SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 33530-1000 (Dress ME)

Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 9:46 PM
Last Updated:11/23/11 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
OUT. STANDING.
2/23/12 11:21 PM
SMGSSG said...
I never thought of using fabric from ready to wear....
2/1/12 7:07 PM
WhatSew said...
Nice, thinking outside the box! Finished project is lovely.
1/3/12 3:42 PM
Roary said...
Squeal!!! I love, love, love what you did! Great job and a well-deserved award.
12/29/11 1:27 PM
Mufffet said...
This is a lovely redo. I missed this review before, but that means I could enjoy it now! Congrats! :)
12/27/11 9:58 AM
LM2HYD said...
Fabulous Dress! Well done! :)
12/12/11 8:21 AM
Norsecross said...
Man alive, it is like magic. I cant figure out how you got two pieces out of that one bigish skirt!
12/4/11 3:03 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks adorable, i think you picked the right pattern!
12/3/11 1:48 PM
SondraG said...
Nicely done. The finished product looks great!
11/30/11 2:32 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is utterly fantastic. I applaud your ingenuity. I would never guess that this is a refashion. Bonus--it looks great on you.
11/27/11 9:34 PM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't get over your dress, Amy-may! It is fantastic. I never would have thought to use a large skirt for yardage -- and then I doubt I'd have had the patience to undo all those serged seams. But even if I had, I wouldn't have your eye for design or sewing talent. Your dress looks phenomenal on you!
11/25/11 11:37 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress.
11/25/11 7:52 AM
JillyBe said...
What a glamorous look! Wonderful vision & a fantastic result!
11/25/11 0:14 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to refashion - clever and looks great.
11/24/11 1:08 PM
MidnightBleu said...
OMG! How cute is that dress! Great job. Really creative use of "fabric".
11/24/11 11:25 AM
bananaoil said...
Excellent! You remind us to look at RTW clothes in a completely different way. Important to note (with that x-large skirt) that when you refashion, you can't make a larger item than what you start with.
11/24/11 8:48 AM
lcdrbetty said...
I'll add another WOW! Amazing sewing job & beautiful outcome...I'm impressed with your whole process.
11/24/11 8:24 AM
petro said...
Pretty wonderful refashion!
11/24/11 2:15 AM
mary in FL said...
Wow! Just wow! I have several too-large garments from various sources to use as fabric, but I really needed this inspiration!
11/23/11 7:32 PM
Sharon1952 said...
That is an amazing repurpose!
11/23/11 5:37 PM
RLL said...
I would say that your efforts definately paid off! Brilliant use of an over sized (for you) skirt.
11/23/11 1:06 PM
marec said...
This is amazing! Not only is the dress so pretty, but your work in piecing looks totally professional.
11/23/11 11:30 AM
Tina Lou said...
Amazing transformation! Until reading your post, it would never have occurred to me to use WalMart plus sizes as a clothing or fabric source. I will add that department to my rounds, and will change my thinking from "WalMart doesn't DO petites" to "WalMart carries some great fabric lengths; IF you know where to look!"
11/23/11 10:26 AM
GwenH said...
Nice! You took a blah styled skirt and transformed it into a stylish dress that shows off the print to good advantage.
11/23/11 10:02 AM
Barbara V said...
Brilliant refashioning. Beautiful fabric and style!
11/23/11 9:41 AM
Huntwoman said...
You are one talented and clever lady. Brilliant to use a clearance skirt and your pattern talent is impressive. I'll never look at a clearance rack the same again. Thanks.
11/23/11 6:42 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great refashion!
11/23/11 6:00 AM
Aixoise said...
So sharp! It looks great with shoes and boots alike. I admire your patience in picking out those seams!
11/22/11 11:50 PM
no7262 said...
Wow! It looks great! Nora :)
11/22/11 10:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Amy. Talk about hitting this one out of the park. You look fabulous. A very good use of an old skirt.
11/22/11 10:23 PM
lynne1nor said...
Amazing! I really like the way the dress turned out!
11/22/11 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info