SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5685 (Misses' Jacket and Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 852 times 
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/11 3:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is just lovely! Thanks for the heads up on the instructions and sequencing of steps.
11/5/11 4:51 PM
marec said...
double post
11/5/11 4:51 PM
CAgirl said...
I always admire a well constructed jacket and yours is perfect.
11/5/11 7:41 PM
tsedai said...
I got some fabric that I really wanted to use with the pattern - thanks for the info on the instructions. Those sound crazy! Your method is what I usually do with coats, so glad to know it will work and I should write up my own instructions before I start on this coat. And I agree - this pattern is appealing in all the lengths - it will be hard to choose which one to make! You should be super pleased with your finished coat, it looks great!
11/5/11 11:31 PM
pdiddly said...
fantastic looking jacket
11/6/11 11:53 AM
MNBarb said...
This jacket looks great on you! I love your fabric choice. So glad you wrote this review since I thought the wide collar might be overwhelming on a smaller person but it's PERFECT!
11/8/11 1:43 PM
aleah42 said...
I have this in my queue as my first real coat... thanks so much for the advice about the instructions! I will definetely do it your way.
11/8/11 6:56 PM
Leora said...
Thank you so much for the detailed review and heads up on the instructions. Lovely jacket!
11/8/11 7:53 PM
thimbledore said...
Your coat looks SUPER super cute! Thanks so much for your thorough review! I'm currently slogging through a muslin of this and was really hoping someone with more experience would test it out before I get to the stage of *gulp* cutting my gorgeous, beloved, expensive fabric for the final version.
11/11/11 11:28 AM
jewelsew said...
Thank you - I'm just starting this pattern and wondered about those crazy instructions. Nice look for you!
11/11/11 1:46 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Wonderful fall jacket! Thanks for this thorough and helpful review. I'm planning to make this pattern soon.
11/16/11 8:08 PM
hme75 said...
I was thinking of picking this pattern up at Joann's current sale. Your version looks great, and so the pattern is being added to the list. Thanks!
11/17/11 11:05 PM
hme75 said...
I was thinking of picking this pattern up at Joann's current sale. Your version looks great, and so the pattern is being added to the list. Thanks!
11/17/11 11:05 PM
sewinglouisa said...
Great job. I have this in my to do pile, just got the fabric from fabric.com a beautiful beige wool mix with different colors and silver thread through it. Yum
11/24/11 9:26 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute! I just picked up this pattern for my daughter and am glad you reviewed it!
11/26/11 10:31 PM
Phillis2 said...
I'm in the midst of making this jacket/coat and am also making the mid-length. It was very helpful to read your sewing modifications so that when I get to the points you speak of I will compare your way against the instructions. I believe you've found a shortcut. I think you looik good in your short coat and the fabric you selection is attractive. I was especially glad to see this coat made in a print because the pattern envelope shows the 3 coats in solid colors. I'm making mine in a black on white print and hope it looks as wearable as yours. I agree with you that the shaw collar, although stylish, is a bit much. Good suggestion to try a different type of collor. Thanks.
12/27/11 11:52 AM
debberooni said...
I am making this now and wish I had read the reviews before I started. I made it in two pieces. :( I am also very confused on the bottom part. They only show you attaching one piece 12 to one piece 13 and I have more pieces. Very confusing instructions! I am just going to use common sense to get this put together. Piece 13 is also quite a bit longer than piece 12 and I can't figure out why.
3/4/12 10:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Jalie 2805

photo
by: IngridTher...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now