Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3773 (Easy to Sew) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 447 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/11 11:51 AM
Last Updated:12/4/11 12:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
Woohoo, Barb!! Ok, I bow to your expertise in adding LINING - whoa! I haven't done that yet. They look wonderful - love everything about them, including the fun label. I agree with you on ditching the lapped zipper and going with the invisible. It's funny that I have on my list to extend my capris to pants length, too. And, ahem, I dare say that if memory serves, I had to do 4 back darts to accommodate my "assets". haha! I'm so not a celery! LOL You're funny!
12/4/11 12:04 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Your pants look fantastic - far, far better than those RTW. That's interesting what you say about the waistband/hip difference in RTW. I have a very dramatic difference in waist to hip size and I always found RTW pants to be shaped for women/girls who were much straighter from the waist down than I am...hmm..I guess we both found the solution: make our own :) Nope, don't shorten them. The length looks just right for this style!
12/4/11 12:55 PM
Christas said...
PERFECT!!!
12/4/11 2:25 PM
marec said...
WOW! oops, sorry for yelling. Those are perfection darlin', and now you have a wonderful TNT pants pattern. Don't shorten them, and in fact, you might want to try this style with a higher heel for fun. Does the cotton lining add any bulk?
12/4/11 2:43 PM
MNBarb said...
The cotton is very fine and not bulky. I like the instant warmth that I don't get from typical lining fabrics. I wish I could wear heels. I have bunions the size of small cabbages and have to be fussy about my shoes. I'm lucky if I can find something cuter than convent oxfords.
12/4/11 4:22 PM
margk said...
I also love everything about these pants- fabric choice, pattern-match What a wonderful job you've done, as well as the fit. I have been thinking of trying no-waistband pants so this could be the pattern. Is there a tutorial for the zip with lining somewhere?
12/4/11 4:51 PM
starryfish said...
Great fit, don't shorten them. I propose a rule of pants fitting, whatever length you think they should be ,add at least another inch!
12/4/11 5:01 PM
Mushywear said...
These look superb! Thanks for the tutorial link. I'm bookmarking it!
12/4/11 6:40 PM
goosegreen said...
Fantastic fit! Can you make me some? LOL. Lovely job.
12/4/11 6:57 PM
21wale said...
Really nice job on the fit and the plaid matching! They look great. I can relate on the waist/hip ratio and the, um, bunions, both of which I inherited. At least now in MN, you won't stand out if you're wearing practical, flat, and even furry footwear.
12/4/11 10:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super job and great fit! I like the length and they will be versatile with other heel heights. I might try this pattern...I thought I'd found my pant TNT but think I spoke too soon. I hate fitting pants! Yours look really good and great review.
12/4/11 11:52 PM
betty bushwacker said...
Another winner for you Barb! Now you have both shirts and pants perfected. I really like the no waistband look on those.
12/5/11 9:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look just great. They could perhaps be a tad shorter, but they would seem shorter when you walk so don't rush into shortening them. Your pattern matching is excellent, too. I love check pants myself but don't always do so well at pattern matching.
12/6/11 2:23 AM
Erin D said...
Barb, I have similar measurements in terms of waist to hip and also struggle with RTW pants. I've enjoyed reading your reviews and the message points regarding pants fitting because it is such A process to sew your own pants. These pants are lovely and your plaid matching is spot on. I will definitely consider these for the future.
12/9/11 11:33 PM
SavageCoco said...
Absolutley brilliant! Thanks so much for this review - I'm way too lazy to draft my own capri pattern so I'm going to use this one. All because you did such a great review - luv those pics! And no, the length is perfect, your pants aren't too long. And don't you just LOVE that invisible zipper/facing tutorial? I worpship it.
2/6/12 6:42 PM
cleverkitty said...
these look so nice on you, the fabric matching is so important those RTW are enough to drive you to perfecting custom sewn. As far as hemming it's all your preference, I get customers that want their pants longer in back and shorter were it breaks over the front of the shoe. It's that awkward width of the pants leg. The lining idea of cotton shirting has me sold, I use to have flannel lined jeans from LL Bean that were so comfortable and a pleasure to put on. "bunions the size of small cabbages" so does that make them Brussels sprouts? I would only expect this from you...LOL
4/30/12 8:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

ModKid Patterns nina nina
photo
Review by Saint Nolt... on 11/5/10
Read Review

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Onion 5038
photo
Review by Sew Little... on 3/6/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2331 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2331 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7167 Pattern
Burda 7167 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us