Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4348 (Skirts with Hem Variations)

Viewed 1361 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews: 192 (patterns: 174)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 159 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/04 5:55 PM
Last Updated:10/27/04 4:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said... (10/28/04 3:27 PM) Reply
Beautiful skirt in a beautiful fabric. Looks lovely on you.
Katharine in BXL said... (10/28/04 8:47 AM) Reply
Never mind US WNTW. Your skirt is terrific! I don't think it looks hippy either.
MickeyFan said... (10/27/04 6:39 PM) Reply
Your skirt looks great on - I don't think it makes you look hippy at all! You are not alone in the zipper ripple department. I have the same problem with side seam zips... I also second your vote on wool challis, I love that stuff. Wool anything is a pleasure to work with.
GorgeousFabrics said... (10/27/04 4:47 PM) Reply
There are two things that I would try on a bias/zipper combo. One, fuse a 1/2" strip of interfacing, centered over the seam line, and two, insert the zipper by hand. Hate to say it, but it's the only way I have ever had success inserting a zipper in a bias garment. I love the fabric! -Ann
Gigi Louis said... (10/16/04 8:14 PM) Reply
Your skirt is beautiful - I am amazed at how much you get done! From the looks of it, the seam where the zip was installed stretched a bit. I often find it helpful when inserting zips in bias seams to allow the garment sections to hang out first, then stabilize the seam (pinning a stabilizer in while the fabric is on the dressform is especially helpful) and insert the zip. As everyone else mentioned, they are usually problematic. Personally, I find invisible zips the easiest because they do allow the outer fabric to drape as it wants. I wouldn't worry about it though - your skirt is so beautiful and flattering just as it is!
candyo said... (10/16/04 7:15 PM) Reply
I had the same problem with a bias yoke on a skirt and a lapped zipper. So, misery has company! I still like your skirt a lot, though.
drsue said... (10/16/04 6:44 PM) Reply
Nice skirt. On the zipper, the bias is definitely the problem. You might stretch out the fabric by hand, then stabilize in the stretched position before attaching your zipper. Also I would sew in the zipper by hand - - it's not that hard and you have much more control.
Mini said... (10/16/04 6:11 PM) Reply
Zippers in bias garments are always a bit problematic. The bias edge tends to stretch, while the zipper tape does not. Sometimes it helps to stabilize the bias edges with a strip of fusible, or a row of staystiching. I have noticed that vintage garments with a bias cut used an in-seam placket opening rather than a zip. The plackets were closed with tiny snaps or sometimes baby buttons and buttonholes. You may be able to find instructions in one of the couture sewing books. Otherwise, your skirt looks stylish, and the color is very sophisticated-Michael's fabrics are great.
Danvillegirl said... (10/16/04 6:09 PM) Reply
I am not sure why you have the ripple at the zipper. Perhaps it is the bias cut. I am not good at inserting lap zippers because I get puckers or they just don't lay right. I get better results with invisible zippers. I am not the expert on this subject and I am sure you will get helpful advice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2003-136

photo
by: FrenchColl...

Review
McCall's 3854

photo
by: Sewshable1

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Pattern Details
Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details