Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1250 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1702 times 110 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:11/21/11 6:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress in a fabulous colour. It looks great on you. A half-slip would help with the worst of the clinging.
11/21/11 6:32 PM
Twinset said...
Love that color and this dress is a beautiful classic. I agree about the full body slip and silk jersey dresses (they go together), and of course you could spray Static Guard to avoid the clinging.
11/21/11 6:39 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this review. The things you didn't like were the very detials that have scared me away from this pattern. This is a very good color for you and the lines of the dress are complimentary. It is hard to be comfy in a clingy garment.
11/21/11 7:37 PM
drsue said...
Really nice on you!! Another vote for a slip. I know they are "old fashioned" but they do the job.
11/21/11 7:57 PM
Re Becca said...
You rock that dress! I vote for a full lining, but then I line almost everything.
11/21/11 8:17 PM
SewWil said...
Fantastic color on you! I hear you about the full body slip. They are a must for silk jersey dresses.
11/21/11 8:48 PM
BlossomKyle said...
The dress looks phenomenal on you!!
11/21/11 10:39 PM
ArtAttack said...
Honey, if you can't wear a slinky, clingy, sexy dress at your age with your body there surely is no hope for the rest of us...enjoy, girlfriend...you rock in this dress!
11/21/11 11:17 PM
Terri A said...
I agree, you look great!
11/22/11 1:21 AM
Kim12469 said...
I made a version in silk jersey too and boy did it cling. I did wear a full slip with mine and it laid a lot nicer. You look gorgeous in this!
11/22/11 8:09 AM
VivianZ said...
I love this dress and I think you shouldn't not make it again. I neck line is adjustable, and don't make it out of silk jersey, but something a little more substantial. For the full lining, you could buy an inexpensive full slip from and outlet mall and just sew the straps in at the shoulder at the right length. I love the dress you made thought and don't give up on it.
11/22/11 9:41 AM
Tina Lou said...
You looked mahvelous, dahlink!!! I think a slip is a tiny price to pay for total fabulosity! Oh, and, at least on my color monitor, I think the color (to die for, really!!) reads more accurately in the blog photos of PR Day Boston.
11/22/11 10:30 AM
ChristinePDX said...
I have been on a 1250 kick, and bought a full slip JUST to wear with the 1250. My mother had a wardrobe of slips, I figured I could at least own one :)
11/22/11 11:08 AM
Heatherrique said...
Deepika, this is one fine looking dress on you!
11/22/11 12:09 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Yes, it clings... in ALL the RIGHT places! Deepika, you look smokin hot in this dress! I hope you'll get a slip and give it another try.
11/22/11 12:19 PM
lauraborealis said...
What Clio said... you look smokin' hot. Fabulous fit and color on you. Wear it proudly.
11/22/11 7:52 PM
BeckyMc said...
This is a beautiful rendition of the V1250 we all love. I too, felt the neck was too low. I just pulled the facing up a pinch and tacked it to the shoulder tuck area. A quick and dirty fix, but it makes me more comfortable wearing it.
11/23/11 1:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It does look very good. But I'm totally with you on silk jersey - great for undies, nightwear, underlayers, not OK for a dress.
11/25/11 7:20 AM
becca a said...
You look gorgeous in this dress! The color is lovely and it is a very flattering cut on you. I think a slip would help a lot with the cling. I made a silk jersey dress that I need to wear a slip under for modesty, but with the slip it is fine.
11/25/11 10:01 AM
pattika said...
The dress is gorgeous, and looks fabulous on you! No need to feel self-conscious; you look very feminine and curvy.
11/25/11 12:02 PM
Elona said...
Deepika, the dress looks beautiful on you. It's a Jean Harlow effect and you have the figure to carry it off. Besides, did your husband complain? I didn't think so. ;-)) Enjoy.
11/25/11 12:19 PM
annakeeton said...
The dress is lovely and it inspired me to finally buy this pattern!
11/29/11 6:13 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I tried wearing shapewear but that made things worse. So I bought a full slip and that works really well. Apparently all I needed was another layer. This dress is now wearable. My next version is going to be with sleeves.
11/30/11 7:48 AM
fabricfanatic said...
I saw you in this dress at PR day and thought it looked fine without the slip, so no worries! The hem treatment is very creative.
1/21/12 10:33 PM
Sassy T said...
Love the dress on you. Nothing wrong with a slip; a pattern for a slip is included in one of the Vogue Spring 2012 collection. You rocked the dress.
2/16/12 8:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us