Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Revisions: 107 (Peony) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 308 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 7:29 PM
Last Updated:11/15/11 8:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
steph82 said...
A very pretty and unique vest.
11/15/11 8:34 PM
AndreaSews said...
Just fabulous, Jilly. A work of art!
11/15/11 9:12 PM
bananaoil said...
Holy Cannoli__ That is gorgeous!
11/15/11 9:47 PM
Renren said...
I think this is what the term "fiber artist" means. It is like a lovely, lovely flower, a peony. Very nice, JillyBe.
11/15/11 10:40 PM
SewWil said...
Your vest is a work of art. Gorgeous!
11/15/11 10:49 PM
snaffles said...
Like Renren said, the term fiber artist really applies here. So much wearable art isn't really all that wearable in my opinion. I never really liked this pattern because of the curves (though I love the Ericsons), but I love your rendition with the fabrics you chose.
11/16/11 2:27 AM
Doobee64 said...
Oh WOW!!! You have certainly aced this one - both striking in your effort and the fun you had along the way.
11/16/11 2:56 AM
Aroura said...
Jilly, it turned out so beautiful! All of the love and effort you put into this really shows. I adore your embellishments, and the alterations you made make it extremely special. Gorgeous!
11/16/11 3:31 AM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous!
11/16/11 6:26 AM
jannw said...
I've been eyeing this pattern for ages..you did a fantastic job!! Your color selection and embellishments are, as always, suburb!
11/16/11 9:06 AM
marec said...
This is "your" vest now. It is so full of creativity, texture, color...just lovely and sure to be a major player in your wardrobe.
11/16/11 11:05 AM
marec said...
I had to come back to say: I just noticed that the colors of your vest mimic the colors in your avatar. Coincidence? I think not :-)
11/16/11 11:07 AM
DorothyK said...
Jilly, this is a masterpiece. The sizing, the fabric combination, the workmanship... all perfect. What an accomplishment. I'm in awe!
11/16/11 11:33 AM
JillyBe said...
Oh my gosh...everyone...thank you SO much for the lovely comments! Compliments like these make me blush and grin from ear to ear! Hmmmm Marec you're right about the colors....hmmmmmm - maybe more "me" than I thought lol!
11/16/11 1:14 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I love it, I love it! Nice job. Lot's of work and details. Kudos for you! You have such a sense of style!
11/16/11 3:37 PM
JTink said...
Oh My! I agree with the others that this is a work of art. It's just lovely.
11/16/11 6:21 PM
sfshaza said...
JillyBe, I do think you have a fiber artist lurking within. When it comes out to play, YOWZA. What an amazing result from your artistic vision!
11/17/11 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
This is absolutely gorgeous - I am so in love with it - I could steal it!! Really terrific work and choice of colurs/trim and embellishments
11/18/11 10:42 AM
JillyBe said...
Thanks again for the fantastic comments, everyone! Regarding the term "fiber artist" - I'm seriously flattered! I really don't think I'm even close, but I definitely appreciate the honoring of the fiber artist within....and this certainly gives me wonderful motivation to feed her :) :) :) Thank you everyone - the encouragement here really means a lot :)
11/18/11 1:44 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Just gorgeous, as I knew it would be. Excellent use of color, and I love all of the details you added. Superb!
11/18/11 10:32 PM
noodlesew said...
This is a fantastic work of art! I dreamt of a Koos van den Akker garment, but never knew of how to put the colours and textures together.
11/19/11 11:25 PM
Claverie said...
How did I miss this review! Beautiful!
3/12/12 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us