SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4731 

10 more reviews
Viewed 400 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing Cee
photo

 
 
About Sewing Cee
NJ USA
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 9:17 PM
Last Updated:11/17/11 11:07 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Thank you "sew" much, Sewing Cee! Your review was very helpful because I'm sewing in a laceeis corset this weekend into a wedding dress for a customer.
6/30/12 8:32 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Azgitana, this sheath dress requires a fabric with lots of body. If you used rayon, it would have to be a rayon with some body perhaps rayon shantung. Even then, you are not going to get by without completely lining the dress if you are going for white, off-white or ivory. My daughter's dress was made of a heavy peau de soie lined with Ambiance. When we triedonnthe finished dress, we had to rush out to David's Bridal and buy a full-length sheath half-slip! The problem is that white takes three layers to avoid see-through. Since the bodice of this dress had a built in white foundation, there was no see-through at the top, but the lower part required the half-slip. A full skirt wuld probably not have had this problem. I've never been to Hawaii, but I've been to the Virgin Islands many times and I always wear cotton in the daytime when I am there. People who live there told me that cotton is the way to go in the tropics. I hope this helps you. Good luck and Happy Wedding!
4/4/12 10:45 AM
azgitana said...
Do you think this dress could be made in a rayon? Im planning a hawaiian wedding, so I want something cool.
4/3/12 11:53 AM
Raye Ann said...
Amazing! The workmanship looks impeccable. What a treasure to be able to preserve and actually re- use the "wedding lace"!
11/17/11 10:56 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I am just swooning over this dress - it's absolutely gorgeous. Such lovely lace, wonderful work, beautiful bride.
11/16/11 11:02 PM
MarianS said...
What a wonderful legacy! The dress is absolutely fabulous! It's plain to see how much joy and love you put into it. Thanks so much for sharing all you learned.
11/16/11 8:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Beautiful dress! How wonderful to use the lace for all your family's happy occasions.
11/16/11 3:59 PM
NewRibena said...
Great detailed review and such a beautiful dress.
11/16/11 2:27 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Marcia, Thanks for pointing out the problem with the link to the dress back resource. I corrected it so it works now.
11/16/11 2:12 PM
Marcia R said...
Excellent review and a beautiful dress that will be cherished. I tried to click the link for the dress back resource, but get a tech company or another that builds websites. Please check and resend if you discover the problem. Thank you!
11/16/11 1:01 PM
OlindaM said...
What an elegant and beautiful dress, the simple lines are perfect and show off the lace wonderfully well.
11/16/11 6:45 AM
Huntwoman said...
So much helpful information here. Your daughter and the dress are both lovely. What a wonderful story.
11/16/11 5:19 AM
Karen Easter said...
Just lovely... and I loved the story behind the dress!
11/15/11 11:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful! I really enjoyed reading your review. The dress and lace are beautiful and I love the back of the dress.
11/15/11 11:33 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Thank you EMSB! It's my first review so I'm glad someone liked it. Did you click the links I put throughout the review - where it says "Click here"?One of them shows the back of the dress.
11/15/11 10:13 PM
EMSB said...
Fantastic review! Your daughter looks beautiful. I'd love to see a picture of the back of the dress. Having your mother sew your wedding dress is very special. I know from experience, as my mother made mine. Even more so when it includes your great-grandmother's lace, I'm sure.
11/15/11 9:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1001

photo
by: julliams

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now