SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 33530-1000 (Dress ME)

Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest
Viewed 947 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 9:46 PM
Last Updated:11/23/11 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lynne1nor said...
Amazing! I really like the way the dress turned out!
11/22/11 10:20 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Amy. Talk about hitting this one out of the park. You look fabulous. A very good use of an old skirt.
11/22/11 10:23 PM
no7262 said...
Wow! It looks great! Nora :)
11/22/11 10:37 PM
Aixoise said...
So sharp! It looks great with shoes and boots alike. I admire your patience in picking out those seams!
11/22/11 11:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great refashion!
11/23/11 6:00 AM
Huntwoman said...
You are one talented and clever lady. Brilliant to use a clearance skirt and your pattern talent is impressive. I'll never look at a clearance rack the same again. Thanks.
11/23/11 6:42 AM
Barbara V said...
Brilliant refashioning. Beautiful fabric and style!
11/23/11 9:41 AM
GwenH said...
Nice! You took a blah styled skirt and transformed it into a stylish dress that shows off the print to good advantage.
11/23/11 10:02 AM
Tina Lou said...
Amazing transformation! Until reading your post, it would never have occurred to me to use WalMart plus sizes as a clothing or fabric source. I will add that department to my rounds, and will change my thinking from "WalMart doesn't DO petites" to "WalMart carries some great fabric lengths; IF you know where to look!"
11/23/11 10:26 AM
marec said...
This is amazing! Not only is the dress so pretty, but your work in piecing looks totally professional.
11/23/11 11:30 AM
RLL said...
I would say that your efforts definately paid off! Brilliant use of an over sized (for you) skirt.
11/23/11 1:06 PM
Sharon1952 said...
That is an amazing repurpose!
11/23/11 5:37 PM
mary in FL said...
Wow! Just wow! I have several too-large garments from various sources to use as fabric, but I really needed this inspiration!
11/23/11 7:32 PM
petro said...
Pretty wonderful refashion!
11/24/11 2:15 AM
lcdrbetty said...
I'll add another WOW! Amazing sewing job & beautiful outcome...I'm impressed with your whole process.
11/24/11 8:24 AM
bananaoil said...
Excellent! You remind us to look at RTW clothes in a completely different way. Important to note (with that x-large skirt) that when you refashion, you can't make a larger item than what you start with.
11/24/11 8:48 AM
MidnightBleu said...
OMG! How cute is that dress! Great job. Really creative use of "fabric".
11/24/11 11:25 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to refashion - clever and looks great.
11/24/11 1:08 PM
JillyBe said...
What a glamorous look! Wonderful vision & a fantastic result!
11/25/11 0:14 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress.
11/25/11 7:52 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't get over your dress, Amy-may! It is fantastic. I never would have thought to use a large skirt for yardage -- and then I doubt I'd have had the patience to undo all those serged seams. But even if I had, I wouldn't have your eye for design or sewing talent. Your dress looks phenomenal on you!
11/25/11 11:37 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is utterly fantastic. I applaud your ingenuity. I would never guess that this is a refashion. Bonus--it looks great on you.
11/27/11 9:34 PM
SondraG said...
Nicely done. The finished product looks great!
11/30/11 2:32 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks adorable, i think you picked the right pattern!
12/3/11 1:48 PM
Norsecross said...
Man alive, it is like magic. I cant figure out how you got two pieces out of that one bigish skirt!
12/4/11 3:03 PM
LM2HYD said...
Fabulous Dress! Well done! :)
12/12/11 8:21 AM
Mufffet said...
This is a lovely redo. I missed this review before, but that means I could enjoy it now! Congrats! :)
12/27/11 9:58 AM
Roary said...
Squeal!!! I love, love, love what you did! Great job and a well-deserved award.
12/29/11 1:27 PM
WhatSew said...
Nice, thinking outside the box! Finished project is lovely.
1/3/12 3:42 PM
SMGSSG said...
I never thought of using fabric from ready to wear....
2/1/12 7:07 PM
SavageCoco said...
OUT. STANDING.
2/23/12 11:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
New Look 6782 OOP

photo
by: cleverclog...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now