Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8411 (Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1671 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:llamaduck
photo
About llamaduckstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/29/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/04 10:29 PM
Last Updated:10/5/04 10:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
llamaduck said...
oh, I haven't decided on a closure yet - button or hidden hook. and thoughts appreciated.
10/5/04 10:31 PM
Elona said...
Nice-looking pants, llamaduck. You did the right thing in narrowing the legs, I think. About the gaping pockets: The gaping edge is bias, and prone to stretching. To prevent that, you can use the same technique used on the roll lines of blazers or the diagonal edge of a wrap top. Cut some stay tape the length of the pocket edge, including seam allowances, and then apply it either by fusing or stitching. If your fabric is really loosely-woven, you can pull the tape just a wee bit shorter than the actual edge, but be sure to leave enough room for your hand to slip into the pocket!
10/6/04 2:14 AM
KathleenS said...
Great first try at pants llamaduck! Thanks for the tip about the width of the legs - it doesn't really show in the pattern photo does it. I would probably go for a button because they tend to lie flatter for me. However, at this stage it would probably be easier to add the hook, and a bit more adjustable.
10/6/04 3:01 AM
Mini said...
Congratulations on a successful first pants project. Burda was a wise choice, as you didn't have to bother with major fitting problems. I would also go with a hook closure-it's easier and neater. If you like the look of a button, you can just sew one on as a decorative touch without an actual buttonhole.
10/6/04 6:21 AM
Deepika said...
The pants look perfect. Love the fabric too.
10/6/04 6:54 AM
SandraB said...
Nice job on your first pair of pants. I'm very impressed. I agree with Kathleen, a button closure lies flatter than a hook closure. If you decide on a hook, it would probably work better if you used two hooks, since your waistband is wide.
10/6/04 9:17 AM
AprilDawn said...
Very cute pants. Now I have another pattern to add to my sewing list.
10/6/04 3:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great pants, llamaduck! Such pretty fabric too.
10/6/04 7:30 PM
meli88a said...
i like these -- so elegant! about where does the waist sit, and how fitted are they in the hips and crotch?
10/6/04 9:55 PM
llamaduck said...
hey all, thanks for the great comments! I decided on a button for the closure, partly from the comment that they sit flatter. Plus I love buttons. I'm a bit short-waisted. The waist fell right below my bellybutton, but I should have shortened the crotch. I'm not sure if that's a function of the pattern design or my body shape. The hips fit closely, but are not at all snug.
10/7/04 5:49 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Completely agree that the pocket gaping is likely due to stretching of the fabric. I always incorporate a length of twill tape into the seam of the front side of the pocket, and have never have this problem again. It's kind of a mess to do :-), but so worth it..
2/7/06 11:22 AM
AshaEmmy said...
I agree with Fuzzygalore, I too, use twill tape for the pocket edges - this has removed all gaposis! I was given this patterns by a friend, who picked it up at an OP shop - will definitely make it.
7/23/06 5:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-124
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 7/24/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2373
photo
Review by atymonw on 2/21/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6873 Pattern
New Look 6873 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1095 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 1095 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us