SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6695 (childrens costume)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1362 times 
Reviewed by:mamakooz
photo

 
 
About mamakoozstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/14/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:16 AM
Last Updated:10/12/04 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Neefer said...
How was the head piece to construct? And you thought the instructions were complete? No missing steps? The reason I ask is that I'm finishing up a simplicity monkey costume, and it's a royal pain. The fit is off in the head piece. They don't give any instruction on how to attach the hat to the headpiece. I guess they assume that a toddler is going to keep a hat shaped like a cup on his head without any securing it. Generally, I like Simplicity better than Butterick/McCalls, but the costumes have been terrible. Thanks.
10/13/04 10:37 AM
Susi said...
Hi, great costume, I think I made a pumpkin from McCall's last year for my DD. This year it's going to be a Princess, which Princess Costumes are you making? The one I'm making is a McCall's and I allready catched one mistake the have in the instructions (review will follow)
10/13/04 1:36 PM
Annika said...
Oh yay! I love dinosaurs! This son-o-saurus is great! I also love that you used your stash for it!
10/13/04 3:45 PM
mamakooz said...
Susi, I am making Ariel (simplicity 9919) and Sleeping Beauty (simp 9384) Neefer, confession time, I am bad about just glancing at instructions and only really look at them if i can't easily figure it out. The head piece on this has 2 pieces on each side to give it more shape , then I pinned the spikes in the middle of the 2 sides and sewed it, then I hemmed it and put a button hole and button under the chin. As long as everything goes along smooth, I don't even look at the steps. are you making the monkey #4856? That is very strange that they have that little hat just seperate like that. I would try putting some velcro on it to make it stay. That looks like a super tough pattern! But very cute . Wishing you lots of luck. I have had more problems with my Butterick patterns lately. I even had an envelope that had 1/2 the pattern in another set of sizes!!
10/14/04 10:51 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute little dino. Nice that you can make this for your DS.
10/17/04 8:08 PM
momkoz said...
i sewed the dog costume in a couple of days. it was very easy. i used my own spots, making them varied in sizes. i also put a little heart on the bottom. that was really cute. i also added craft wire to the ears, so i could put them where i wanted. the hood did not have a lining, but it was easily added. i put contrasting spots on the tail, too. the tail length was just right, too.
11/9/04 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now