Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 2001 (Mr. HP Straight Leg Jeans) - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 410 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 1:12 AM
Last Updated:11/22/11 1:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Oh how annoying to do all that sewing and topstitching, only to end up with 'harry high pants'. :( Nice job though on the sewing and thanks for the review.
11/22/11 1:25 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review! I agree with Belinda, your sewing is terrific.
11/22/11 9:09 AM
MNBarb said...
Holy Toledo!! I wonder if Mr. Hot Patterns needs lots of room for his junk! I'm sorry you had such a fitting failure but that photo of the front rise with the ruler just cracked me up on my lunch break. Is this what they mean by "relaxed fit"? If the waistband was worn at the waist the crotch would be at knee level. Poor you for working so hard, and doing a perfect job with the result of a garment that could house adult diapers.
11/22/11 12:25 PM
allycovey said...
I am so glad you reveiwed these!!! now everyone knows to stay away just say no. I spent two weeks on these jeans trying to salvage them and no salvage to be had I cut out the 4" or more neccesary and they still didn't fit right.
11/22/11 3:19 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your review --- I feel like a real dope, I bought the pattern on presale...but I'm sure I would feel worse if I had missed this review and put them together.
11/22/11 7:58 PM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your comments. Kathi, I bought these on presale, too. HP was very pushy about how they wouldn't make a men's pattern without preorders, and good men's patterns are pretty rare. Too bad this isn't one.
11/22/11 11:51 PM
Heatherrique said...
After your very nice job on these jeans, it is very disappointing that they did not work out well. Thank you for sharing your VH review of this pattern.
11/24/11 0:54 AM
Ericaeli said...
Wow that is a long rise! Thank you for the review. I was also one who bought at the presale, and I will not be using my pattern. I will just keep using the Kwik Sew pattern like you. Your sewing is very nice on these.
11/24/11 9:38 AM
Olivia Sews said...
On the flip side, the long rise would work for the men who have a long rise and need extra room for a big rear end. :)
11/25/11 3:56 PM
fourkid said...
I got it on pre-order too. I just haven't had time to try it out. Hmmm. Has anyone had success with this pattern? I don't have time to waste on something that is flawed to begin with. I may still try a muslin for the upcoming jean's contest and see if I get something usable. Too much holiday sewing going on right now to think about it.
12/14/11 0:18 AM
M.S. said...
@Olivia Sews....Unfortunately, they would not work for that body type, either. You just described my husband, and my attempt at this pattern was a disaster, too! I've been making all of his pants for 10+ years and these were by far the worst pattern ever!
12/14/11 1:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1762
photo
Review by Kay Y on 2/20/14
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Pattern
New Look 6557 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-20 Corduroy Skirt
photo
Review by callmeRuth on 5/24/10
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us