Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5633 (Easy) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 479 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/11 7:28 AM
Last Updated:12/20/11 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BexInMD said...
These look like great traveling pants. Enjoy your trip!
12/9/11 8:57 AM
marec said...
I love these pants, especially the tab on the bottom. I like to add that feature to my longer shorts also. Enjoy your time at the "faded colonial hotel" :-)
12/9/11 11:00 AM
fourkid said...
These look great - I hope they meet all expectations. Have a great trip!
12/9/11 11:03 AM
Mufffet said...
:) I love the style - very nice job.
12/9/11 11:07 AM
MNBarb said...
I didn't realize this pattern had no waistband. You've done a nice job of finishing. Perfect khakis.
12/9/11 1:27 PM
mm said...
I can only imagine how much fabric you are going to buy in the bazaar. Enjoy your travel wardrobe.
12/9/11 8:12 PM
Margaret said...
These look great! Very nice details.
12/10/11 9:03 AM
Anne Cherry said...
I like the no-waist-band look - comfy and stylish!
12/10/11 4:53 PM
Renren said...
Oh, a faded colonial hotel and exotic bazaar will be the perfect backdrop for these pants. I hope your dhobi wallah treats them with due respect and I especially hope there's a beach with white sand and seashells! Happy travels to you!
12/10/11 5:51 PM
21wale said...
Very nice! The details are great.
12/21/11 9:57 AM
rivergum said...
Great travel khakis! Enjoy your trip!
12/21/11 5:36 PM
DreinPA said...
Have you found out if there is an actual dhobi ghatt? Turns out washing machines and microwaves are everywhere now. Any chance you are in southern India? The porch looks very familiar- though I suppose most colonial architecture in sweaty places does. I think these merit a repeat.
12/21/11 10:32 PM
jannw said...
Nice pants!! Have fun in the bazaar!! the hotel doesn't look too faded, nicely polished brass door handles and great chairs! Have lots of fun!
12/22/11 3:51 AM
jenleeC said...
Great looking chinos!
12/22/11 8:59 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I laways just love your reviews and the travel commentary since I go pretty much nowhere out of daily driving range. Lol! I love the cool look of the button tabs and the chino. Having a roll or two of this type stuff I will attempt some of these next summer and sigh buy yet another pattern for the stash. Nice work!
12/22/11 9:05 AM
Annette1 said...
I don't even remember seeing this pattern, but I really like your pants. And, boy, can I relate on the inconsistent siznig with ready-to-wear. :o( Seems like I just haven't had ANY time to sew in the past few months, so I've been on a mission to find some jeans with a decent fit THAT ARE LONG ENOUGH (that being the key component). Anyway, even within the SAME MANUFACTURER, the sizes vary WILDLY. I'm going to look for this pattern. :o)
12/22/11 1:45 PM
marthamyers said...
Great looking travel pants. Really like the tab holding rolled cuffs up. Curious about the postscript describing the fastening as not sturdy enough. Is there another closure that would be better? I would have thought a fly front would be just right. Thanks for the interesting review.
12/23/11 8:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thank you all for those warm and encouraging remarks. The problem with the front fly is that it is not reinforced yet it takes quite a bit of strain from me and from the button. Some heavy-weight interfacing would have helped. Unfortunately I didn't think of it at the right time.
12/25/11 6:44 AM
zoe said...
Cute pants. How very amusing and interesting that you have patterned your profile and on ine persona off of the great Freya Stark ( my fav travel writer of the 1930's). I do believe you quote from her book Valley of the Assassins ( re: the pleasures of waking up in a strange town). Or maybe it was 'The Southern Gates of Arabia' ( published in 1986 to coincide with her 90th birthday); since she died there has been no one like her. You must be an admirer of hers.
2/8/12 9:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Kwik Sew sewing for toddlers
photo
Review by Karen Bowe... on 4/20/03
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3644 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3644 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8151 Pattern ( Size G-H-I-J )
Vogue 8151 Pattern ( Size G-H-I-J )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 11/3/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Perfect Polo Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Perfect Polo Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Runaround Bag
Runaround Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us