SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5103 (kimono jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 3040 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/04 5:46 AM
Last Updated:1/8/06 8:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Rule bending is what it's all about! That is a WOW jacket- I wish I had a reason to make one just like it...or I could make a reason up!
10/13/04 9:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Petra - I really have to say that you have an amazing, amazing design sense...I so much enjoy your reviews and projects!
10/13/04 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful jacket. I especially love that lining. It will be fun to wear.
10/13/04 10:30 AM
jlg said...
Just lovely. You definitely ended up with a glamorous evening jacket.
10/13/04 10:45 AM
drsue said...
Very nice indeed.
10/13/04 12:45 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, what beautiful fabrics! I hope you get many occasions to wear your jacket.
10/13/04 1:04 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very cool fabrics and I think it's great you've pushed the envelope, pun intended, to use fabrics not recommended. Excellent outcome. Sure hope you can post a photo of it on you with the black velvet :)
10/13/04 1:30 PM
Annette H said...
Lovely.
10/13/04 2:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
What wonderful fabrics and colors. A nice garment that keeps drawing you in to see details.
10/13/04 2:25 PM
CatherineN said...
This is lovely! I looked at all your pictures....you are an artistic woman and you sew beautifully.
10/13/04 4:17 PM
minieme said...
Kitty seems to have the same good taste in clothes. I love the concept of the surprise lining. It's a nice feature for a open jacket like this.
10/13/04 5:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very unique and beautiful garment. I admire your creativity and technique.
10/13/04 7:21 PM
Sm said...
What an inspiration. Your jacket is beautiful. Where did you get such an interesting collection of fabrics ?
10/13/04 7:28 PM
petra said...
Put moderately gastly picture of me wearing this in (conclusion). The lining sari came from a local indian products shop in Brattleboro, VT, which sells used saris. The kimono fabrics from a sewing expo years ago, and the body fabric from a small fine fabric store also in Brattleboro. My xmas dress project is to use a marvellous cranberry and gold sari that I got there. Almost (but not quite) too good to cut up!
10/13/04 7:35 PM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Yours captures the spirit of the pattern design so much better! Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:38 AM
MickeyFan said...
I love the fabric you chose. Frankly, yours is much better than the pattern photo. Simply beautiful!
10/14/04 6:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
It Works! Good for you to use your talents so cleverly with this pattern.
10/14/04 7:08 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Pretty jacket and color combination.
10/14/04 7:32 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know who's coat is more beautiful, yours or Kitty's. I love the fabric you chose.
10/16/04 1:54 PM
SewTwin said...
You did Loes proud! I hope she looks at her patterns sometimes on PR.This looks similar to jackets that won prizes at the Houston Quilt Fesitval in the "Wearables" section!Grrrreat Job!
3/21/05 11:52 PM
Elona said...
These are such pretty jackets!
3/22/05 1:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love the new version too. I have this pattern, but have never tried it. Your review may just be the inspiration I need.
3/22/05 6:16 AM
carolynw said...
Happy to read this as I am about to make the same jacket so will know what the pitfalls are. Very in depth and helpful. I may line my jacket but will definitely be looking for ways to avoid the "not pretty" narrow turned front. New to this site I am very, very impressed. So much truly helpful info for experienced sewers such as Petra.
3/22/05 1:59 PM
Tiner W said...
That's beautiful!
3/22/05 8:14 PM
AnneM said...
I like both your versions. Thanks for the info.
3/24/05 3:49 PM
PVA said...
I can only repeat all of the above! A wonderful informative review & a truly beautiful jacket! Talk about wearable art! Wow!
1/8/06 11:11 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I loved seeing all your jackets!
1/9/06 7:20 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I really like your bouclé and sweater knit versions too! Did you use the same size for all three versions?
1/9/06 10:29 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Right on! What a wonderful use of these fabrics. I think it looks perfect on you. You are small enough to be able to wear the stiffer fabric in this very well.
1/10/06 10:12 AM
AliceB said...
Petra, Your kimono projects are so inspirational to those of us who tend to stick to the basics. In all carnations your kimonos are exquisit.
9/4/06 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5457

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now