Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3378 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 358 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/11 11:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Well, the twist looks perfect! Nice top:-)
11/16/11 12:06 PM
Renren said...
So beautiful! I have this pattern in my queue but I'm worried about all these changes! Thanks for photographing the mods to the pattern. Also, by sloping that shoulder seam down by 1/4 inch, is the armhole not effectively made a bit smaller (by 1/2 inch)? Perhaps I'm missing something. Oh, yes, I love the fabric in these shades of very serious blue.
11/16/11 12:22 PM
jannw said...
Very nice top!! Your fit is perfect! Thanx for all the instructions on riaising the front. I have to do that also and you gave me some new things to consider!
11/16/11 1:03 PM
treefrog said...
Lovely top - I lie the pattern in the fabric. Thanks for the info on how you adjusted the front. I struggle with these type of things so I learn heaps from your reviews!
11/16/11 2:59 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Good save, Margaret!! How LOW does a KS pattern want to go?? (I think of them as a pretty conservative company ;/ )
11/16/11 4:45 PM
nicegirl said...
Great fit and a nice finish on the top.
11/16/11 5:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
You've done a good job of making the pattern work for you, which is encouraging for others. It's a cute top.
11/16/11 10:15 PM
becca a said...
What a great looking twist top! I love twist tops. Thanks for the very thorough and helpful review.
11/16/11 11:09 PM
cerulean said...
Beautiful fabric! I've been wanting to do this pattern for a while. I appreciate the tips!
11/17/11 0:10 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all the kind comments! Renren, yes, it makes the armhole a slight bit (1/4") smaller. I did the sloping only on the front, where it seemed like I needed the armhole depth a little bit shorter anyway. If you wanted to slope a shoulder seam without decreasing the armhole depth, here's one option: you could draw on the new shoulder seam shape, then trace a copy of the original armhole shape, and tape the tracing on so that it matched the new end of the shoulder seam and the bottom end of the curve matched along the side seam. Then you would use that tracing line when cutting out the armhole on the pattern. It does result in the side seam being shorter, so the same amount would have to be done on both front and back -- if you wanted, say, a forward shoulder alteration as well, it would be best done afterward. (I hope that makes sense)
11/17/11 3:55 AM
MidnightBleu said...
It is really stylish and fits you so well. Great review.
11/17/11 10:21 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful Margaret. Love the fabric. Great to have the information how to change the neckline. Thanks.
11/17/11 10:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by Sue_WA on 7/23/05
Read Review

Simplicity 1465 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1465 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5903 OOP
photo
Review by Zoomitron on 2/6/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us