Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1257 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest    printable version
Viewed 943 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/11 9:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmg said...
Wow..looks fabulous. I am glad the really stretchy fabric worked for those narrow sleeves.
10/31/11 10:05 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like this dress and it looks great on you!
10/31/11 10:06 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful..and a great fit. Those ARE narrow sleeves, but I really like the shoulder. You did a great job!
10/31/11 10:21 PM
velosewer said...
You've done a lovely job on this dress. Pleats do take work but they are a great detail to work through.
11/1/11 0:47 AM
lamstu said...
Great dress and useful review too!
11/1/11 0:47 AM
Terri A said...
Very fabulous! Makes me want to try this pattern!
11/1/11 2:46 AM
jenleeC said...
Great looking dress. Nice to see this pattern working as it has had some mixed reviews. Yours looks lovely!
11/1/11 4:51 AM
mesewlot said...
Thanks so much for your review, I was on the limb about making this pattern after reading other reviews. I bought the fabric and the pattern ready to go, but I paused. I decided to take a chance and cut the fabric out and make my markings. So, I'm encouraged...I am gonna start sewing tonight. Thanks! BTW, your dress is beautiful, color and all! You did a wonderful job!
11/1/11 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous looking dress on you!
11/1/11 10:59 AM
SewWil said...
Love your dress! Great job.
11/1/11 11:07 AM
Margaret said...
I wonder if their sample had a different amount of lengthwise stretch in the knit. That could be why you didn't have to make the same amount of length alteration as usual. Anyway, this dress looks wonderful on you and definitely worth making again!
11/1/11 11:58 AM
Leora said...
Definitely a success! Can't wait to see the next one you make.
11/1/11 1:01 PM
kittykate said...
Great review. Good point about the narrow sleeves which I have run into before with Vogue.
11/1/11 2:49 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Nothing is muslin-ish about your dress! It looks beautiful on you.
11/1/11 3:27 PM
ArtAttack said...
Congrats on making this pattern work for you and work fabulously! It's beautiful. I made 2 wadders with it before using the pattern tissue as filler for FBA's! Your's is lovely...
11/1/11 4:53 PM
Jane S said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you. I too was wondering about this dress but I thik your lightweight fabric choice really works perfectly with this pattern. Love the neckline wrap as well. OK, this is on my holiday list.
11/1/11 7:39 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job on the dress. This one is on my list too.
11/8/11 3:52 PM
renelope said...
This looks great! I tried the dress with the wrong fabric and had to toss. It turns out really nice with the right fabric. Thanks for the review.
11/9/11 12:40 PM
Sassy T said...
One of the patterns in my wish list. You look fabulous in it.
12/4/11 9:20 AM
gabc said...
Fantastic - looks so good on you!
12/7/11 5:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8776 Misses Cape
photo
Review by valkyrie01 on 11/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7834 Blouse
photo
Review by yoshimi on 4/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us