SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8634 (Misses' Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 145
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:11/22/11 11:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Good idea for lowering the horizontal seam in front--many have mentioned it sits too high. I like the borrowed cowl treatment, too. Pam is something else with all those cool ideas for handling cowls. Glad to see you put one of her excellent tutorials to good use.
11/22/11 11:17 PM
SewWil said...
What a pretty top! Thanks for the detailed review. Your changes paid off because it looks wonderful on you. Looks to me like it is a VERY wearable muslin.
11/22/11 11:24 PM
Aixoise said...
I think you nailed it. Looking forward to seeing future versions. I thought that was Pam's cowl treatment. Genius!
11/22/11 11:46 PM
c.k. paz said...
Your finished top looks great; very flattering fit. I've been looking for a top with a cowl neckline and, thanks to your review, I'll keep this one in mind.
11/23/11 2:20 AM
jannw said...
I wasn't interested in this pattern at first, but I LOVE your version! What a great job..a definitely more than wearable muslin..that color is so good on you!
11/23/11 5:23 AM
jlg said...
Your version of this is wonderful. It is very becoming.
11/23/11 7:03 AM
Margaret said...
Great top! Very nice changes... the front seam looks like it worked well and so did the extra detail on the cowl. Have fun with the next version(s)!
11/23/11 8:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Nice RTW muslin. Thanks for the review. This is my first time noticing this pattern. I will give it a try.
11/23/11 9:13 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is adorable on you and what a perfect color for your complexion. I really like the tab on the cowl for something different. Very cute!
11/23/11 9:37 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow, Mary. So gorgeous on you! I've been wanting to try Pam's technique too. It is the perfect touch on this pattern. OK, I have to go buy this pattern now!
11/23/11 10:04 AM
crazygrad said...
Nice blouse! But YOU look gorgeous!
11/23/11 11:42 AM
nickelc624 said...
I love your top! The fit is great and the color is beautiful.
11/23/11 1:07 PM
katlew03 said...
Looks great. Thanks for the link for the knotted cowl.
11/23/11 3:45 PM
treefrog said...
Great top and such a lovely colour. I like the way you determined the empire line height - very innovative.
11/23/11 5:12 PM
JTink said...
You look great in this...super job.
11/23/11 5:12 PM
booran said...
Love your top - the colour really suits you. Thank you for the tip on the cowl will try next time myself. Wish my muslins turn out as nice as yours.
11/23/11 8:41 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great tunic, love the colour, and how clever to work out where that horizontal seam should be. The knot is very clever.
11/24/11 1:22 AM
Christas said...
I love the knotted cowl! Your new top looks very nice!
11/24/11 1:54 AM
NC Carol said...
What a nice fit you've achieved! It looks great and I love that color on you!
11/24/11 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now