SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 101 (Gaza Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 321 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/11 6:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks!! Good question, BobeeKay... I don't wear it much because I'm a little afraid of washing it, or sending it to a drycleaner who may crush the velvet (that's happened to me before, with a different item). But Christmas morning would be just the sort of time to wear it.
7/31/14 6:16 PM
BobeeKay said...
Beautiful! Where do you where this? (I'm picturing Christmas morning.)
7/30/14 7:28 PM
helenkosings said...
Your embroidery raises this garment up to amazing!
5/8/14 11:51 AM
Margaret said...
BriarRose, thanks, that's good to know! In this case it seemed sufficient to work from the back and periodically check that the embroidery was looking good on the front. But it definitely seems that it would be useful to have the design on the front in many cases.
9/22/12 4:42 AM
BriarRose said...
"I'm not sure how I could have transferred the design directly to the front side of the velour so that it would be visible and not damage the nap." Since you already have the pattern drawn on the lingin,you are halfway there. Simply use a single strand of embroidery floss and a running stitch to transfer those design lines to the front of the garment. If you use design colors to do the tracing you won't even have to remove the thread tracing.
9/21/12 8:10 PM
waltzqueen said...
This is a very beautiful dress. I love the rich velour and your embroidery is amazing. You've taken the time to make a lovely and memorable outfit. I think I will have to buy this pattern!
12/13/11 11:23 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW, Margaret, this is absolutely STUNNING, and you wear it SO WELL! I LOVE the fabric you chose, and that EMBROIDERY -- Well, I've never seen anything like it. :o) GORGEOUS! I'm so out of the loop, lately, I'm trying to get caught up with some of my "favorites." :o)
11/30/11 0:53 AM
Camerio said...
Very, very nice. You look wonderful wearing this beautiful dress!
11/29/11 9:41 PM
Marge99 said...
Love it! Really something special.
11/29/11 4:12 PM
Sanibelle said...
That is so beautiful. I've always wanted this pattern. Now I want it even more!
11/29/11 11:28 AM
JEF said...
Stunning.
11/28/11 9:38 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The colour is gorgeous and so is the embroidery.
11/28/11 3:50 AM
Renren said...
Exquisite embroidery work and such a beautiful dress.
11/28/11 2:15 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Really pretty, Margaret!! Kudos for just nice work ;D
11/27/11 8:37 PM
becca a said...
This dress is absolutely lovely! Fabulous embroidery!
11/27/11 8:07 PM
jlg said...
Your embroidery is so very pretty.
11/27/11 7:47 PM
treefrog said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The embroidery is just amazing.
11/27/11 7:34 PM
Elona said...
I think this is the most beautiful rendition I have ever seen of this pattern! Lovely work.
11/27/11 7:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now