SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 33530-1000 (Dress ME)

Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 9:46 PM
Last Updated:11/23/11 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
OUT. STANDING.
2/23/12 11:21 PM
SMGSSG said...
I never thought of using fabric from ready to wear....
2/1/12 7:07 PM
WhatSew said...
Nice, thinking outside the box! Finished project is lovely.
1/3/12 3:42 PM
Roary said...
Squeal!!! I love, love, love what you did! Great job and a well-deserved award.
12/29/11 1:27 PM
Mufffet said...
This is a lovely redo. I missed this review before, but that means I could enjoy it now! Congrats! :)
12/27/11 9:58 AM
LM2HYD said...
Fabulous Dress! Well done! :)
12/12/11 8:21 AM
Norsecross said...
Man alive, it is like magic. I cant figure out how you got two pieces out of that one bigish skirt!
12/4/11 3:03 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks adorable, i think you picked the right pattern!
12/3/11 1:48 PM
SondraG said...
Nicely done. The finished product looks great!
11/30/11 2:32 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is utterly fantastic. I applaud your ingenuity. I would never guess that this is a refashion. Bonus--it looks great on you.
11/27/11 9:34 PM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't get over your dress, Amy-may! It is fantastic. I never would have thought to use a large skirt for yardage -- and then I doubt I'd have had the patience to undo all those serged seams. But even if I had, I wouldn't have your eye for design or sewing talent. Your dress looks phenomenal on you!
11/25/11 11:37 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress.
11/25/11 7:52 AM
JillyBe said...
What a glamorous look! Wonderful vision & a fantastic result!
11/25/11 0:14 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to refashion - clever and looks great.
11/24/11 1:08 PM
MidnightBleu said...
OMG! How cute is that dress! Great job. Really creative use of "fabric".
11/24/11 11:25 AM
bananaoil said...
Excellent! You remind us to look at RTW clothes in a completely different way. Important to note (with that x-large skirt) that when you refashion, you can't make a larger item than what you start with.
11/24/11 8:48 AM
lcdrbetty said...
I'll add another WOW! Amazing sewing job & beautiful outcome...I'm impressed with your whole process.
11/24/11 8:24 AM
petro said...
Pretty wonderful refashion!
11/24/11 2:15 AM
mary in FL said...
Wow! Just wow! I have several too-large garments from various sources to use as fabric, but I really needed this inspiration!
11/23/11 7:32 PM
Sharon1952 said...
That is an amazing repurpose!
11/23/11 5:37 PM
RLL said...
I would say that your efforts definately paid off! Brilliant use of an over sized (for you) skirt.
11/23/11 1:06 PM
marec said...
This is amazing! Not only is the dress so pretty, but your work in piecing looks totally professional.
11/23/11 11:30 AM
Tina Lou said...
Amazing transformation! Until reading your post, it would never have occurred to me to use WalMart plus sizes as a clothing or fabric source. I will add that department to my rounds, and will change my thinking from "WalMart doesn't DO petites" to "WalMart carries some great fabric lengths; IF you know where to look!"
11/23/11 10:26 AM
GwenH said...
Nice! You took a blah styled skirt and transformed it into a stylish dress that shows off the print to good advantage.
11/23/11 10:02 AM
Barbara V said...
Brilliant refashioning. Beautiful fabric and style!
11/23/11 9:41 AM
Huntwoman said...
You are one talented and clever lady. Brilliant to use a clearance skirt and your pattern talent is impressive. I'll never look at a clearance rack the same again. Thanks.
11/23/11 6:42 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great refashion!
11/23/11 6:00 AM
Aixoise said...
So sharp! It looks great with shoes and boots alike. I admire your patience in picking out those seams!
11/22/11 11:50 PM
no7262 said...
Wow! It looks great! Nora :)
11/22/11 10:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Amy. Talk about hitting this one out of the park. You look fabulous. A very good use of an old skirt.
11/22/11 10:23 PM
lynne1nor said...
Amazing! I really like the way the dress turned out!
11/22/11 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Threads Magazine 05-2013-Bias Pants

photo
by: RMJ

Review
Simplicity 2270

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now