SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1083 (MISSES' COAT)

3 more reviews
Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:Karen Carr
photo

 
 
About Karen Carrstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/8/11
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/11 6:06 AM
Last Updated:12/6/11 6:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Would love to know how tall you are to take out 8 inches of hem. Did it come off the hem or from withing the garment? I am contemplating this coat and am quite short and afraid I will remove much flare if I just cut off the hem. Would love to know your thoughts. Its beautiful and perfect for the holidays! I live in a VERY cold climate and this would be great to throw over heavy sweaters.
12/6/11 8:10 AM
petro said...
I love big swingy coats, so practical over things in the winter, and stylish as well.
12/6/11 9:04 AM
Karen Carr said...
Hi solosmocker! I'm 5'5'', so average height really. There is so much material in this coat - I took 6 inches off before I cut it out and then shortened it by another 2 so that it sits just below my knee. I don't think you could remove too much flare from this coat, it really is very generous. I agree it is perfect to throw over heavy sweaters.
12/6/11 9:09 AM
Karen Carr said...
PS Meant to say I took it all off the hem!
12/6/11 9:10 AM
mrsbewley said...
Gorgeous! Love the color and the fur cuffs.
12/6/11 9:13 AM
JTink said...
This is just lovely...your addition of the fur cuffs is very smart.
12/6/11 9:40 AM
SewWil said...
Lovely coat!
12/6/11 9:48 AM
EMSB said...
Such a smart coat! I love the color and the fur cuffs. So perfect for a dreary winter day. You will definitely brighten it up. I love it!
12/6/11 10:34 AM
ggf2005 said...
You look like a rock star! Love the coat!
12/6/11 10:58 AM
allycovey said...
Very nice coat The color was an excellent choice as well
12/6/11 11:00 AM
marec said...
Fabulous coat!
12/6/11 11:18 AM
tsedai said...
Love it! The fur trim with the red looks amazing.
12/6/11 12:39 PM
sunnysewer said...
love a red coat, to cheer up wintertime, fantastic.
12/6/11 1:32 PM
VogueMistress said...
So elegant!
12/6/11 8:36 PM
becca a said...
This is a lovely coat! The red is bright and cheerful and the fur cuffs are a chic touch.
12/7/11 9:26 AM
waltzqueen said...
You look fabulous in that coat Daaaling! Great color for you too. Now you need a matching hat - a wide band of red with fur trim!
12/7/11 4:41 PM
solosmocker said...
Thanks, Karen. This was very helpful. It is gorgeous and the fur and red such a perfect combo. Beautiful!
12/7/11 7:56 PM
moushka said...
Fantastic coat! The fur cuffs make it look extra special; the colour is fabulous.
12/7/11 9:47 PM
Erin D said...
What a glamorous coat! The fur cuffs are fantastic.
12/9/11 11:24 PM
Tanyaii8 said...
Love the coat can't wait to start mine. The information you provided on your experience is very helpful. Thank you.
12/15/11 1:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: aleah42

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review