SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5103 (kimono jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 3040 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/04 5:46 AM
Last Updated:1/8/06 8:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Rule bending is what it's all about! That is a WOW jacket- I wish I had a reason to make one just like it...or I could make a reason up!
10/13/04 9:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Petra - I really have to say that you have an amazing, amazing design sense...I so much enjoy your reviews and projects!
10/13/04 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful jacket. I especially love that lining. It will be fun to wear.
10/13/04 10:30 AM
jlg said...
Just lovely. You definitely ended up with a glamorous evening jacket.
10/13/04 10:45 AM
drsue said...
Very nice indeed.
10/13/04 12:45 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, what beautiful fabrics! I hope you get many occasions to wear your jacket.
10/13/04 1:04 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very cool fabrics and I think it's great you've pushed the envelope, pun intended, to use fabrics not recommended. Excellent outcome. Sure hope you can post a photo of it on you with the black velvet :)
10/13/04 1:30 PM
Annette H said...
Lovely.
10/13/04 2:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
What wonderful fabrics and colors. A nice garment that keeps drawing you in to see details.
10/13/04 2:25 PM
CatherineN said...
This is lovely! I looked at all your pictures....you are an artistic woman and you sew beautifully.
10/13/04 4:17 PM
minieme said...
Kitty seems to have the same good taste in clothes. I love the concept of the surprise lining. It's a nice feature for a open jacket like this.
10/13/04 5:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very unique and beautiful garment. I admire your creativity and technique.
10/13/04 7:21 PM
Sm said...
What an inspiration. Your jacket is beautiful. Where did you get such an interesting collection of fabrics ?
10/13/04 7:28 PM
petra said...
Put moderately gastly picture of me wearing this in (conclusion). The lining sari came from a local indian products shop in Brattleboro, VT, which sells used saris. The kimono fabrics from a sewing expo years ago, and the body fabric from a small fine fabric store also in Brattleboro. My xmas dress project is to use a marvellous cranberry and gold sari that I got there. Almost (but not quite) too good to cut up!
10/13/04 7:35 PM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Yours captures the spirit of the pattern design so much better! Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:38 AM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
It Works! Good for you to use your talents so cleverly with this pattern.
10/14/04 7:08 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Pretty jacket and color combination.
10/14/04 7:32 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know who's coat is more beautiful, yours or Kitty's. I love the fabric you chose.
10/16/04 1:54 PM
SewTwin said...
You did Loes proud! I hope she looks at her patterns sometimes on PR.This looks similar to jackets that won prizes at the Houston Quilt Fesitval in the "Wearables" section!Grrrreat Job!
3/21/05 11:52 PM
Elona said...
These are such pretty jackets!
3/22/05 1:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love the new version too. I have this pattern, but have never tried it. Your review may just be the inspiration I need.
3/22/05 6:16 AM
carolynw said...
Happy to read this as I am about to make the same jacket so will know what the pitfalls are. Very in depth and helpful. I may line my jacket but will definitely be looking for ways to avoid the "not pretty" narrow turned front. New to this site I am very, very impressed. So much truly helpful info for experienced sewers such as Petra.
3/22/05 1:59 PM
Tiner W said...
That's beautiful!
3/22/05 8:14 PM
AnneM said...
I like both your versions. Thanks for the info.
3/24/05 3:49 PM
PVA said...
I can only repeat all of the above! A wonderful informative review & a truly beautiful jacket! Talk about wearable art! Wow!
1/8/06 11:11 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I loved seeing all your jackets!
1/9/06 7:20 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I really like your bouclé and sweater knit versions too! Did you use the same size for all three versions?
1/9/06 10:29 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Right on! What a wonderful use of these fabrics. I think it looks perfect on you. You are small enough to be able to wear the stiffer fabric in this very well.
1/10/06 10:12 AM
AliceB said...
Petra, Your kimono projects are so inspirational to those of us who tend to stick to the basics. In all carnations your kimonos are exquisit.
9/4/06 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review