Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4510 (2 Tone Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 387 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/11 7:01 PM
Last Updated:11/2/11 4:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Appreciate your honest forthright review. Sorry it didn't work out as you planned.
11/1/11 7:09 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry you don't like the bias cut of the dress, I love the asymetrical hem you made, and the contrasting fabrics make the dress look runway stylish, I think it's a great look on you!
11/1/11 8:14 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks for the review. I think you made your version much more interesting and stylish than the drawings on the envelope would suggest. I wouldn't have guessed it was all bias either.
11/2/11 4:39 AM
marec said...
Thanks for the review-this is an interesting pattern, and your dress is very runway. I like it, especially with a belt.
11/2/11 11:08 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice!
11/2/11 11:22 AM
GodsgirlT said...
VERY NICE!
11/2/11 11:23 AM
Kayseri said...
What a terrific combination of patterns and textures. Thanks for the frank review.
11/2/11 3:40 PM
fourkid said...
I don't know why, but this dress interested me, so I spent extra time looking over all the reviews. I think yours is very interesting and works really well on you. I don't see it as medieval as much as Viking! But again, it looks beautiful on you. I love your changes. I agree, the bodice looks great on grain rather than bias. Your boots are great and add a lot to this look. I think you should give it a chance this winter - and I am guessing others will like it as well. (btw - I can't find the pattern at the site - I think McCall's pullled it?)
11/2/11 6:38 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Yes, it's OOP, it's quite old, I've had it in my stash for a few years at least
11/2/11 6:41 PM
lakaribane said...
I love the colorblock, too bad you don't like it, visually it's really cool! Love your shoes (in both reviews, in fact)
11/2/11 8:46 PM
prttynpnk said...
I'm sorry its not your favorite, its very pretty on....
11/2/11 9:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your rendition of the dress is interesting and eye-catching. I examined it closely and decided you did something here that really works. The fabric combination works wonderfully together and it is very flattering on you. I like it!
11/3/11 0:37 AM
mesewlot said...
I really like your skirt, it's very stylish and creative!
11/4/11 2:15 AM
arianamaniacs said...
@fourkid: I added a link to the pattern pic. You're right though, the dress is totally Viking!
12/6/11 2:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6872
photo
Review by Thera on 1/27/12
Read Review

New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used PinkShirt Pink Shirt
photo
Review by Lesaliciou... on 7/10/08
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us