Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4731 thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 373 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Sewing Cee
photo
About Sewing Cee
NJ USA
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 9:17 PM
Last Updated:11/17/11 11:07 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EMSB said...
Fantastic review! Your daughter looks beautiful. I'd love to see a picture of the back of the dress. Having your mother sew your wedding dress is very special. I know from experience, as my mother made mine. Even more so when it includes your great-grandmother's lace, I'm sure.
11/15/11 9:51 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Thank you EMSB! It's my first review so I'm glad someone liked it. Did you click the links I put throughout the review - where it says "Click here"?One of them shows the back of the dress.
11/15/11 10:13 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful! I really enjoyed reading your review. The dress and lace are beautiful and I love the back of the dress.
11/15/11 11:33 PM
Karen Easter said...
Just lovely... and I loved the story behind the dress!
11/15/11 11:59 PM
Huntwoman said...
So much helpful information here. Your daughter and the dress are both lovely. What a wonderful story.
11/16/11 5:19 AM
OlindaM said...
What an elegant and beautiful dress, the simple lines are perfect and show off the lace wonderfully well.
11/16/11 6:45 AM
Marcia R said...
Excellent review and a beautiful dress that will be cherished. I tried to click the link for the dress back resource, but get a tech company or another that builds websites. Please check and resend if you discover the problem. Thank you!
11/16/11 1:01 PM
Sewing Cee said...
Marcia, Thanks for pointing out the problem with the link to the dress back resource. I corrected it so it works now.
11/16/11 2:12 PM
NewRibena said...
Great detailed review and such a beautiful dress.
11/16/11 2:27 PM
nicegirl said...
Beautiful dress! How wonderful to use the lace for all your family's happy occasions.
11/16/11 3:59 PM
MarianS said...
What a wonderful legacy! The dress is absolutely fabulous! It's plain to see how much joy and love you put into it. Thanks so much for sharing all you learned.
11/16/11 8:54 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I am just swooning over this dress - it's absolutely gorgeous. Such lovely lace, wonderful work, beautiful bride.
11/16/11 11:02 PM
Raye Ann said...
Amazing! The workmanship looks impeccable. What a treasure to be able to preserve and actually re- use the "wedding lace"!
11/17/11 10:56 PM
azgitana said...
Do you think this dress could be made in a rayon? Im planning a hawaiian wedding, so I want something cool.
4/3/12 11:53 AM
Sewing Cee said...
Azgitana, this sheath dress requires a fabric with lots of body. If you used rayon, it would have to be a rayon with some body perhaps rayon shantung. Even then, you are not going to get by without completely lining the dress if you are going for white, off-white or ivory. My daughter's dress was made of a heavy peau de soie lined with Ambiance. When we triedonnthe finished dress, we had to rush out to David's Bridal and buy a full-length sheath half-slip! The problem is that white takes three layers to avoid see-through. Since the bodice of this dress had a built in white foundation, there was no see-through at the top, but the lower part required the half-slip. A full skirt wuld probably not have had this problem. I've never been to Hawaii, but I've been to the Virgin Islands many times and I always wear cotton in the daytime when I am there. People who live there told me that cotton is the way to go in the tropics. I hope this helps you. Good luck and Happy Wedding!
4/4/12 10:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thank you "sew" much, Sewing Cee! Your review was very helpful because I'm sewing in a laceeis corset this weekend into a wedding dress for a customer.
6/30/12 8:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Projects By Jane Sexy Zippy Wristlet
photo
Review by Sdtex on 10/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1353 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cambie Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 9665 Kids' Chair
photo
Review by Wagon on 7/1/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us