Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6256 (Retro Jacket & Skirt (1947)) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 259 times 1 more reviews
Reviewed by:Emily I.
photo
About Emily I.
Member since: 12/18/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/11 5:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Easter said...
Emily, your suit looks lovely! I can't get the photo to enlarge, but it looks very nice in the thumbnail. I often need to enlarge the upper arm area. There's at least one way to do it after the garment is all made up if you decide you want to: add a gusset. I'm just looking on the Threads website for tutorials... the two I've found describe the process, but the illustrations aren't that great. Here's a general article on working with vintage patterns... scroll down a bit for the information on gussets: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4669/working-with-vintage-patterns -- This describes cutting into a kimono sleeve to add the gusset, but with a set-in sleeve you'd just need to open seams. Here's another one: http://www.taunton.com/threads/pdf/tootightgarment.pdf My son is a bagpiper who needs to be able to lift his arms easily, so I've put gussets into his kilt jackets. The way I've figured out the right shape and size is to open the top sections of the sleeve and jacket side seam. I put some muslin under the opening and have him move his arms the way he wants. I draw the opening shape on the muslin, smooth out the lines of the shape, add seam allowances, and then use it as a pattern. His gussets usually turn out to be sort of football shaped.
10/30/11 7:08 PM
Emily I. said...
Thanks Karen. Having recently read an older Threads article (already returned to the library) it occurred to me this afternoon about inserting gussets (if I can find any leftover fabric.) That would certainly be easier than remaking the whole thing. Thanks for the links & advice --- very cool that your son can play the bagpipes.
10/30/11 11:21 PM
Karen Easter said...
Gussets don't take a lot of fabric, and you can piece them if you have to -- no one's going to see that anyway! There may also be ways to harvest fabric from the finished garment, too. You may have some extra fabric in the seam allowances that you can let out a little. How deep are your hems? I've been known to steal fabric from the reverse side of the hem (where it won't show) if I don't think I'll want to let them out someday. Replace the harvested hem fabric with something else like lining fabric or silk organza. I did so much harvesting/piecing/replacing of fabric when I was making my son's formal Prince Charlie jacket to wear with his kilt. I didn't have quite enough fabric to begin with, and then I accidentally slashed one of the front pieces with my scissors! A patch wouldn't have worked, so I made a new design line on both front pieces. The jacket's kind of a Frankenstein creation, but no one else can tell.
10/31/11 0:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7916 Jacket
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 6/29/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us