SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 3808 (1940s slippers)

Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 169 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 296
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 275
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jgullettpattern said...
I would love to get a copy of this pattern, if you would be willing! Judi
1/6/12 4:48 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments! mssewcrazy, it's the first time I heard of that too. I wonder if they mean something like the kind of linoleum currently used on floors, or if it's more like the linoleum you can sometimes find in art stores for linoleum block printing (which is brown and has one side that looks sort of like canvas or jute). I would think either would work, but might need a fairly strong utility knife or something similar to cut to shape.
12/5/11 4:56 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I am very impressed with the slippers and hat you have done recently. My late mother was from the era the hat heralded from -love it. This review is the first time I have ever heard linoleum use on a shoe and thought that very interesting. I am sitting here wondering if those stick down squares could be used on the bottom of slippers-interesting idea and glad you told us they were applied afterwards with glue as I was wondering. It is also novel to make these with something other than fleece or wool for warm weather wear. You did a great job bringing the vintage patterns back to life.
12/4/11 7:42 AM
jannw said...
very cute!! What a wonderful pattern..hope the strapped sandals are next!
12/4/11 0:41 AM
marec said...
These are wonderful! Now that you have some experience, you could teach this to others. I think they are darling, and would love to make some myself.
12/3/11 9:17 PM
Renren said...
I believe you have gone from milliner to cobbler in the last 2 reviews; you've got it all covered head to toe. Love these slippers and how cute they are and I would imagine warm enough to ward off any winter chill.
12/3/11 5:05 PM
Terri A said...
Clever booties and innovative finishing. They don't always give you much to go on with these vintage patterns. You did a great job.
12/3/11 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Silhouette Patterns 2050

photo
by: lore h

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

More Info
Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-8

photo
by: 21wale

Review