SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 101 (Gaza Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 308 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/11 6:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think this is the most beautiful rendition I have ever seen of this pattern! Lovely work.
11/27/11 7:12 PM
treefrog said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The embroidery is just amazing.
11/27/11 7:34 PM
jlg said...
Your embroidery is so very pretty.
11/27/11 7:47 PM
becca a said...
This dress is absolutely lovely! Fabulous embroidery!
11/27/11 8:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Really pretty, Margaret!! Kudos for just nice work ;D
11/27/11 8:37 PM
Renren said...
Exquisite embroidery work and such a beautiful dress.
11/28/11 2:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The colour is gorgeous and so is the embroidery.
11/28/11 3:50 AM
JEF said...
Stunning.
11/28/11 9:38 AM
Sanibelle said...
That is so beautiful. I've always wanted this pattern. Now I want it even more!
11/29/11 11:28 AM
Marge99 said...
Love it! Really something special.
11/29/11 4:12 PM
Camerio said...
Very, very nice. You look wonderful wearing this beautiful dress!
11/29/11 9:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW, Margaret, this is absolutely STUNNING, and you wear it SO WELL! I LOVE the fabric you chose, and that EMBROIDERY -- Well, I've never seen anything like it. :o) GORGEOUS! I'm so out of the loop, lately, I'm trying to get caught up with some of my "favorites." :o)
11/30/11 0:53 AM
waltzqueen said...
This is a very beautiful dress. I love the rich velour and your embroidery is amazing. You've taken the time to make a lovely and memorable outfit. I think I will have to buy this pattern!
12/13/11 11:23 AM
BriarRose said...
"I'm not sure how I could have transferred the design directly to the front side of the velour so that it would be visible and not damage the nap." Since you already have the pattern drawn on the lingin,you are halfway there. Simply use a single strand of embroidery floss and a running stitch to transfer those design lines to the front of the garment. If you use design colors to do the tracing you won't even have to remove the thread tracing.
9/21/12 8:10 PM
Margaret said...
BriarRose, thanks, that's good to know! In this case it seemed sufficient to work from the back and periodically check that the embroidery was looking good on the front. But it definitely seems that it would be useful to have the design on the front in many cases.
9/22/12 4:42 AM
helenkosings said...
Your embroidery raises this garment up to amazing!
5/8/14 11:51 AM
BobeeKay said...
Beautiful! Where do you where this? (I'm picturing Christmas morning.)
7/30/14 7:28 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks!! Good question, BobeeKay... I don't wear it much because I'm a little afraid of washing it, or sending it to a drycleaner who may crush the velvet (that's happened to me before, with a different item). But Christmas morning would be just the sort of time to wear it.
7/31/14 6:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda Burda Style Handbook

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now