SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8776 (Misses Cape)

7 more reviews
Viewed 780 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 197
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 8:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaSews said...
Great looking, stylish cape!
11/15/11 9:10 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful cape!
11/15/11 10:18 PM
Renren said...
It is wonderful!
11/15/11 10:31 PM
marec said...
Excellent cape-it looks wonderfully warm and so stylish.
11/16/11 11:09 AM
twinkle72 said...
Love it! I am waiting for this pattern to arrive in the post. I am more excited than ever now. Thanks for the review!
11/16/11 11:37 AM
JodieT said...
Love it, and so unique.
11/16/11 11:57 AM
valkyrie01 said...
Fantastic! Thanks for all the useful advice, because I have been wanting to make this one!
11/17/11 9:08 PM
whistlin dixie said...
This looks just wonderful on you! Thanks for all of your tips. I, too, am interested in making this, but I'm concerned about the cut limiting the range of arm motion. It looks a bit like a straightjacket, as though the wearer cannot outstretch her arms. Is that true, or just a trick of the eye?
11/20/11 2:36 PM
jlg said...
I love this on you. Your review has convinced me to buy this pattern.
11/21/11 6:55 AM
Sue Anfang said...
whistlin dixie, I was surprised at the amount of arm motion from the look of the pattern too, but it was fine. If I were to make it again, I'd probably add some length to lower the pocket. A bunch of us tried it on and the ladies who were about 5' 6" slid their hands in the pocket easily, I'm 6 ft with long arms and the pockets are a bit high for me (but I wanted to make this quickly and had limited yardage - it was stash fabric, so I didn't do my usual alterations) HTH, Sue
11/22/11 9:31 AM
whistlin dixie said...
Thank you, Sue, for your feedback re. range of motion. I'm tall, too, so I'll definitely change the pocket height, if I decide to make the cape.
11/23/11 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 2648

photo
by: katski

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now