SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4731 

9 more reviews
Viewed 382 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing Cee
photo

 
 
About Sewing Cee
NJ USA
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 9:17 PM
Last Updated:11/17/11 11:07 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EMSB said...
Fantastic review! Your daughter looks beautiful. I'd love to see a picture of the back of the dress. Having your mother sew your wedding dress is very special. I know from experience, as my mother made mine. Even more so when it includes your great-grandmother's lace, I'm sure.
11/15/11 9:51 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Thank you EMSB! It's my first review so I'm glad someone liked it. Did you click the links I put throughout the review - where it says "Click here"?One of them shows the back of the dress.
11/15/11 10:13 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful! I really enjoyed reading your review. The dress and lace are beautiful and I love the back of the dress.
11/15/11 11:33 PM
Karen Easter said...
Just lovely... and I loved the story behind the dress!
11/15/11 11:59 PM
Huntwoman said...
So much helpful information here. Your daughter and the dress are both lovely. What a wonderful story.
11/16/11 5:19 AM
OlindaM said...
What an elegant and beautiful dress, the simple lines are perfect and show off the lace wonderfully well.
11/16/11 6:45 AM
Marcia R said...
Excellent review and a beautiful dress that will be cherished. I tried to click the link for the dress back resource, but get a tech company or another that builds websites. Please check and resend if you discover the problem. Thank you!
11/16/11 1:01 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Marcia, Thanks for pointing out the problem with the link to the dress back resource. I corrected it so it works now.
11/16/11 2:12 PM
NewRibena said...
Great detailed review and such a beautiful dress.
11/16/11 2:27 PM
nicegirl said...
Beautiful dress! How wonderful to use the lace for all your family's happy occasions.
11/16/11 3:59 PM
MarianS said...
What a wonderful legacy! The dress is absolutely fabulous! It's plain to see how much joy and love you put into it. Thanks so much for sharing all you learned.
11/16/11 8:54 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I am just swooning over this dress - it's absolutely gorgeous. Such lovely lace, wonderful work, beautiful bride.
11/16/11 11:02 PM
Raye Ann said...
Amazing! The workmanship looks impeccable. What a treasure to be able to preserve and actually re- use the "wedding lace"!
11/17/11 10:56 PM
azgitana said...
Do you think this dress could be made in a rayon? Im planning a hawaiian wedding, so I want something cool.
4/3/12 11:53 AM
Sewing Cee said...
Azgitana, this sheath dress requires a fabric with lots of body. If you used rayon, it would have to be a rayon with some body perhaps rayon shantung. Even then, you are not going to get by without completely lining the dress if you are going for white, off-white or ivory. My daughter's dress was made of a heavy peau de soie lined with Ambiance. When we triedonnthe finished dress, we had to rush out to David's Bridal and buy a full-length sheath half-slip! The problem is that white takes three layers to avoid see-through. Since the bodice of this dress had a built in white foundation, there was no see-through at the top, but the lower part required the half-slip. A full skirt wuld probably not have had this problem. I've never been to Hawaii, but I've been to the Virgin Islands many times and I always wear cotton in the daytime when I am there. People who live there told me that cotton is the way to go in the tropics. I hope this helps you. Good luck and Happy Wedding!
4/4/12 10:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thank you "sew" much, Sewing Cee! Your review was very helpful because I'm sewing in a laceeis corset this weekend into a wedding dress for a customer.
6/30/12 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-102A

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Simplicity 1723

photo
by: Larisa

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now