SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4348 (Skirts with Hem Variations)

Viewed 1361 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/04 5:55 PM
Last Updated:10/27/04 4:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
I am not sure why you have the ripple at the zipper. Perhaps it is the bias cut. I am not good at inserting lap zippers because I get puckers or they just don't lay right. I get better results with invisible zippers. I am not the expert on this subject and I am sure you will get helpful advice.
10/16/04 6:09 PM
Mini said...
Zippers in bias garments are always a bit problematic. The bias edge tends to stretch, while the zipper tape does not. Sometimes it helps to stabilize the bias edges with a strip of fusible, or a row of staystiching. I have noticed that vintage garments with a bias cut used an in-seam placket opening rather than a zip. The plackets were closed with tiny snaps or sometimes baby buttons and buttonholes. You may be able to find instructions in one of the couture sewing books. Otherwise, your skirt looks stylish, and the color is very sophisticated-Michael's fabrics are great.
10/16/04 6:11 PM
drsue said...
Nice skirt. On the zipper, the bias is definitely the problem. You might stretch out the fabric by hand, then stabilize in the stretched position before attaching your zipper. Also I would sew in the zipper by hand - - it's not that hard and you have much more control.
10/16/04 6:44 PM
candyo said...
I had the same problem with a bias yoke on a skirt and a lapped zipper. So, misery has company! I still like your skirt a lot, though.
10/16/04 7:15 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your skirt is beautiful - I am amazed at how much you get done! From the looks of it, the seam where the zip was installed stretched a bit. I often find it helpful when inserting zips in bias seams to allow the garment sections to hang out first, then stabilize the seam (pinning a stabilizer in while the fabric is on the dressform is especially helpful) and insert the zip. As everyone else mentioned, they are usually problematic. Personally, I find invisible zips the easiest because they do allow the outer fabric to drape as it wants. I wouldn't worry about it though - your skirt is so beautiful and flattering just as it is!
10/16/04 8:14 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
There are two things that I would try on a bias/zipper combo. One, fuse a 1/2" strip of interfacing, centered over the seam line, and two, insert the zipper by hand. Hate to say it, but it's the only way I have ever had success inserting a zipper in a bias garment. I love the fabric! -Ann
10/27/04 4:47 PM
MickeyFan said...
Your skirt looks great on - I don't think it makes you look hippy at all! You are not alone in the zipper ripple department. I have the same problem with side seam zips... I also second your vote on wool challis, I love that stuff. Wool anything is a pleasure to work with.
10/27/04 6:39 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Never mind US WNTW. Your skirt is terrific! I don't think it looks hippy either.
10/28/04 8:47 AM
LiZ said...
Beautiful skirt in a beautiful fabric. Looks lovely on you.
10/28/04 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 1891 - 1956 OOP Blouses

photo
by: motorharp

Review
McCall's M4951

photo
by: Marcia Wal...

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now