The pattern looks really good and quite simple to make, but cutting out 10 separate pattern/fabric pieces is not my ideal of a picnic! I immediately noticed your form, really the stand, that the garment is hanging on. Will you please tell me (us) whether it is one you made or one that was purchased? Should it have been the later, which form is it?
7/17/06 1:47 PM
xela said...
Please solve the mystery. What happened to the skirt? Thanks for the review. It does look good on the stand but you can definitely see the problem with the waist even though the top is covering it. I hope your future projects fit beautifully.
7/15/05 10:11 AM
esmer said...
Wow, Leslie this is a beautiful skirt. Just find a very slim friend and see if she likes its. That's what I do when the skirt I sew turn out to small for what ever reason. Thank you for the review I'll stay away from this one. I don't like to sew skirts with too many pattern pieces. I sew skirts for my teenage daughters, and I have learned that when you sew very thin fabric use a very narrow elastic and not a very tight elastic either get one with alot of give. I usely buy the same elastic the store bought skirt have and stay in that range. This will help create a very unnoticeabel waist line. P.s. If the skirt I sew for my daughter don't look like it came from Esmeralds boutque my girl won't wear it. What a challenge for me (Yeaks). However my advantage is that I was able to work for a clothing factory and so I was able to pick up alot of sewing tips from them. All in All you did a wonderful sewing job on that beautiful skirt.
5/30/05 11:17 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I'm so glad to see your review. (I'm a bit behind with my PR digests!) I made this skirt last fall and feel much the same way about it. The top of the panels are bias and they just kind of slump and look dumpy. I look like an aging cheerleader. It just hangs in the back of my closet. I haven't thrown it away because I love the fabric, but Ebay is a wonderful idea!
10/10/04 11:50 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a beautiful skirt you made! I hope you can at least be proud of your achievement... Let us know what you decide to do with it - I'm sure you'd get many bidders on eBay!
10/7/04 12:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Love it, but if you're like me, you're not going to devote any more time to making this beautiful skirt work. From reading your review, I got a warning about how difficult it is to make panels fit around the waist. Thanks for the public service message.
10/7/04 5:38 AM
Skymom said...
I was just about the post the same suggestion as Diane E and Jennie P. This is such a pretty skirt--after some time on Bertha, it might be worth a little more revision to fit you. And I can't believe that a slender thing like you can have bad legs. The black stockings and ankle strap shoes (www.zappos.com, here we come!) would be the final fix. I'm too old and saddle-baggy for a skirt like that, so I have a vicarious interest in seeing you in it!
10/5/04 1:04 PM
Diane E said...
And I thought I was so smart. I see that Jennie had the same idea! Maybe she wanted to give you tough love, too.
10/5/04 8:49 AM
Diane E said...
Okay, Leslie, that is one beautiful outfit. I'm wondering if you could remove the elastic and "dart" in a few of those gores to bring in the waist and remove those despicable gathers - then add an invisible zip and WEAR THIS with black stockings and ankle strap shoes. Or send it to me and I'll do it. Although I feel your pain, I think some tough love was in order here.
10/4/04 10:48 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Bummer! Well, you stillhave the knack for making eye-catching ensembles even if one or two along the way don't turn out.
10/4/04 9:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
After so much work, that is too bad that it does not work for you. ebay is a great idea!! Bertha looks amazing, in the ensemble.
10/4/04 7:28 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
What a pity - always the pitfall with sewing that you don't really know if it will suit you until you've put in all the hard work. It looks gorgeous, so that's very disappointing. I made this skirt in a very floaty dark-coloured georgette (and added about 5" to the length) and usually wear a top over the waistband. Elastic waists are OK on me because I have a flat butt & big waist, but I don't think they are all that flattering on a more curvy figure. I wonder if a faced waistband and an invisible zip in one of the panel seams would work.
10/4/04 7:08 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Bertha looks breathtaking in her beautiful new skirt! How unfortunate the fit doesn't work, such a cute pattern!
10/4/04 6:01 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Hm - I wonder if it would fit me...it is beautiful. The sweater covers the waist. Maybe put it away a few days and then go back to it.
10/4/04 3:12 PM
JoleneF said...
Wow, all that work and it is so beautiful and you can't wear it, that is a shame. I like the Ebay idea also.
10/4/04 8:28 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Nuts, Leslie. This is a really nice skirt. You have to redeem it on eBay. Come on, let's see what you can get for it!
10/4/04 7:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on the skirt -- you win the prize for best-dressed dress form! Too bad it didn't work for you because it is very attractive.
10/4/04 7:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
It really is a pretty skirt! I too vote for Ebay. :-)
10/4/04 6:47 AM
MickeyFan said...
But your outfit is so elegant on Bertha - she must be so pleased... Regarding making it harder than it needs to be - been there, done that, and I feel your pain. I like to think that after an unsuccessful project, I three more overwhelming successes waiting for me just around the corner.
10/4/04 6:42 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Darn, and it looks so gorgeous! All that work! That outfit should be in a boutique window with an obscene price tag on it. Ya know...ebay is not a bad idea....Your picture looks like something in Lucky or InStyle, and I bet that skirt would sell. You have my simultaneous condolences and congratulations.
10/4/04 6:37 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Ebay tag line: "Designer original skirt...was $500.00, now on sale for..." lol, it is a beautiful skirt!
10/4/04 4:08 AM
minieme said...
I agree it looks good one one legged Bertha. You can display it on Bertha to show off when guests arrive.
10/4/04 2:47 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Oh, Leslie, after so much work (on charmeuse, no less!!! )...it's too bad you didn't care for the results. It does look good on the stand, but I don't think the unileg thing would work for anyone else... :p The skirt itself looks very nice, btw, which is something after reverse sewing that fabric! Good work!
10/3/04 10:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info