Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
PR Member's Pattern: 108155-1008 (The Tablecloth Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 479 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/24/11 11:09 PM
Last Updated:11/24/11 11:12 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
I love your version - and the way you placed the bulk off center. Very flattering. I will be making this as soon as I find the right fabric.
11/24/11 11:41 PM
marec said...
This is so cool-and it is very flattering. I love everything about it.
11/25/11 0:06 AM
Doobee64 said...
I was eyeing up Sham's tablecloth skirt as well - how clever is it??? And your version of cutting is great. Looking forward to your next one. Do you think it would work in a plain fabric???
11/25/11 1:08 AM
Ann Smith said...
Doobee64: definitely would work in solid. The original Mizono dress is a solid knit. I may do that...
11/25/11 1:42 AM
sfshaza said...
Very cool, Ann! Yours looks great! I sure enjoyed wearing mine for Thanksgiving yesterday. :)
11/25/11 6:02 AM
mmcp said...
Yes, on my make-this-soon-list too, yours looks great! Are you the same height as sfhaza-- did you use her numbers for the sizes of the pieces? I noticed the Mizono dress fabric also seems to have more body, it think that would also affect how the thing looks a lot--if it's a very drapey fabric it'll fall flatter.
11/25/11 7:12 AM
taylormade said...
So glad you did this skirt! I can't wait to try it, but I've got 5 Unfinished big projects, so I have to finish those first! The skirt looks so nice and is so drapey! I like the plaid, but see what you mean about lining it up. We learn something new from every project, don't we? :-)
11/25/11 7:59 AM
marthamyers said...
Love Sharon's tutorial. Love your version. How inspiring you two are!
11/25/11 10:08 AM
Patti B said...
Such an interesting skirt -- love it. I have yards of this fabric too and this is a good use for it.
11/25/11 11:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
mmcp: I am about 2 inches shorter than Sharon so I made my square a bit smaller.
11/25/11 11:57 AM
JillyBe said...
Love it! I'm not a plaid lover, usually, but I kept a plaid from a free mystery box, & I've already started my version of this skirt. I'm seeing a tablecloth skirt revolution happening! :D
11/27/11 4:26 AM
Barbara V said...
Love it too! Smart idea to wear it with folds falling off center.
12/2/11 10:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

New Look 6563 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6014: jochen
photo
Review by Erinaceous on 7/16/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us