SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4254 (Misses stays and corsets)

13 more reviews
Viewed 492 times 
Reviewed by:Artemisia Moltabocca
photo

 
 
About Artemisia Moltaboccastar
Member since: 11/3/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/11 6:14 PM
Last Updated:10/3/14 11:47 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 4254 by Artemisia Moltabocca

Pattern Photo:Butterick 4254
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description and Sizing:View C, Size 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No. The drawing implies a narrow or V front fit. It did not fit my 32DD bust.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The fit and the lack of waist reduction.

Fabric Used:Cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I removed the front busk. I do this for all my corsets.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I wouldn't sew this view again. I would recommend it for small busted women. I may try the View D with gussets in the future.

Conclusion:
My 32DD bust is squished. The sides and back fit my 29W and 37H perfectly. Not much waist reduction. Fits comfortably, except for the bust.
http://www.costumingdiary.com/2011/04/butterick-b4254.html
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
material excess said...
REally nice construction. I'm sorry that it did not come out the way you wanted.
10/5/14 0:45 AM
StephiLuna said...
Thanks for the great review! I have this pattern, and now I know what to look out for when I finally tackle it. I think when it comes to corsets, contemporary clothing sizing methods don't really apply very well. It might be best to measure the pattern, decide how much compression/spring at the back lacing you want, and then pick the size based on that. But these look great on you!
10/4/14 9:15 AM
RenataRath said...
I like it... shame that you think it didn't work for you. I think it looks great.
10/4/14 3:00 AM
Danmar said...
This does look like it would take a lot of patience! I enjoyed looking at your costumes! Impressive!
10/3/14 12:01 PM
Artemisia Moltabocca said...
It's what keeps me sane. ;) Thanks Nancywin! *blush*
12/6/11 2:19 PM
Nancywin said...
I think it is amazing that you make all of these period garments. I know how much work they are. Yes, this one definitely is for a smaller busted woman. Keep up the good work!
12/3/11 10:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6570

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable BS-026

photo
by: thecurious...

Review