SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6695 (childrens costume)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1362 times 
Reviewed by:mamakooz
photo

 
 
About mamakoozstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/14/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:16 AM
Last Updated:10/12/04 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Neefer said...
How was the head piece to construct? And you thought the instructions were complete? No missing steps? The reason I ask is that I'm finishing up a simplicity monkey costume, and it's a royal pain. The fit is off in the head piece. They don't give any instruction on how to attach the hat to the headpiece. I guess they assume that a toddler is going to keep a hat shaped like a cup on his head without any securing it. Generally, I like Simplicity better than Butterick/McCalls, but the costumes have been terrible. Thanks.
10/13/04 10:37 AM
Susi said...
Hi, great costume, I think I made a pumpkin from McCall's last year for my DD. This year it's going to be a Princess, which Princess Costumes are you making? The one I'm making is a McCall's and I allready catched one mistake the have in the instructions (review will follow)
10/13/04 1:36 PM
Annika said...
Oh yay! I love dinosaurs! This son-o-saurus is great! I also love that you used your stash for it!
10/13/04 3:45 PM
mamakooz said...
Susi, I am making Ariel (simplicity 9919) and Sleeping Beauty (simp 9384) Neefer, confession time, I am bad about just glancing at instructions and only really look at them if i can't easily figure it out. The head piece on this has 2 pieces on each side to give it more shape , then I pinned the spikes in the middle of the 2 sides and sewed it, then I hemmed it and put a button hole and button under the chin. As long as everything goes along smooth, I don't even look at the steps. are you making the monkey #4856? That is very strange that they have that little hat just seperate like that. I would try putting some velcro on it to make it stay. That looks like a super tough pattern! But very cute . Wishing you lots of luck. I have had more problems with my Butterick patterns lately. I even had an envelope that had 1/2 the pattern in another set of sizes!!
10/14/04 10:51 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute little dino. Nice that you can make this for your DS.
10/17/04 8:08 PM
momkoz said...
i sewed the dog costume in a couple of days. it was very easy. i used my own spots, making them varied in sizes. i also put a little heart on the bottom. that was really cute. i also added craft wire to the ears, so i could put them where i wanted. the hood did not have a lining, but it was easily added. i put contrasting spots on the tail, too. the tail length was just right, too.
11/9/04 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-127

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now