SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5206 (Criss-Cross Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1993 times 
Reviewed by:PegL
photo

 
 
About PegLstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/18/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/04 11:02 AM
Last Updated:10/14/04 11:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Your tops came out so pretty! I love the pintucked yoke on the red one.
10/14/04 11:12 AM
Elona said...
Very pretty, very RTW! I notice that many, many of the criss-cross tops in the stores are done this way. They're not real crossovers with two layers across the entire front. Mostly, it's one front piece with a little, partial front piece joined where the lapover would be.
10/14/04 11:21 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Very flattering neckline, too! The pintucks are a nice accent!
10/14/04 11:36 AM
jlg said...
You tops look very nice on you. I'd been hoping to see a review of this pattern. Thanks for the review (which you did just right, by the way).
10/14/04 12:26 PM
Levone said...
Nice looking tops! I'm glad to see a review as I just bought this pattern for myself.
10/14/04 1:05 PM
Hilary said...
These tops are gorgeous on you! I especially like the pintucking on the red one-what a great way to jazz it up a bit :o) I hope if you make the dress you'll share it with us.
10/14/04 1:12 PM
ChrisK said...
Peg, I love the pintuck detail. You have 3 very nice fitting and pretty tops.
10/14/04 1:22 PM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the helpful review! You mentioned that the sleeves are too big. Many people have complained that the sleeves of the cowl top are too narrow. If you've made the cowl top, how do these sleeves compare?
10/14/04 1:50 PM
Ruth C said...
Wonderful review. I am so glad someone reviewed this pattern as I have been wondering about it.
10/14/04 2:29 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Very professional pintucking! Looks great on you.
10/14/04 2:42 PM
PegL said...
Thanks everybody for your very nice comments on my first review! Since losing over 50 pounds in the last year, I feel as if I'm starting over with sewing! I'm struggling with finding the right styles and fit for me now. I had hoped to drop the last 14 pounds I need to before beginning to do reviews but I began to feel guilty about taking information from so many others without sharing any myself! Hillary, I may wait until the last pounds come off before I make the dress! I would love to have breast reduction surgery but since that's probably not in the budget, we'll see how it goes. KarenP -- I haven't made the cowl top so I can't compare sleeves. Sorry! I do have skinny arms though -- about the only thing on me that has ever been skinny! LOL Thanks again all for the nice comments! I appreciate it so much!
10/14/04 2:42 PM
tamtay said...
Congratulations on your first review! Those tops are wonderful on you and the pintucking is a great accent. I haven't done much snoop shopping lately so it's nice to know what's out there. Thanks for the review.
10/14/04 3:26 PM
Deepika said...
wow, love all the versions of your tops. Thanks for reviewing this pattern so quickly. Didn't it just come out? Thats what I love about reviews!! I think I might just have to get this one too.
10/14/04 3:46 PM
sewsue said...
Lovely tops. I really like the red one on you an d the pin tucks are a great effect. Thanks for an informative review.
10/14/04 4:18 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for describing this. I had wondered if it had two overlapping front pieces, or just a yoke for the underlayer. Your tops look much nicer than the pattern photo. (Maybe you could use the extra pintucked fabric for a pocket, or a little matching bag.)
10/14/04 4:19 PM
slee said...
Your top looks wonderful on you. I saw this top at Loes Hinse's shop about 2 months ago. I've been waiting to see someone make this and review it. I think I might have to get this pattern too.
10/14/04 5:37 PM
Modiste Madness said...
That pintucking looked like a lot of extra work but it sure added to the top. Both your tops and review are good.
10/14/04 5:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
I like both these tops on you. The pintucking on the red one was a good idea for an embellishment.
10/14/04 5:56 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great first review!! I just LOVE the pintuck idea and I will definitely be stealing ... er ... borrowing that. You commented in my review that you wish you understood fit alterations better. I highly recommend Fit for Real People (FFRP) by Palmer/Pletsch. This will show you exactly what I did and how to achieve great fit over a generous bust. Thanks for sharing now and not waiting for that last 14 lbs., and congratulations on the first 50!!
10/14/04 9:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Timely review for me as I was thinking about purchasing this pattern. Looks good on you. Like the red top with pintucks.
10/15/04 5:36 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful tops..very helpful review... you did just great.Do you happen to know the fabric content of the Wazoodle knits? Rayon, cotton, lycra? They look like a very nice weight. Love the red!
10/15/04 7:05 AM
PegL said...
Fran, the red knit from Wazoodle was in a t-shirt grab bag I got from her. It and the lavendar shirt are all cotton. They are a nice quality and weight -- better than what I find at Hancocks or Joanns. Hope that helps! Thanks to all for the nice comments! Makes me want to sew more!
10/15/04 7:38 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Congratulations - and they both look great! Your neckline came out much bigger than mine - but then I felt I should put in clear elastic to stabilize it over the long haul as I always do on knit necklines. Here you could see a picture: http://www.londas-sewing.com/images/cccloseuponme.jpg On the yoke, that is embossing with a clear acrylic stamp on Slinky Knit. Also - I note that the flat yoke version is actually reversed on the pattern cover. The accent is drafted fot the left shoulder. :) LOVED your idea and addition of the pintucking!!!
10/15/04 7:50 AM
Annika said...
PegL - this is grrrreat! I was just thinking of purchasing this pattern and now that I've seen your versions, I am inspired! Many thanks for a great review!
10/15/04 11:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, Glad I didn't miss this terrific first review. You are a talented lady and this is a well-written review! Me too, to most everything that's already been said.
12/8/04 3:54 AM
DaneDogMom said...
Thanks for a great review - being a LH junkie wondered about this one...and yours looks better than the pattern envelope. Great job! Love the texture the pintucking gives. Hope you share any dress you might give a try using the same pattern.
4/14/05 4:38 PM
els said...
The pintucked yoke makes this top stands out in the crowd, thanks for showing.
5/5/06 9:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
I missed this whole review until today. Those pintucks are fabulous, Peggy!
5/5/06 11:37 AM
Sew it seams said...
I missed this review as well, Peggy. I love the pin tucks. What a great idea. I have always liked the look of the cross-over bodice when it crosss over above the bust like this one. Very nice.
5/5/06 11:41 AM
PegL said...
Thanks for the nice comments. Looking back now, after all I've learned from so many talented members on PR about fit in the past almost two years, I can see that these shirts didn't fit me well nor flattered me in any way, shape or form! LOL The pintucks were the only decent thing about this review. I feel inspired to try again and see if I can make this pattern fit me now!
5/6/06 3:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8539

photo
by: canei

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V8390

photo
by: Willowwear...

Review