Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5103 (kimono jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 3037 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/04 5:46 AM
Last Updated:1/8/06 8:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Rule bending is what it's all about! That is a WOW jacket- I wish I had a reason to make one just like it...or I could make a reason up!
10/13/04 9:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Petra - I really have to say that you have an amazing, amazing design sense...I so much enjoy your reviews and projects!
10/13/04 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful jacket. I especially love that lining. It will be fun to wear.
10/13/04 10:30 AM
jlg said...
Just lovely. You definitely ended up with a glamorous evening jacket.
10/13/04 10:45 AM
drsue said...
Very nice indeed.
10/13/04 12:45 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, what beautiful fabrics! I hope you get many occasions to wear your jacket.
10/13/04 1:04 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very cool fabrics and I think it's great you've pushed the envelope, pun intended, to use fabrics not recommended. Excellent outcome. Sure hope you can post a photo of it on you with the black velvet :)
10/13/04 1:30 PM
Annette H said...
Lovely.
10/13/04 2:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
What wonderful fabrics and colors. A nice garment that keeps drawing you in to see details.
10/13/04 2:25 PM
CatherineN said...
This is lovely! I looked at all your pictures....you are an artistic woman and you sew beautifully.
10/13/04 4:17 PM
minieme said...
Kitty seems to have the same good taste in clothes. I love the concept of the surprise lining. It's a nice feature for a open jacket like this.
10/13/04 5:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very unique and beautiful garment. I admire your creativity and technique.
10/13/04 7:21 PM
Sm said...
What an inspiration. Your jacket is beautiful. Where did you get such an interesting collection of fabrics ?
10/13/04 7:28 PM
petra said...
Put moderately gastly picture of me wearing this in (conclusion). The lining sari came from a local indian products shop in Brattleboro, VT, which sells used saris. The kimono fabrics from a sewing expo years ago, and the body fabric from a small fine fabric store also in Brattleboro. My xmas dress project is to use a marvellous cranberry and gold sari that I got there. Almost (but not quite) too good to cut up!
10/13/04 7:35 PM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Yours captures the spirit of the pattern design so much better! Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:38 AM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
It Works! Good for you to use your talents so cleverly with this pattern.
10/14/04 7:08 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Pretty jacket and color combination.
10/14/04 7:32 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know who's coat is more beautiful, yours or Kitty's. I love the fabric you chose.
10/16/04 1:54 PM
SewTwin said...
You did Loes proud! I hope she looks at her patterns sometimes on PR.This looks similar to jackets that won prizes at the Houston Quilt Fesitval in the "Wearables" section!Grrrreat Job!
3/21/05 11:52 PM
Elona said...
These are such pretty jackets!
3/22/05 1:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love the new version too. I have this pattern, but have never tried it. Your review may just be the inspiration I need.
3/22/05 6:16 AM
carolynw said...
Happy to read this as I am about to make the same jacket so will know what the pitfalls are. Very in depth and helpful. I may line my jacket but will definitely be looking for ways to avoid the "not pretty" narrow turned front. New to this site I am very, very impressed. So much truly helpful info for experienced sewers such as Petra.
3/22/05 1:59 PM
Tiner W said...
That's beautiful!
3/22/05 8:14 PM
AnneM said...
I like both your versions. Thanks for the info.
3/24/05 3:49 PM
PVA said...
I can only repeat all of the above! A wonderful informative review & a truly beautiful jacket! Talk about wearable art! Wow!
1/8/06 11:11 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I loved seeing all your jackets!
1/9/06 7:20 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I really like your bouclé and sweater knit versions too! Did you use the same size for all three versions?
1/9/06 10:29 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Right on! What a wonderful use of these fabrics. I think it looks perfect on you. You are small enough to be able to wear the stiffer fabric in this very well.
1/10/06 10:12 AM
AliceB said...
Petra, Your kimono projects are so inspirational to those of us who tend to stick to the basics. In all carnations your kimonos are exquisit.
9/4/06 10:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-112 Blouse
photo
Review by BettyMike on 7/20/08
Read Review

Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5600 misses dress
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 4/25/11
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us