SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2556 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/04 4:32 PM
Last Updated:10/10/04 4:47 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
yes, I do agree, it's not flattering but is beautiful.
9/1/06 9:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I've been to Loes' shop in Carmel, and there wasn't a single jacket in it not made with very drapey fabric... I think moleskin is the problem if you feel matronly :-). All of her patterns are meant for drape, and just won't work without it.
1/31/06 1:01 PM
AnneM said...
I agree with what everyone else has said (where the lines start, wearing w/ pants). Just wanted to add that I love the look of that fabric. Thanks for the review & information.
10/17/04 7:37 PM
Peggy L said...
Ann - I have made the Retro and really like it but I used a drapier fabric. It seems most of her patterns use drapey fabrics. I wear mine with a knee-length pencil skirt and it doesn't look matronly (well, no one has been brave enough to tell me that, anyway!) I made a size medium so I am larger than you. Before you stash this pattern, you might try a drapey fabric and see if you like it better. I always enjoy reading your reviews and seeing your creations.
10/11/04 2:55 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very interesting review and discussion. It's rare that you don't look great in your expert creations, but must agree that this is an exception..
10/11/04 11:44 AM
Mariella said...
Good to hear, Ann. It would be a shame to have such a lovely fabric and such expert workmanship (workwomanship?) go to waste. I am always in awe of your beautiful sewing skills - they show in everything you make. I've also purchased more than a few patterns based on your results!
10/11/04 11:07 AM
Ann Smith said...
Mariella and D1Diva, yes it does look much better with pants in a solid color. I had tried it on that way but forgot to take a picture of it. When I wear this jacket it will be with the pants.
10/11/04 9:52 AM
Virginia said...
Dear Ann, the pattern makes the model look thinner with it opened because of the vertical lines. A single breasted suit can be worn opened and is more slimming on us. We also look thinner showing more leg, or a shorter skirt. I make my sleeves 3/4 instead of long for my blouses because its more slimming. You might enjoy reading "Its You" by Emily Chou she shows you what clothes to choose for your personality and career. Nice job on the suit and skirt!
10/11/04 9:48 AM
D1Diva said...
Oh, darn. I just bought this pattern and wanted to make it with moleskin. Now I am not so sure. Mariella is on the right track with her suggestion of something slim like pants underneath. I think it would help balance out the boxy shape of the jacket as well.
10/11/04 8:58 AM
Mariella said...
Ann, I can understand your disappointment. This is actually one of my favourite LH patterns - it looks really pretty and feminine on me (and I'm no tall, slim creature). Conversely, the Bolero Jacket, which is the favourite of so many here, makes me look like a stern prison matron from that old Aussie TV show, Women in Chains! And you can't get more "matronly" than that! I'm wondering if the jacket might look more pleasing to you with a pair of straight pants or a straight skirt, so there isn't so much "fabric". Sorry this one didn't turn out to your liking. I think that's the one down side of sewing - you can't really "try on" til you've put in all the work and effort.
10/11/04 7:49 AM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Ann, I agree with Minieme's explanation of the "boadening" effect. Thank you for testing out this pattern. I had admired it since seeing Londa's jacket on her site. Now I think I'll pass since I'm "broad" enough!
10/11/04 6:31 AM
Karen Bowers said...
it makes your shoulders look disproportionately broad. would drafting the top of the jacket to an extrasmall make a difference for you, anne? i know that with my full bust i can't wear anything double breasted, and even though i love the look of the retro jacket, i've been concerned that it had too much of that double breasted quality.
10/11/04 0:27 AM
Donna Isler said...
My 90-year old mother thinks all the LH jacket patterns are matronly and said she certainly wouldn't wear any of them! I dismissed her opinion until reading your review and you have used the very word she did - "matronly." I would never have thought it !
10/10/04 11:39 PM
KarmenG said...
Ann - I also have made this jacket. I am small busted and wider in the hips. I had the same reaction as you. I am not comfortable wearing the jacket closed as it's wider at the bottom and I feel it broadens me. But I like the jacket so much I wear it unbuttoned and then I feel good in it. I am planning to change the pattern to a single breasted version which will eliminate a bit of the extra fabric hanging in the front when I wear it open. Have you tried the Bistro jacket? That's single breasted. The outfit looks beautiful on you the drape of the collar is very flattering on you.
10/10/04 6:11 PM
Ann Smith said...
Minieme, I agree. The other jacket I made, the Lugano, has the seaming from the shoulder line down. Next time I will try seaming from the armscye.
10/10/04 5:04 PM
minieme said...
Nice fabric. The "broadening" appearance is due to the visual effects of where your princess sema starts IMHO, this pattern seems to start the princess seam from the neckline, then out on to the bust and down. I think a princess seam which starts from the outside in will be truly slimming.
10/10/04 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

More Info
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

More Info