Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 101 (Gaza Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 284 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/11 6:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think this is the most beautiful rendition I have ever seen of this pattern! Lovely work.
11/27/11 7:12 PM
treefrog said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The embroidery is just amazing.
11/27/11 7:34 PM
jlg said...
Your embroidery is so very pretty.
11/27/11 7:47 PM
becca a said...
This dress is absolutely lovely! Fabulous embroidery!
11/27/11 8:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Really pretty, Margaret!! Kudos for just nice work ;D
11/27/11 8:37 PM
Renren said...
Exquisite embroidery work and such a beautiful dress.
11/28/11 2:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The colour is gorgeous and so is the embroidery.
11/28/11 3:50 AM
JEF said...
Stunning.
11/28/11 9:38 AM
Sanibelle said...
That is so beautiful. I've always wanted this pattern. Now I want it even more!
11/29/11 11:28 AM
Marge99 said...
Love it! Really something special.
11/29/11 4:12 PM
Camerio said...
Very, very nice. You look wonderful wearing this beautiful dress!
11/29/11 9:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW, Margaret, this is absolutely STUNNING, and you wear it SO WELL! I LOVE the fabric you chose, and that EMBROIDERY -- Well, I've never seen anything like it. :o) GORGEOUS! I'm so out of the loop, lately, I'm trying to get caught up with some of my "favorites." :o)
11/30/11 0:53 AM
waltzqueen said...
This is a very beautiful dress. I love the rich velour and your embroidery is amazing. You've taken the time to make a lovely and memorable outfit. I think I will have to buy this pattern!
12/13/11 11:23 AM
BriarRose said...
"I'm not sure how I could have transferred the design directly to the front side of the velour so that it would be visible and not damage the nap." Since you already have the pattern drawn on the lingin,you are halfway there. Simply use a single strand of embroidery floss and a running stitch to transfer those design lines to the front of the garment. If you use design colors to do the tracing you won't even have to remove the thread tracing.
9/21/12 8:10 PM
Margaret said...
BriarRose, thanks, that's good to know! In this case it seemed sufficient to work from the back and periodically check that the embroidery was looking good on the front. But it definitely seems that it would be useful to have the design on the front in many cases.
9/22/12 4:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 8/6/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Tango Skirt
Loes Hinse Tango Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Enid Gilchrist Enid Gilchrist
photo
Review by sarahjk on 9/23/13
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us