Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 33530-1000 (Dress ME) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 945 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 9:46 PM
Last Updated:11/23/11 4:47 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lynne1nor said...
Amazing! I really like the way the dress turned out!
11/22/11 10:20 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Amy. Talk about hitting this one out of the park. You look fabulous. A very good use of an old skirt.
11/22/11 10:23 PM
no7262 said...
Wow! It looks great! Nora :)
11/22/11 10:37 PM
Aixoise said...
So sharp! It looks great with shoes and boots alike. I admire your patience in picking out those seams!
11/22/11 11:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great refashion!
11/23/11 6:00 AM
Huntwoman said...
You are one talented and clever lady. Brilliant to use a clearance skirt and your pattern talent is impressive. I'll never look at a clearance rack the same again. Thanks.
11/23/11 6:42 AM
Barbara V said...
Brilliant refashioning. Beautiful fabric and style!
11/23/11 9:41 AM
GwenH said...
Nice! You took a blah styled skirt and transformed it into a stylish dress that shows off the print to good advantage.
11/23/11 10:02 AM
Tina Lou said...
Amazing transformation! Until reading your post, it would never have occurred to me to use WalMart plus sizes as a clothing or fabric source. I will add that department to my rounds, and will change my thinking from "WalMart doesn't DO petites" to "WalMart carries some great fabric lengths; IF you know where to look!"
11/23/11 10:26 AM
marec said...
This is amazing! Not only is the dress so pretty, but your work in piecing looks totally professional.
11/23/11 11:30 AM
RLL said...
I would say that your efforts definately paid off! Brilliant use of an over sized (for you) skirt.
11/23/11 1:06 PM
Sharon1952 said...
That is an amazing repurpose!
11/23/11 5:37 PM
mary in FL said...
Wow! Just wow! I have several too-large garments from various sources to use as fabric, but I really needed this inspiration!
11/23/11 7:32 PM
petro said...
Pretty wonderful refashion!
11/24/11 2:15 AM
lcdrbetty said...
I'll add another WOW! Amazing sewing job & beautiful outcome...I'm impressed with your whole process.
11/24/11 8:24 AM
bananaoil said...
Excellent! You remind us to look at RTW clothes in a completely different way. Important to note (with that x-large skirt) that when you refashion, you can't make a larger item than what you start with.
11/24/11 8:48 AM
MidnightBleu said...
OMG! How cute is that dress! Great job. Really creative use of "fabric".
11/24/11 11:25 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to refashion - clever and looks great.
11/24/11 1:08 PM
JillyBe said...
What a glamorous look! Wonderful vision & a fantastic result!
11/25/11 0:14 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress.
11/25/11 7:52 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't get over your dress, Amy-may! It is fantastic. I never would have thought to use a large skirt for yardage -- and then I doubt I'd have had the patience to undo all those serged seams. But even if I had, I wouldn't have your eye for design or sewing talent. Your dress looks phenomenal on you!
11/25/11 11:37 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is utterly fantastic. I applaud your ingenuity. I would never guess that this is a refashion. Bonus--it looks great on you.
11/27/11 9:34 PM
SondraG said...
Nicely done. The finished product looks great!
11/30/11 2:32 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks adorable, i think you picked the right pattern!
12/3/11 1:48 PM
Norsecross said...
Man alive, it is like magic. I cant figure out how you got two pieces out of that one bigish skirt!
12/4/11 3:03 PM
LM2HYD said...
Fabulous Dress! Well done! :)
12/12/11 8:21 AM
Mufffet said...
This is a lovely redo. I missed this review before, but that means I could enjoy it now! Congrats! :)
12/27/11 9:58 AM
Roary said...
Squeal!!! I love, love, love what you did! Great job and a well-deserved award.
12/29/11 1:27 PM
WhatSew said...
Nice, thinking outside the box! Finished project is lovely.
1/3/12 3:42 PM
SMGSSG said...
I never thought of using fabric from ready to wear....
2/1/12 7:07 PM
SavageCoco said...
OUT. STANDING.
2/23/12 11:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2977
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/21/10
Read Review

Burda 9438 Pattern
Burda 9438 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest MY Pattern 2008
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 8/1/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us