SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 3808 (1940s slippers)

Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 169 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Clever booties and innovative finishing. They don't always give you much to go on with these vintage patterns. You did a great job.
12/3/11 4:49 PM
Renren said...
I believe you have gone from milliner to cobbler in the last 2 reviews; you've got it all covered head to toe. Love these slippers and how cute they are and I would imagine warm enough to ward off any winter chill.
12/3/11 5:05 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful! Now that you have some experience, you could teach this to others. I think they are darling, and would love to make some myself.
12/3/11 9:17 PM
jannw said...
very cute!! What a wonderful pattern..hope the strapped sandals are next!
12/4/11 0:41 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I am very impressed with the slippers and hat you have done recently. My late mother was from the era the hat heralded from -love it. This review is the first time I have ever heard linoleum use on a shoe and thought that very interesting. I am sitting here wondering if those stick down squares could be used on the bottom of slippers-interesting idea and glad you told us they were applied afterwards with glue as I was wondering. It is also novel to make these with something other than fleece or wool for warm weather wear. You did a great job bringing the vintage patterns back to life.
12/4/11 7:42 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments! mssewcrazy, it's the first time I heard of that too. I wonder if they mean something like the kind of linoleum currently used on floors, or if it's more like the linoleum you can sometimes find in art stores for linoleum block printing (which is brown and has one side that looks sort of like canvas or jute). I would think either would work, but might need a fairly strong utility knife or something similar to cut to shape.
12/5/11 4:56 AM
jgullettpattern said...
I would love to get a copy of this pattern, if you would be willing! Judi
1/6/12 4:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Simplicity 2294

photo
by: Larisa

Review