SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Slip-on Suzie (Slip-On Suzie)

13 more reviews
Viewed 650 times 
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo

 
 
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/11 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress. And what an excellent point you make about the value of the pattern.
8/23/12 6:43 AM
Sandi S said...
I definitely agree with your comment about getting value from the StyleArc patterns. I have this dress pattern on its way to me now - can't wait to make it.
11/27/11 1:11 PM
strongnow said...
Hi Knitz: I am going to print off those instructions and get at it. I will test this out, as suggested, before I cut out the dress. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out.
11/21/11 7:59 AM
Knitz said...
strongnow -- Sure thing -- all I did was to extend the front edge of the bodice by 1 inch along the edge. I did not make the shoulder seam longer, so I tapered that 1 inch extra to nothing at the shoulder seam. Be aware that doing this means that the bodice will cross your chest at a different point than illustrated in the design drawing. My next version will take that edge out just a wee bit more -- maybe 3/4"? Of course, what "I" felt was too low may not be too low for someone else, so it's always a good idea to test it out before cutting into good fabric! BTW, there are no facings for the front edge, so no worries there -- I simply turned in the new, extended edge the same amount as specified in the pattern. HTH, Karen
11/19/11 1:36 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely dress! I am also inspired by your comments on Syle Arc.
11/19/11 8:36 AM
strongnow said...
I am inspired by your dress and information. If you have the time I would appreciate a bit more information on how to raise the neckline without spoiling the front bodice style line. Is it fairly straight forward? (I am new at sewing.) Thanks in advance.
11/19/11 8:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
As I said on your blog I love your dress! Thanks for the review. I too am finding it very hard to sew with patterns from other companies. I haven't bought a Big4 pattern in the last six months because the sales are no longer inticing.
11/18/11 4:43 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful!
11/18/11 3:18 PM
Elona said...
What a good looking dress! I think the neckline depth is great just as it is, btw: Very sleek and elongated in effect.
11/18/11 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book

photo
by: KLK7

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now