Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1261 (Misses' Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 741 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:stitchywitch
photo
About stitchywitchstarstarstar
KY USA
Member since: 10/15/09
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/11 8:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
Your top is really great as it ended up. Often I spend as much time customizing my patterns as it took to sew in the first place, so I know just how it was for this one. Really helpful to see the before- and after- photos and to learn how you "made it work!"
10/29/11 10:16 PM
miausiau said...
I made a top this summer with the same overall shape. VERY unflattering for me as well.
10/29/11 10:28 PM
Lori V said...
Great job on the top, I like all the changes you made. Nice save.
10/29/11 11:56 PM
pdiddly said...
I love the fabric on your top - doesn't look as bad as you think - the alterations seem to work fine.
10/30/11 4:53 AM
Elke said...
Pretty top and I really like the changes you made! It looks fabulous on you.
10/30/11 7:53 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your top looks great and I appreciate the review!
10/30/11 8:39 AM
becca a said...
Thank you for showing how to make this top flattering after trying the pattern without altering the wide hipline. It is lovely now!
10/30/11 10:37 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
I am with you on wanting to sew a sweater! Yours is way more flattering than the original, but thanks for pointing out this pattern because the cowl is really pretty and looks like it was worth altering all things big and boxy.
10/30/11 10:37 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Cute and love the fabric! I like the remade version on you, perfect fit and flattering. I laugh when you say "pear" shape, you look anything other than like a pear ;-)
10/30/11 2:20 PM
mesewlot said...
I have to agree, you look anything other than a pear shape. :) However, after seeing the before and after, I love the alterations that you did. You have a great eye for what flatters your figure and you did an excellent job, your fabric choice/color is awesome! I may have to try your version because I'm looking for sweater varieties right now and that will work for me!
10/30/11 9:48 PM
Erin D said...
I love sweater knits, too. Your top looks great and your changes made all the difference.
10/30/11 11:50 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the review...this one is in my stash and I am a pear so maybe I need to rethink! Your final top looks great!
11/1/11 4:33 AM
whistlin dixie said...
Love the fabric you chose for this. The changes you made look great on your body, although I also like the original look. Nice top!
11/8/11 10:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-107 Boucle Jacket
photo
Review by Jstarr4250 on 1/20/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5103 Blouses
photo
Review by Cheryl Ree... on 12/5/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us