SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5052 (Shirt in Two Lengths)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest
Viewed 488 times 
Reviewed by:myeclecticmess
photo

 
 
About myeclecticmessstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/29/08
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/11 8:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bconky said...
Speed it up! Just love this costume. Too cute
11/4/11 1:52 PM
waltzqueen said...
Wonderful!!! What a great idea and your costumes look great!
11/3/11 6:07 PM
fourkid said...
Love This!!! For all the reasons already mentioned - so glad you entered this contest - I think you gave us all a cheering up!
11/2/11 7:41 PM
JillyBe said...
Cutest couple ever! I got who it was at first glance..what a great job!
11/2/11 1:58 PM
JenniferMM said...
Too cute! Who doesn't love that episode!? Great job :)
11/2/11 1:31 PM
Roary said...
This made my morning!
11/2/11 10:37 AM
Roary said...

11/2/11 10:37 AM
Margaret said...
These turned out great!
11/1/11 11:18 AM
Heatherrique said...
Just getting a chuckle thinking of one of the most memorable moments on TV, Lucy, Ethel, and those chocolates! Very clever and fun re-creation of the original!
11/1/11 11:04 AM
Woolygal said...
These are fabulous. Of course you won.
11/1/11 7:29 AM
PegL said...
Great representation of my favorite Lucy show! Nicely done!
11/1/11 7:04 AM
Terri A said...
Hilarious! Oh my goodness - that's great:-)
11/1/11 3:06 AM
Raye Ann said...
AWESOME! The photo is worth a thousand laughs!
11/1/11 0:31 AM
MichelleE said...
What a terrific costume, my favorite episode of all time!!!
10/31/11 10:03 PM
aliann1 said...
Oh my gosh. Lucy and Ethel in the chocolate factory. I love it! :)
10/31/11 9:50 PM
calypso said...
Great idea! You guys look fab!
10/31/11 6:59 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Absolutely perfect! My favorite episode of I Love Lucy! Great job and hope you win!
10/31/11 4:20 PM
Aroura said...
This is soo cute!! Totally iconic, and your pic is perfect, both of you have perfect expressions!! Great costumes!! A very deserved win for couples costumes.
10/31/11 2:14 PM
Aixoise said...
Brilliant! You could be the president of the Lucy Reenactment Society. Even your facial expressions are Lucy's and Ethel's. Oh, and the shirts are great. Have fun!
10/31/11 2:12 PM
sewme47 said...
This is one of the cleverest costumes I've seen in a long time! And it's from my favorite episode of I Love Lucy!!!!! Great job.
10/31/11 1:43 PM
SewWil said...
LOVE your costume! Great idea and well executed.
10/31/11 1:02 PM
homejewel said...
What a great idea! I love the whole thing. Congrats on your win! Who doesn't smile when thinking of that crazy funny I Love Lucy scene!
10/31/11 12:48 PM
myeclecticmess said...
Thank you everyone. I did enter it in the contest. As for the chef's hats, I didn't use a pattern. I did look up some tutorials online but ended up pretty much making it up on my own. The bands are interfaced and the tops are just large circles gathered onto the bands. I cut a small slit into the circle and finished the edges. The band overlaps in the back and is closed with velcro. This made them easier to fit and allowed us to tuck our hair up inside them.
10/31/11 12:45 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
Izzie said...
Love it!
10/31/11 12:28 PM
Norsecross said...
Wow, from the pattern envelope to your adorable 1950's' manufacturing' uniforms...too cute! Your chef hats look great too, did you have a pattern or just 'wing-it'? Enter the contest! I think you have 4 points worth of sewing!
10/31/11 11:54 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it!!! How perfect...
10/31/11 11:31 AM
marec said...
oh! This is just too wonderful. Bravo!
10/31/11 11:24 AM
Stargirl7 said...
Best costume I've seen this year!!! Love it! You ladies look perfect!!!
10/31/11 11:02 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for making my day. These turned out really cute.
10/31/11 10:55 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
How great is that!!!
10/31/11 10:38 AM
pterion said...
What a great idea! I don't know how many times I've watched this Lucy episode and it has me laughing out loud every time.
10/31/11 10:36 AM
Sue W said...
AWESOME!!!! I agree with katlew...enter it in contest!
10/31/11 10:24 AM
LakesideLady said...
That is oh-so clever. Too Funny ... You made me smile !
10/31/11 9:47 AM
JTink said...
Ok now this is just too darn cute :-)
10/31/11 9:17 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Love it!
10/31/11 9:15 AM
bell N said...
How creative!
10/31/11 9:07 AM
katlew03 said...
Cute costume idea. These should be entered in the Pink Contest that ends tonight at midnight.
10/31/11 8:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

More Info