SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-126 (Coat, Long jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 407 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/11 10:28 AM
Last Updated:3/2/14 6:57 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-126 by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: LONG lounging jacket with shawl cut-on collar

Pattern Sizing:36-44
I graded down to a 34 in the neck/shoulders/armscye and the whole sleeve (which took forever because of all those absurd lines).

ETA: I remembered that I needed to do a narrow shoulder from my 1st version. It helped, but the neck line is still cut @34, and I'm really a 32. I can mitigate the tiny bit of extra width by folding down the collar.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?There's not a lot to this jacket, but the directions concerning the dart that helps form the collar are a little weird (cut along the dart 2 inches), but they do work. You have to do this step because the dart is in the middle of the shoulder, and if you don't cut where the directions tell you, you will not be able to sew the shoulder seam.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?It's tremendously cozy. I knew what I was getting into sewing something so long, but it's terribly long...like 4 inches in the sleeves and the hem.

ETA: I did shorten the sleeves to a more appropriate length for version #2, and I shortened the entire length by 9" which hits me at about mid-thigh.

Fabric Used:salmon lightweight sweater knit--I'd guess it's some combo of poly and something else.

#2 is a rose cable sweater knit with flecks of gold throughout.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I probably will sew it again. It's a great use of a couple of yards of a fabric that you love, and it's a great layering piece, easy to add a belt for some good waist definition. In the two weeks I've been wearing the rose gold version, it's won more unsolicited compliments than possibly anything else in my closet.

Conclusion: This will be a favorite as it keeps me from spending months in the winter around the house in my Met Opera hoodie. More on my blog.
~EMadeThis lounging sweater

and here.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Cozy, pretty, a wonderful color for you. It is a home run!
11/26/11 10:36 AM
Elona said...
It looks very cosy on you. The great length might be due the fact that Burdas are designed for women 5' 7".
11/26/11 10:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Pink is definitely your color! This jacket is not only comfy looking, but really trendy and stylish!
11/26/11 1:28 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cozy
11/27/11 9:28 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful.
11/27/11 9:29 AM
becca a said...
Very cute and cozy! What a lovely color on you.
11/27/11 11:24 AM
pdiddly said...
very cosy enjoy wearing it
11/27/11 4:39 PM
MamaSewing said...
This looks perfect for the long winter we are having! I really like the color also.
3/3/14 10:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 3790

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Butterick 5816

photo
by: chenille

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now