SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7779 (T-shirt or top)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 312 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 310 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said... (11/23/11 5:14 PM) Reply
Great top - love the print. Thanks for the details on your adjustments. I like the layered look - it would be great for a mesh fabric.
Margaret said... (11/23/11 4:47 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone! I think I don't like the black sleeves underneath because they are such a contrast with the light top and my (even paler this time of year) hands, making my arms look shorter... but maybe that is nitpicking, and I do have long sleeved tops in lighter colors that could work with this. Renren, I'm usually finding these prints as remnants in the Dutch-run fabric markets... I think maybe Emma One Sock still sells some similar prints.
SewWil said... (11/22/11 11:22 PM) Reply
Love the print. Great top!
Terri A said... (11/22/11 10:32 PM) Reply
Your reviews are so detailed and helpful. The fitting info is (once again) great!
khurtdvm said... (11/22/11 9:56 PM) Reply
Beautiful job! I love the print.
jannw said... (11/22/11 6:42 PM) Reply
Very nice!! Great alterations as usual..I like it with the sleeves underneath it, also.
FreyaStark said... (11/22/11 4:23 PM) Reply
Another cute top. The effort you've put in to make it work is impressive, too. Don't rule out wearing a long-sleeved top underneath in cooler weather. When I made Burda 7519 last summer I hated the way it looked when finished. Another review on the net showed it worn with a long-sleeved top underneath and looking really good, but I would never have thought of that for myself. When I had got used to the idea, I found that it made the top wearable and saved the project from failure.
Sigrid. said... (11/22/11 4:15 PM) Reply
Very nice, great way of combining the sizes to achieve the result you want.
renren said... (11/22/11 3:46 PM) Reply
Another great top--you find the nicest knit prints . . . or print knits? I remember Lucy's Fabrics used to sell knits and many of the best ('best' as in my favorites) came from Germany.
marec said... (11/22/11 3:19 PM) Reply
This is very stylish and interesting. I love the black sleeves under the top, but can see it without too. Very nice!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-1996-417

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 359842-1001

photo
by: EssiMay

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Pattern Details
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Pattern Details