Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4348 (Skirts with Hem Variations) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1360 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/04 5:55 PM
Last Updated:10/27/04 4:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
I am not sure why you have the ripple at the zipper. Perhaps it is the bias cut. I am not good at inserting lap zippers because I get puckers or they just don't lay right. I get better results with invisible zippers. I am not the expert on this subject and I am sure you will get helpful advice.
10/16/04 6:09 PM
Mini said...
Zippers in bias garments are always a bit problematic. The bias edge tends to stretch, while the zipper tape does not. Sometimes it helps to stabilize the bias edges with a strip of fusible, or a row of staystiching. I have noticed that vintage garments with a bias cut used an in-seam placket opening rather than a zip. The plackets were closed with tiny snaps or sometimes baby buttons and buttonholes. You may be able to find instructions in one of the couture sewing books. Otherwise, your skirt looks stylish, and the color is very sophisticated-Michael's fabrics are great.
10/16/04 6:11 PM
drsue said...
Nice skirt. On the zipper, the bias is definitely the problem. You might stretch out the fabric by hand, then stabilize in the stretched position before attaching your zipper. Also I would sew in the zipper by hand - - it's not that hard and you have much more control.
10/16/04 6:44 PM
candyo said...
I had the same problem with a bias yoke on a skirt and a lapped zipper. So, misery has company! I still like your skirt a lot, though.
10/16/04 7:15 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your skirt is beautiful - I am amazed at how much you get done! From the looks of it, the seam where the zip was installed stretched a bit. I often find it helpful when inserting zips in bias seams to allow the garment sections to hang out first, then stabilize the seam (pinning a stabilizer in while the fabric is on the dressform is especially helpful) and insert the zip. As everyone else mentioned, they are usually problematic. Personally, I find invisible zips the easiest because they do allow the outer fabric to drape as it wants. I wouldn't worry about it though - your skirt is so beautiful and flattering just as it is!
10/16/04 8:14 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
There are two things that I would try on a bias/zipper combo. One, fuse a 1/2" strip of interfacing, centered over the seam line, and two, insert the zipper by hand. Hate to say it, but it's the only way I have ever had success inserting a zipper in a bias garment. I love the fabric! -Ann
10/27/04 4:47 PM
MickeyFan said...
Your skirt looks great on - I don't think it makes you look hippy at all! You are not alone in the zipper ripple department. I have the same problem with side seam zips... I also second your vote on wool challis, I love that stuff. Wool anything is a pleasure to work with.
10/27/04 6:39 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Never mind US WNTW. Your skirt is terrific! I don't think it looks hippy either.
10/28/04 8:47 AM
LiZ said...
Beautiful skirt in a beautiful fabric. Looks lovely on you.
10/28/04 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 2530 Men Shirts
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/13/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by CJgal on 8/28/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us