Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23281: Wool trousers - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 274 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/11 5:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JTink said...
These look wonderful. I can't quite picture what you meant by adding a mid hip wedge to the back crotch curve. Can you go in to a bit of detail? I'm a visual person and really struggle sometimes ;-)
11/1/11 6:29 PM
clothingengineer said...
Hi JTink, below is a link to a photo of my back pattern piece. The area where you see all the yellow drafting tape is where I put the wedge. I left the top and bottom part of the crotch curve alone, which is where a lot of books say to add extra length. https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/AjgHQmdr97yuKLlJaJ15JXYdrcV4ASRU1WknBYx_9eM?feat=directlink
11/1/11 6:59 PM
LauraTS said...
These look great on you. Thanks for the info on adding to the back crotch depth in the middle - makes a lot of sense, I'll have to try it!
11/2/11 2:15 AM
Annette1 said...
A GREAT-fitting pair of pants, and it's so nice to see a review for a Neue Mode pattern. :o)
11/2/11 2:42 AM
becca a said...
These pants fit you beautifully.
11/2/11 7:12 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your pants look very nice. I haven't made trousers in a while and your review is very helpful. Thanks!
11/2/11 7:38 AM
Karine said...
Your pants are wonderful - great fit! Pants are always such a challenge - appreciate the explanation on the mid hip wedge to the back crotch curve.
11/2/11 8:53 AM
JTink said...
Thank you so much for posting the link. Does this do the same thing as adding to the top of the center back?
11/2/11 9:26 AM
clothingengineer said...
@JTink - Sort of. Both ways add length to the back crotch curve, but my way adds where I need it (center) instead of where I don't (at the top). FFRP notes a similar situation where a person has both a high round back and swayback. They need more length at the upper part of the blouse and less at the lower part, but the back length of the shirt remains the same in actual inches. All the times when I added to the bottom of the crotch curve I found I still needed more length, but the bottom/upper thigh was very baggy. I finally figured out that it is because my bottom is most rounded in the middle of my hip, not at the bottom. Since my CB seam ended up more angled (ie on the bias) I also had to take it in a little bit to make sure it stretched nicely instead of being loose and rippled.
11/2/11 11:18 AM
GodsgirlT said...
I think you've got a really good fit here. They look great!
11/2/11 11:25 AM
jenleeC said...
Great pair of well fitted pants....I am on a bit of a pants binge at the moment and testing several patterns to find my TNT! Thanks for the review.
11/5/11 0:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2918 Mens T-Shirts
photo
Review by Elsie14 on 7/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2008-2 Denim skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/7/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us