SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 2001 (Mr. HP Straight Leg Jeans)

2 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 1:12 AM
Last Updated:11/22/11 1:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
M.S. said...
@Olivia Sews....Unfortunately, they would not work for that body type, either. You just described my husband, and my attempt at this pattern was a disaster, too! I've been making all of his pants for 10+ years and these were by far the worst pattern ever!
12/14/11 1:44 PM
fourkid said...
I got it on pre-order too. I just haven't had time to try it out. Hmmm. Has anyone had success with this pattern? I don't have time to waste on something that is flawed to begin with. I may still try a muslin for the upcoming jean's contest and see if I get something usable. Too much holiday sewing going on right now to think about it.
12/14/11 0:18 AM
Olivia Sews said...
On the flip side, the long rise would work for the men who have a long rise and need extra room for a big rear end. :)
11/25/11 3:56 PM
Ericaeli said...
Wow that is a long rise! Thank you for the review. I was also one who bought at the presale, and I will not be using my pattern. I will just keep using the Kwik Sew pattern like you. Your sewing is very nice on these.
11/24/11 9:38 AM
Heatherrique said...
After your very nice job on these jeans, it is very disappointing that they did not work out well. Thank you for sharing your VH review of this pattern.
11/24/11 0:54 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your comments. Kathi, I bought these on presale, too. HP was very pushy about how they wouldn't make a men's pattern without preorders, and good men's patterns are pretty rare. Too bad this isn't one.
11/22/11 11:51 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your review --- I feel like a real dope, I bought the pattern on presale...but I'm sure I would feel worse if I had missed this review and put them together.
11/22/11 7:58 PM
allycovey said...
I am so glad you reveiwed these!!! now everyone knows to stay away just say no. I spent two weeks on these jeans trying to salvage them and no salvage to be had I cut out the 4" or more neccesary and they still didn't fit right.
11/22/11 3:19 PM
MNBarb said...
Holy Toledo!! I wonder if Mr. Hot Patterns needs lots of room for his junk! I'm sorry you had such a fitting failure but that photo of the front rise with the ruler just cracked me up on my lunch break. Is this what they mean by "relaxed fit"? If the waistband was worn at the waist the crotch would be at knee level. Poor you for working so hard, and doing a perfect job with the result of a garment that could house adult diapers.
11/22/11 12:25 PM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review! I agree with Belinda, your sewing is terrific.
11/22/11 9:09 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh how annoying to do all that sewing and topstitching, only to end up with 'harry high pants'. :( Nice job though on the sewing and thanks for the review.
11/22/11 1:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now