SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 2233 times 
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo

 
 
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/04 11:57 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MFrontella said...
You've made my mind up to finally order this pattern!
10/13/04 1:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice job. Might have to get this pattern.
10/7/04 5:15 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for the inspiration! I really love your pretty fabric.
10/6/04 7:20 PM
D1Diva said...
Thanks Izzie, now I understand what you meant about stretching while serging the seam. The zipper obviously won't work unless I add a center back seam. I guess I'll just have to wait until my pattern gets here (tomorrow!) and then I can go from there. Thanks again!
10/6/04 0:29 AM
Peggy L said...
Slenderizing? I may just need this pattern! You did a beautiful job. I've always liked dresses but haven't made any for a while. I'll have to put this on my evergrowing list.
10/5/04 4:55 PM
AnneM said...
Nice dress, good review. I always like the look of this dress - so simple but elegant. Maybe I should even get the pattern!
10/5/04 3:40 PM
Izzie said...
D1Diva, I thought about adding a zipper, but the problem with that is that there is'nt a seam that travels from the bodice through the skirt. You would have to create a seam in the back of the bodice. The hang up is at the waistline, so a short zip at the back waistline would probably solve the problem. Lazy as I am, I'll probably just keep pulling the dress over my head!
10/5/04 3:38 PM
Izzie said...
Thankyou all for your kind comments. Sorry for being unclear about serging the bias seam, I was trying not to repeat what other reviewers have already said. If you serge the skirt seam, you need to really stretch it to achieve the V shape, otherwise it draws up and the V is not as pronounced. I considered sewing this seam with a narrow zig zag, but this fabric really needed to be serged to prevent raveling. If you use the narrow zig zag, don't stretch the seam as you sew, the ease from the zig zag stitch should allow the seam to hang correctly.
10/5/04 10:58 AM
Elona said...
What a lovely version, Izzie!
10/5/04 10:54 AM
D1Diva said...
I'm getting ready to make this dress to wear at Thanksgiving. So glad to see the long sleeved version. Your comment about serging/stretching the bias seams of the skirt is a little unclear to me too. Also, since my fabric is a woven, would a short zipper work in the back to help with the on/off situation? Your dress turned out beautiful...can't wait to see the knit version!
10/5/04 9:31 AM
KarmenG said...
That is a really pretty dress! It looks so comfy. I once made this dress but it came out so big and I haven't gone back to try it again. I think I will after seeing your dress. Thanks for posting it.
10/5/04 9:29 AM
Patti B said...
So nice to have a look at the longsleeved version -- I have several of the cap sleeve and looks as if I should make this one too. I find that the neckline on the cap sleeve version is a bit too low (I wear them for work) and often end up removing a wedge at the neckline.
10/5/04 9:13 AM
PhyllisC said...
Wonderful! This is a pattern that I've been considering for a while, and your version is really inspiring.
10/5/04 8:09 AM
Lisette said...
Very pretty
10/5/04 8:01 AM
artndl said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress! Your fabric selection is terrific!
10/5/04 6:59 AM
MickeyFan said...
Very pretty. I keep looking at this pattern thinking I should give it a try because everyone raves about it. Just so I am clear, are you saying you should stretch the bias skirt seams or no? p.s. I also enjoyed clicking through some of your other project pictures in your Yahoo photo album. Very nice work.
10/5/04 6:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 15769-1000

photo
by: BeckyW

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8856

photo
by: chenille

Review