Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8597 (view C) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1184 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/11 1:34 PM
Last Updated:12/2/13 10:59 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8597
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by French.Seam

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: close fitting, cowl neck top with raglan sleeves, view C

This view is much better for fit than view A/B

Pattern Sizing: I made a 14 instead of a 12 to give me a more relaxed fit, less snug
I took this photo before I'd hemmed the sleeves, the bunching on the top of the arm disappeared after that

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? pretty much

It's so quick to sew together, and I love the relaxed comfy shape of it with the lower, slightly baby-batwing, armpits (I sweat a lot, so close-fitting armscyes are my enemy).

Fabric Used: cotton jersey, really soft (I think there's some viscose in there too)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I cut 5" off the hem to make it the view A length which is plenty long enough on me
- I wanted a slouchier, lower cowl, so cut the neckline a little lower see here and increased the cowl collar by the same amount so it still fit together
- My left shoulder is paralysed and droops an inch or two, so I attempted a Fwd Shoulder Adjustment by taking half a cm off the left armscye (front section) Click Here and 1cm off the front sleeve at the armscye, and added that cm to the back sleeve. It seemed to work

I really like this pattern, I'll make a few of these. Vogue is my fave pattern co, their fit & finishing seem to be best for my body.

I've noticed that Kwik Sew 3740 has generally better reviews, but I think this one works for me, with the slightly lower neckline I gave it

_____________________________

purple version which is even better. Thicker fabric, really soft & cosy

lime green version Here. This is a proper sweater knit: I finished all the edges before construction. It's drapier than the others, I just love it

rust version. Again a proper sweater knit. I had got too confident doing this one, and somehow sewed the back sleeves to each other and the front sleeves to each other. Unpicking was really hard & I made several small holes in the fabric which threatened to unravel into big holes. I ironed interfacing to the wrong sides of the holes and resewed the seams


thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
looks very good on you..I like the fit and the length.. great job!
11/24/11 8:12 PM
pdiddly said...
Lovely looks great
11/25/11 2:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...looks like a real wardrobe staple and super on you!
11/26/11 1:45 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Very nice! Fit looks made for you...flattering!
11/26/11 8:44 AM
marec said...
Your cowl top is really pretty in that soft jersey. Isn't this the best view of this pattern? It fits well.
11/26/11 11:06 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for the "view C" tip since this pattern is in the queue for me. I especially like your purple version. The weight of the fabric makes the cowl lie so nicely.
12/3/11 10:59 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow you nailed this one! Great style, and great review... Thanks!
12/4/11 10:59 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow you nailed this one! Great style, and great review... Thanks!
12/4/11 10:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-131 Knit Coat
photo
Review by ElsaD on 2/2/09
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2750 Lauren Sara
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 3/24/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us