Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Slip-on Suzie (Slip-On Suzie) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 603 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/11 9:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a good looking dress! I think the neckline depth is great just as it is, btw: Very sleek and elongated in effect.
11/18/11 12:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful!
11/18/11 3:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
As I said on your blog I love your dress! Thanks for the review. I too am finding it very hard to sew with patterns from other companies. I haven't bought a Big4 pattern in the last six months because the sales are no longer inticing.
11/18/11 4:43 PM
strongnow said...
I am inspired by your dress and information. If you have the time I would appreciate a bit more information on how to raise the neckline without spoiling the front bodice style line. Is it fairly straight forward? (I am new at sewing.) Thanks in advance.
11/19/11 8:26 AM
VivianZ said...
Lovely dress! I am also inspired by your comments on Syle Arc.
11/19/11 8:36 AM
Knitz said...
strongnow -- Sure thing -- all I did was to extend the front edge of the bodice by 1 inch along the edge. I did not make the shoulder seam longer, so I tapered that 1 inch extra to nothing at the shoulder seam. Be aware that doing this means that the bodice will cross your chest at a different point than illustrated in the design drawing. My next version will take that edge out just a wee bit more -- maybe 3/4"? Of course, what "I" felt was too low may not be too low for someone else, so it's always a good idea to test it out before cutting into good fabric! BTW, there are no facings for the front edge, so no worries there -- I simply turned in the new, extended edge the same amount as specified in the pattern. HTH, Karen
11/19/11 1:36 PM
strongnow said...
Hi Knitz: I am going to print off those instructions and get at it. I will test this out, as suggested, before I cut out the dress. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out.
11/21/11 7:59 AM
Sandi S said...
I definitely agree with your comment about getting value from the StyleArc patterns. I have this dress pattern on its way to me now - can't wait to make it.
11/27/11 1:11 PM
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress. And what an excellent point you make about the value of the pattern.
8/23/12 6:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8367
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 11/29/09
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5523
photo
Review by aprilsweet... on 2/17/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us