Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2684 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1878 times 1 more reviews
Reviewed by:New2Oki
photo
About New2Oki
GU USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/04 2:32 AM
Last Updated:12/24/04 1:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I'm sorry the first try didn't work out for you! But it's great you're going to try again~just a thought, the lumps and bumps around the v-neck could be caused by not clipping the seam all the way to (not through! :o) ) the stitching at the point of the V. I'm not sure if that's what the problem was, but thought I'd mention it just in case. If you decide to use a stretch linen, you might want to stabilize the neckline by applying fusible interfacing to the stitching line to prevent stretching the seamand causing waving. Good luck w/ the second version!
10/5/04 8:14 AM
D1Diva said...
Is the neckline faced or bound? I can't tell by the pattern picture, although it looks faced. I'm wondering if you also adjusted the facing since by raising the shoulders, you shortened the neckline as well. If the facing didn't fit the new neckline, you would definitely get lumps and wrinkles. Hope your next try is more to your liking...this is a really cute dress!
10/5/04 9:50 AM
New2Oki said...
Hilary, I'll have to check to make sure I clipped the 'v', but I'm almost sure I did. Thanks for the pointers on fusible interfacint. D1Diva, you had a great point about adjusting the facing; I didn't do that! Oops!
10/8/04 5:21 PM
Rebecca D said...
I would love to see the new picture, but the link doesn't appear to be working. I have this pattern (which appears to OOP on the KwikSew site) and would love to see your new improved version.
10/30/04 7:58 AM
valerie sews said...
as happens to me all the time with KS patterns, I never would have looked twice at this until I saw it in reviewed. I think it'll suit me so I went out and bought it. Thanks for the review.
11/28/04 4:09 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I have found that re-drawing the neckline often helps me. Especially with a pattern like this where the only pieces to change are the pattern front and the corresponding facing piece. I'll bet that would fix your shoulder slippage problem. Sounds like the rest of the pattern was a real go. You did a great job of making it!
12/24/04 3:54 PM
New2Oki said...
Nancy, thanks for your suggestion! I will redraw the top so it fits more snugly, so hopefully can give this great pattern a better rating.
12/25/04 3:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5211
photo
Review by pt6356 on 3/31/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/14/10
Read Review

Burda 6916 Pattern
Burda 6916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6503 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6503 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us