SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8411 (Pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1671 times 
Reviewed by:llamaduck
photo

 
 
About llamaduckstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/29/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/04 10:29 PM
Last Updated:10/5/04 10:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AshaEmmy said...
I agree with Fuzzygalore, I too, use twill tape for the pocket edges - this has removed all gaposis! I was given this patterns by a friend, who picked it up at an OP shop - will definitely make it.
7/23/06 5:27 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Completely agree that the pocket gaping is likely due to stretching of the fabric. I always incorporate a length of twill tape into the seam of the front side of the pocket, and have never have this problem again. It's kind of a mess to do :-), but so worth it..
2/7/06 11:22 AM
llamaduck said...
hey all, thanks for the great comments! I decided on a button for the closure, partly from the comment that they sit flatter. Plus I love buttons. I'm a bit short-waisted. The waist fell right below my bellybutton, but I should have shortened the crotch. I'm not sure if that's a function of the pattern design or my body shape. The hips fit closely, but are not at all snug.
10/7/04 5:49 PM
meli88a said...
i like these -- so elegant! about where does the waist sit, and how fitted are they in the hips and crotch?
10/6/04 9:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great pants, llamaduck! Such pretty fabric too.
10/6/04 7:30 PM
AprilDawn said...
Very cute pants. Now I have another pattern to add to my sewing list.
10/6/04 3:00 PM
SandraB said...
Nice job on your first pair of pants. I'm very impressed. I agree with Kathleen, a button closure lies flatter than a hook closure. If you decide on a hook, it would probably work better if you used two hooks, since your waistband is wide.
10/6/04 9:17 AM
Deepika said...
The pants look perfect. Love the fabric too.
10/6/04 6:54 AM
Mini said...
Congratulations on a successful first pants project. Burda was a wise choice, as you didn't have to bother with major fitting problems. I would also go with a hook closure-it's easier and neater. If you like the look of a button, you can just sew one on as a decorative touch without an actual buttonhole.
10/6/04 6:21 AM
KathleenS said...
Great first try at pants llamaduck! Thanks for the tip about the width of the legs - it doesn't really show in the pattern photo does it. I would probably go for a button because they tend to lie flatter for me. However, at this stage it would probably be easier to add the hook, and a bit more adjustable.
10/6/04 3:01 AM
Elona said...
Nice-looking pants, llamaduck. You did the right thing in narrowing the legs, I think. About the gaping pockets: The gaping edge is bias, and prone to stretching. To prevent that, you can use the same technique used on the roll lines of blazers or the diagonal edge of a wrap top. Cut some stay tape the length of the pocket edge, including seam allowances, and then apply it either by fusing or stitching. If your fabric is really loosely-woven, you can pull the tape just a wee bit shorter than the actual edge, but be sure to leave enough room for your hand to slip into the pocket!
10/6/04 2:14 AM
llamaduck said...
oh, I haven't decided on a closure yet - button or hidden hook. and thoughts appreciated.
10/5/04 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Simplicity 2460

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

More Info