Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2230 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/04 11:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MickeyFan said...
Very pretty. I keep looking at this pattern thinking I should give it a try because everyone raves about it. Just so I am clear, are you saying you should stretch the bias skirt seams or no? p.s. I also enjoyed clicking through some of your other project pictures in your Yahoo photo album. Very nice work.
10/5/04 6:52 AM
artndl said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress! Your fabric selection is terrific!
10/5/04 6:59 AM
Lisette said...
Very pretty
10/5/04 8:01 AM
PhyllisC said...
Wonderful! This is a pattern that I've been considering for a while, and your version is really inspiring.
10/5/04 8:09 AM
Patti B said...
So nice to have a look at the longsleeved version -- I have several of the cap sleeve and looks as if I should make this one too. I find that the neckline on the cap sleeve version is a bit too low (I wear them for work) and often end up removing a wedge at the neckline.
10/5/04 9:13 AM
KarmenG said...
That is a really pretty dress! It looks so comfy. I once made this dress but it came out so big and I haven't gone back to try it again. I think I will after seeing your dress. Thanks for posting it.
10/5/04 9:29 AM
D1Diva said...
I'm getting ready to make this dress to wear at Thanksgiving. So glad to see the long sleeved version. Your comment about serging/stretching the bias seams of the skirt is a little unclear to me too. Also, since my fabric is a woven, would a short zipper work in the back to help with the on/off situation? Your dress turned out beautiful...can't wait to see the knit version!
10/5/04 9:31 AM
Elona said...
What a lovely version, Izzie!
10/5/04 10:54 AM
Izzie said...
Thankyou all for your kind comments. Sorry for being unclear about serging the bias seam, I was trying not to repeat what other reviewers have already said. If you serge the skirt seam, you need to really stretch it to achieve the V shape, otherwise it draws up and the V is not as pronounced. I considered sewing this seam with a narrow zig zag, but this fabric really needed to be serged to prevent raveling. If you use the narrow zig zag, don't stretch the seam as you sew, the ease from the zig zag stitch should allow the seam to hang correctly.
10/5/04 10:58 AM
Izzie said...
D1Diva, I thought about adding a zipper, but the problem with that is that there is'nt a seam that travels from the bodice through the skirt. You would have to create a seam in the back of the bodice. The hang up is at the waistline, so a short zip at the back waistline would probably solve the problem. Lazy as I am, I'll probably just keep pulling the dress over my head!
10/5/04 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
Nice dress, good review. I always like the look of this dress - so simple but elegant. Maybe I should even get the pattern!
10/5/04 3:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Slenderizing? I may just need this pattern! You did a beautiful job. I've always liked dresses but haven't made any for a while. I'll have to put this on my evergrowing list.
10/5/04 4:55 PM
D1Diva said...
Thanks Izzie, now I understand what you meant about stretching while serging the seam. The zipper obviously won't work unless I add a center back seam. I guess I'll just have to wait until my pattern gets here (tomorrow!) and then I can go from there. Thanks again!
10/6/04 0:29 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for the inspiration! I really love your pretty fabric.
10/6/04 7:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice job. Might have to get this pattern.
10/7/04 5:15 AM
MFrontella said...
You've made my mind up to finally order this pattern!
10/13/04 1:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us