SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Slip-on Suzie (Slip-On Suzie)

11 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo

 
 
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/11 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a good looking dress! I think the neckline depth is great just as it is, btw: Very sleek and elongated in effect.
11/18/11 12:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful!
11/18/11 3:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
As I said on your blog I love your dress! Thanks for the review. I too am finding it very hard to sew with patterns from other companies. I haven't bought a Big4 pattern in the last six months because the sales are no longer inticing.
11/18/11 4:43 PM
strongnow said...
I am inspired by your dress and information. If you have the time I would appreciate a bit more information on how to raise the neckline without spoiling the front bodice style line. Is it fairly straight forward? (I am new at sewing.) Thanks in advance.
11/19/11 8:26 AM
VivianZ said...
Lovely dress! I am also inspired by your comments on Syle Arc.
11/19/11 8:36 AM
Knitz said...
strongnow -- Sure thing -- all I did was to extend the front edge of the bodice by 1 inch along the edge. I did not make the shoulder seam longer, so I tapered that 1 inch extra to nothing at the shoulder seam. Be aware that doing this means that the bodice will cross your chest at a different point than illustrated in the design drawing. My next version will take that edge out just a wee bit more -- maybe 3/4"? Of course, what "I" felt was too low may not be too low for someone else, so it's always a good idea to test it out before cutting into good fabric! BTW, there are no facings for the front edge, so no worries there -- I simply turned in the new, extended edge the same amount as specified in the pattern. HTH, Karen
11/19/11 1:36 PM
strongnow said...
Hi Knitz: I am going to print off those instructions and get at it. I will test this out, as suggested, before I cut out the dress. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out.
11/21/11 7:59 AM
Sandi S said...
I definitely agree with your comment about getting value from the StyleArc patterns. I have this dress pattern on its way to me now - can't wait to make it.
11/27/11 1:11 PM
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress. And what an excellent point you make about the value of the pattern.
8/23/12 6:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Other MonsterTooth Fairy Pillow

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now