Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6433 (Misses' Dresses In 3 Lengths) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 686 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/11 10:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
This looks extremely elegant. The fabric is beautiful and the fit is so well developed - thanks for the views of your (well-practiced) pattern alterations - a very clear and helpful addition. The front neckline is very attractive, and I think your dress looks a lot more interesting than the pattern views. It looks like a dress that would be very useful. Thanks for your helpful review.
11/10/11 10:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
The white is so lovely on your beautiful dark skin. You got the fit perfect and I agree that your dress looks much more lovely than the cover model's dress. I think you need to make it again. Even though it shows cleavage, I think that the narrow neckline makes it appear more modest.
11/10/11 10:43 PM
marec said...
That is a great design, and your workmanship has turned out a beautiful dress! I love it in the winter white (is that the shade you used?) . The neckline is interesting and the pleating is a detail I love, love, love.
11/10/11 11:15 PM
delfinelise said...
This is so unique! I love the fabric choice, and the pleats on this pattern are so clever. Your dress looks very pretty. Thanks for the thorough review!
11/11/11 5:32 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very very nice! More and more, we have to be very careful when using the big 4 patterns, sizing truly needs improving with them!! Great job in fixing this problem and thanks for sharing!
11/11/11 6:32 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Wow - stunning results on this one.
11/11/11 7:46 AM
cleverkitty said...
WOW just Beautiful and good job on working the fitting out.
11/11/11 8:50 AM
Andreahg said...
I've been going back and forth on getting this pattern but your dress has pushed me over the fence. WOW! They should use your picture for the pattern cover! Your dress looks so much better on you than the model.
11/11/11 9:13 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! The fit and fabric are lovely. Your dress is so much nicer than the views on the pattern.
11/11/11 9:25 AM
Julia C said...
I love your dress. It does not look too low to me.
11/11/11 9:47 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone. Marec - The color is cream. This dress was made for our annual Unity Conference (September). I won't wear it again until summer.
11/11/11 11:05 AM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, modern, and glamourous!
11/11/11 11:46 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous dress. Thanks for the helpful info on alterations. Everything about it looks classy and elegant.
11/11/11 4:18 PM
prttynpnk said...
Thank you for this well thought out review, you have answered some questions I had about this and yours is lovely!
11/11/11 8:55 PM
pdiddly said...
absolutely stunning on you
11/12/11 10:42 AM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty and classy! I love it and it fits you beautifully!
11/12/11 10:29 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty and classy! I love it and it fits you beautifully!
11/12/11 10:29 PM
GodsgirlT said...
What a great white dress! Love it!
11/13/11 11:41 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone!
11/14/11 4:54 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely dress and love the pleating detail.
2/24/12 5:13 PM
Sew it seams said...
This dress is gorgeous on you. (You are gorgeous, as well.) The fabric choice is perfect for this dress. It looks very classy and elegant.
2/24/12 6:07 PM
bindu1 said...
The dress is lovely on you. Reminds me of tennis! Thanks for the tips on the neckline and sleeve - I had my fingers burned on a recent attempt on a jacket, so I will be taking more care before cutting out the pattern pieces. I think I see what you mean by the armscye hole being too low for the sleeve piece - so when you reach around it pulls the bodice's side front, right?
4/1/12 6:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Yes. The armscye must come up a bit for better mobility.
4/2/12 10:01 AM
salsera7 said...
You look stunning in this dress and you did a great job!
6/13/12 12:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Colette Patterns 1003 Parfait
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/14/14
Read Review

Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6964 Lingerie
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/26/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us