SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Revisions> 107 (Peony)

6 more reviews
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 7:29 PM
Last Updated:11/15/11 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
steph82 said...
A very pretty and unique vest.
11/15/11 8:34 PM
AndreaSews said...
Just fabulous, Jilly. A work of art!
11/15/11 9:12 PM
bananaoil said...
Holy Cannoli__ That is gorgeous!
11/15/11 9:47 PM
Renren said...
I think this is what the term "fiber artist" means. It is like a lovely, lovely flower, a peony. Very nice, JillyBe.
11/15/11 10:40 PM
SewWil said...
Your vest is a work of art. Gorgeous!
11/15/11 10:49 PM
snaffles said...
Like Renren said, the term fiber artist really applies here. So much wearable art isn't really all that wearable in my opinion. I never really liked this pattern because of the curves (though I love the Ericsons), but I love your rendition with the fabrics you chose.
11/16/11 2:27 AM
Doobee64 said...
Oh WOW!!! You have certainly aced this one - both striking in your effort and the fun you had along the way.
11/16/11 2:56 AM
Aroura said...
Jilly, it turned out so beautiful! All of the love and effort you put into this really shows. I adore your embellishments, and the alterations you made make it extremely special. Gorgeous!
11/16/11 3:31 AM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous!
11/16/11 6:26 AM
jannw said...
I've been eyeing this pattern for ages..you did a fantastic job!! Your color selection and embellishments are, as always, suburb!
11/16/11 9:06 AM
marec said...
This is "your" vest now. It is so full of creativity, texture, color...just lovely and sure to be a major player in your wardrobe.
11/16/11 11:05 AM
marec said...
I had to come back to say: I just noticed that the colors of your vest mimic the colors in your avatar. Coincidence? I think not :-)
11/16/11 11:07 AM
DorothyK said...
Jilly, this is a masterpiece. The sizing, the fabric combination, the workmanship... all perfect. What an accomplishment. I'm in awe!
11/16/11 11:33 AM
JillyBe said...
Oh my gosh...everyone...thank you SO much for the lovely comments! Compliments like these make me blush and grin from ear to ear! Hmmmm Marec you're right about the colors....hmmmmmm - maybe more "me" than I thought lol!
11/16/11 1:14 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I love it, I love it! Nice job. Lot's of work and details. Kudos for you! You have such a sense of style!
11/16/11 3:37 PM
JTink said...
Oh My! I agree with the others that this is a work of art. It's just lovely.
11/16/11 6:21 PM
sfshaza said...
JillyBe, I do think you have a fiber artist lurking within. When it comes out to play, YOWZA. What an amazing result from your artistic vision!
11/17/11 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
This is absolutely gorgeous - I am so in love with it - I could steal it!! Really terrific work and choice of colurs/trim and embellishments
11/18/11 10:42 AM
JillyBe said...
Thanks again for the fantastic comments, everyone! Regarding the term "fiber artist" - I'm seriously flattered! I really don't think I'm even close, but I definitely appreciate the honoring of the fiber artist within....and this certainly gives me wonderful motivation to feed her :) :) :) Thank you everyone - the encouragement here really means a lot :)
11/18/11 1:44 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Just gorgeous, as I knew it would be. Excellent use of color, and I love all of the details you added. Superb!
11/18/11 10:32 PM
noodlesew said...
This is a fantastic work of art! I dreamt of a Koos van den Akker garment, but never knew of how to put the colours and textures together.
11/19/11 11:25 PM
Claverie said...
How did I miss this review! Beautiful!
3/12/12 6:44 PM
Andys Mom said...
I own the pattern and just let it sit. You convinced me I need a challenge that brings out the technical sewing I love plus the artistic tallent that needs to be nurtured. I hear Revisions patterns require a lot of tweaking, but like you say at the end, it was worth it. Great post and I hope you do more of these type of patterns. There are getting to be a lot out there. NewLeafPatterns which is wholesale has tons of small independant pattern companies. You can look at the site but can not order unless you have a wholesale licence or tax number or whatever is wholesale! However it does give you a lot of companies one doesn't hear much from. Again a wonderful review, great vest and super design job. A big high five.
5/15/14 4:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

No Pattern Used Rosy Ladyshorts

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now