SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3378 (Tops)

42 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 363 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/11 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful Margaret. Love the fabric. Great to have the information how to change the neckline. Thanks.
11/17/11 10:26 AM
MidnightBleu said...
It is really stylish and fits you so well. Great review.
11/17/11 10:21 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all the kind comments! Renren, yes, it makes the armhole a slight bit (1/4") smaller. I did the sloping only on the front, where it seemed like I needed the armhole depth a little bit shorter anyway. If you wanted to slope a shoulder seam without decreasing the armhole depth, here's one option: you could draw on the new shoulder seam shape, then trace a copy of the original armhole shape, and tape the tracing on so that it matched the new end of the shoulder seam and the bottom end of the curve matched along the side seam. Then you would use that tracing line when cutting out the armhole on the pattern. It does result in the side seam being shorter, so the same amount would have to be done on both front and back -- if you wanted, say, a forward shoulder alteration as well, it would be best done afterward. (I hope that makes sense)
11/17/11 3:55 AM
cerulean said...
Beautiful fabric! I've been wanting to do this pattern for a while. I appreciate the tips!
11/17/11 0:10 AM
becca a said...
What a great looking twist top! I love twist tops. Thanks for the very thorough and helpful review.
11/16/11 11:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
You've done a good job of making the pattern work for you, which is encouraging for others. It's a cute top.
11/16/11 10:15 PM
nicegirl said...
Great fit and a nice finish on the top.
11/16/11 5:02 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Good save, Margaret!! How LOW does a KS pattern want to go?? (I think of them as a pretty conservative company ;/ )
11/16/11 4:45 PM
treefrog said...
Lovely top - I lie the pattern in the fabric. Thanks for the info on how you adjusted the front. I struggle with these type of things so I learn heaps from your reviews!
11/16/11 2:59 PM
jannw said...
Very nice top!! Your fit is perfect! Thanx for all the instructions on riaising the front. I have to do that also and you gave me some new things to consider!
11/16/11 1:03 PM
Renren said...
So beautiful! I have this pattern in my queue but I'm worried about all these changes! Thanks for photographing the mods to the pattern. Also, by sloping that shoulder seam down by 1/4 inch, is the armhole not effectively made a bit smaller (by 1/2 inch)? Perhaps I'm missing something. Oh, yes, I love the fabric in these shades of very serious blue.
11/16/11 12:22 PM
Terri A said...
Well, the twist looks perfect! Nice top:-)
11/16/11 12:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Blanket

photo
by: aileeoops

Review
Other That Darn Kat

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info