SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3773 (Easy to Sew)

11 more reviews
Viewed 462 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/11 11:51 AM
Last Updated:12/4/11 12:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
these look so nice on you, the fabric matching is so important those RTW are enough to drive you to perfecting custom sewn. As far as hemming it's all your preference, I get customers that want their pants longer in back and shorter were it breaks over the front of the shoe. It's that awkward width of the pants leg. The lining idea of cotton shirting has me sold, I use to have flannel lined jeans from LL Bean that were so comfortable and a pleasure to put on. "bunions the size of small cabbages" so does that make them Brussels sprouts? I would only expect this from you...LOL
4/30/12 8:47 AM
SavageCoco said...
Absolutley brilliant! Thanks so much for this review - I'm way too lazy to draft my own capri pattern so I'm going to use this one. All because you did such a great review - luv those pics! And no, the length is perfect, your pants aren't too long. And don't you just LOVE that invisible zipper/facing tutorial? I worpship it.
2/6/12 6:42 PM
Erin D said...
Barb, I have similar measurements in terms of waist to hip and also struggle with RTW pants. I've enjoyed reading your reviews and the message points regarding pants fitting because it is such A process to sew your own pants. These pants are lovely and your plaid matching is spot on. I will definitely consider these for the future.
12/9/11 11:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look just great. They could perhaps be a tad shorter, but they would seem shorter when you walk so don't rush into shortening them. Your pattern matching is excellent, too. I love check pants myself but don't always do so well at pattern matching.
12/6/11 2:23 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Another winner for you Barb! Now you have both shirts and pants perfected. I really like the no waistband look on those.
12/5/11 9:50 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super job and great fit! I like the length and they will be versatile with other heel heights. I might try this pattern...I thought I'd found my pant TNT but think I spoke too soon. I hate fitting pants! Yours look really good and great review.
12/4/11 11:52 PM
21wale said...
Really nice job on the fit and the plaid matching! They look great. I can relate on the waist/hip ratio and the, um, bunions, both of which I inherited. At least now in MN, you won't stand out if you're wearing practical, flat, and even furry footwear.
12/4/11 10:43 PM
goosegreen said...
Fantastic fit! Can you make me some? LOL. Lovely job.
12/4/11 6:57 PM
Mushywear said...
These look superb! Thanks for the tutorial link. I'm bookmarking it!
12/4/11 6:40 PM
starryfish said...
Great fit, don't shorten them. I propose a rule of pants fitting, whatever length you think they should be ,add at least another inch!
12/4/11 5:01 PM
margk said...
I also love everything about these pants- fabric choice, pattern-match What a wonderful job you've done, as well as the fit. I have been thinking of trying no-waistband pants so this could be the pattern. Is there a tutorial for the zip with lining somewhere?
12/4/11 4:51 PM
MNBarb said...
The cotton is very fine and not bulky. I like the instant warmth that I don't get from typical lining fabrics. I wish I could wear heels. I have bunions the size of small cabbages and have to be fussy about my shoes. I'm lucky if I can find something cuter than convent oxfords.
12/4/11 4:22 PM
marec said...
WOW! oops, sorry for yelling. Those are perfection darlin', and now you have a wonderful TNT pants pattern. Don't shorten them, and in fact, you might want to try this style with a higher heel for fun. Does the cotton lining add any bulk?
12/4/11 2:43 PM
Christas said...
PERFECT!!!
12/4/11 2:25 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Your pants look fantastic - far, far better than those RTW. That's interesting what you say about the waistband/hip difference in RTW. I have a very dramatic difference in waist to hip size and I always found RTW pants to be shaped for women/girls who were much straighter from the waist down than I am...hmm..I guess we both found the solution: make our own :) Nope, don't shorten them. The length looks just right for this style!
12/4/11 12:55 PM
homejewel said...
Woohoo, Barb!! Ok, I bow to your expertise in adding LINING - whoa! I haven't done that yet. They look wonderful - love everything about them, including the fun label. I agree with you on ditching the lapped zipper and going with the invisible. It's funny that I have on my list to extend my capris to pants length, too. And, ahem, I dare say that if memory serves, I had to do 4 back darts to accommodate my "assets". haha! I'm so not a celery! LOL You're funny!
12/4/11 12:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Tessuti Jac shirt

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-107

photo
by: liliv

Review