SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> 104 (Waterfall Pattern)

1 more reviews
Viewed 565 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/11 5:33 PM
Last Updated:11/28/11 5:43 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QueenZ said...
I get what you’ve said. I know if I wear something and it doesn’t feel right on me no matter how many compliments I get, the item is rarely worn (as a matter of fact, sometimes given to the person giving the compliment and they love it …worked for them). Feeling good is important, however, in this ensemble, you are stunning!
12/15/11 8:35 AM
sfshaza said...
I had the same reaction as Annette. When I saw the small thumbnail, next to the "it didn't work for me", I was surprised. When I looked at the picture in its larger format, I can see what you are talking about. It's a cute design with lots of potential, but needs refinement. Personally, I would remove the pleats from the paper pattern and try again, but there may be other ways to improve it for you. I also have to agree with others. You are ROCKING your look! Fabulous!!
12/1/11 10:12 AM
JillyBe said...
Wow - this entire look is SO stunning, from head to toe! I think the basic lines of this top are great, & with as much work as you've put in to the alterations, I really really think you should try it again. I like the ideas of a drapier fabric, & a smaller cut in the areas you took in might do the trick. Seriously, you look GAWjuss!
11/30/11 10:18 PM
Annette1 said...
If I SQUINT? :o))) Ha! Well, I must admit I was surprised when I read that this didn't work for you, because when I looked at your picture, I thought, "COOL OUTFIT," from your HAIR to the TOP to the PANTS to the BOOTS! I know what you mean about feeling like something is just "too much," but while it may FEEL that way to you, I think it LOOKS great. :o)
11/30/11 1:05 AM
MNBarb said...
This is so "you" in a great way. It sounds like a nightmare to fit but it's good you didn't give up. Really? You don't like it? Look at the photos again. BTW, I didn't notice you had 3 stars. Congrats!
11/29/11 9:56 PM
treefrog said...
I think it looks great! And a lovely colour too. 5 yds of fabric - wow!!
11/29/11 4:56 PM
marthamyers said...
What interesting sewing projects you are working on! I too think this looks good on you. Love your new hair style too!
11/29/11 12:23 PM
marec said...
Thank you everyone-I appreciate the feedback and comments. I can see the proportion of width and length more clearly after reading what you have to say. In addition, a lighter fabric might help. Thanks again!!
11/29/11 11:38 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
Looks fabulous!
11/29/11 8:33 AM
Margaret said...
I think it's a nice, interesting style and maybe it's the (a) lack of any waist shaping and (b) length vs. width proportions that are making it seem too boxy. I wonder if some tucks or darts at the waist would help, and/or making it slightly longer. But I definitely notice the interesting cut and drape more than the boxiness.
11/29/11 4:43 AM
Aroura said...
I honestly think it looks really lovely on you, it doesn't look huge a all, and you certainly don't look like Ms. Potato head! :) I think it is very flattering, very unique, not huge and ugly. I hope it...um...grows on you? Well, you know what I mean. :D
11/28/11 10:24 PM
Renren said...
I think it looks good! Maybe you usually wear closer fitting things and that is making this feel a bit off regarding the fit? If I saw you out and about, I would think, "Cool top."
11/28/11 10:02 PM
jannw said...
Maybe an inch or two longer...other than that, I really like it!
11/28/11 9:30 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Love the overall look...maybe a little too "boxy" in the chest area. Great color!
11/28/11 8:50 PM
thirteenstitches said...
I LOVE it!!!
11/28/11 7:18 PM
JEF said...
Your end result is really interesting looking. I wonder if now that you've made the pattern quite a bit smaller, if you used a SUPER drapey thin (maybe sheer) fabric this would work as a topper over a cami or something. I really like the gracefulness of it.
11/28/11 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 7962

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
New Look 6148

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now