SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4510 (2 Tone Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 388 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/11 7:01 PM
Last Updated:11/2/11 4:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Appreciate your honest forthright review. Sorry it didn't work out as you planned.
11/1/11 7:09 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry you don't like the bias cut of the dress, I love the asymetrical hem you made, and the contrasting fabrics make the dress look runway stylish, I think it's a great look on you!
11/1/11 8:14 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks for the review. I think you made your version much more interesting and stylish than the drawings on the envelope would suggest. I wouldn't have guessed it was all bias either.
11/2/11 4:39 AM
marec said...
Thanks for the review-this is an interesting pattern, and your dress is very runway. I like it, especially with a belt.
11/2/11 11:08 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice!
11/2/11 11:22 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
VERY NICE!
11/2/11 11:23 AM
Kayseri said...
What a terrific combination of patterns and textures. Thanks for the frank review.
11/2/11 3:40 PM
fourkid said...
I don't know why, but this dress interested me, so I spent extra time looking over all the reviews. I think yours is very interesting and works really well on you. I don't see it as medieval as much as Viking! But again, it looks beautiful on you. I love your changes. I agree, the bodice looks great on grain rather than bias. Your boots are great and add a lot to this look. I think you should give it a chance this winter - and I am guessing others will like it as well. (btw - I can't find the pattern at the site - I think McCall's pullled it?)
11/2/11 6:38 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Yes, it's OOP, it's quite old, I've had it in my stash for a few years at least
11/2/11 6:41 PM
lakaribane said...
I love the colorblock, too bad you don't like it, visually it's really cool! Love your shoes (in both reviews, in fact)
11/2/11 8:46 PM
prttynpnk said...
I'm sorry its not your favorite, its very pretty on....
11/2/11 9:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your rendition of the dress is interesting and eye-catching. I examined it closely and decided you did something here that really works. The fabric combination works wonderfully together and it is very flattering on you. I like it!
11/3/11 0:37 AM
mesewlot said...
I really like your skirt, it's very stylish and creative!
11/4/11 2:15 AM
arianamaniacs said...
@fourkid: I added a link to the pattern pic. You're right though, the dress is totally Viking!
12/6/11 2:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-37

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2599

photo
by: BeulahBirt...

Review