Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3493 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 353 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/11 3:57 PM
Last Updated:11/2/11 5:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kayseri said...
Wow - what a terrific dress, I want one just like it :) I stunned that you got such a complex/intersting result from such a simple pattern.
11/2/11 4:12 PM
karen n said...
Whoa! Cool dress! Wish there were a pattern for it the way you modified!
11/2/11 4:40 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Karen, have a look at the link I added. I followed the lines of the pattern and just added the triangles to make the wings. No pattern needed :)
11/2/11 5:10 PM
fourkid said...
This is amazing. I loved the bias hem band - it is great that it was cut too short - I think the bias bindings make for a fantastic detail.
11/2/11 6:21 PM
Batik said...
Wow! Stunning on you. What a difference a good fit on top can make for an unusual shaped bottom. Great work.
11/2/11 7:23 PM
prttynpnk said...
So detailed and special, I love it!
11/2/11 9:58 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, that totally changes the look of that pattern! I really like the bias bindings, and the elastic gathering looks just right with the slight crinkliness of the fabric.
11/3/11 10:41 AM
waltzqueen said...
You really used THAT pattern for THIS dress? Wild! Love it. I need to be more creative!
11/3/11 3:58 PM
pdiddly said...
what a lot of work - great result
11/3/11 4:40 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Looks great, flattering , like the wings and use of pinstripes
11/4/11 9:11 AM
pterion said...
Love the creative interpretations you bring to your sewing. Great work!
11/4/11 10:35 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Too cute!
11/4/11 12:10 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Neat dress! Love the wings, and I like your creativity!
1/3/12 8:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2009-6
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/8/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Threads Magazine Quick Stuff To Sew Vol IV
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 2/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7525 Pattern
Burda 7525 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us