SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Pants)

30 more reviews
Viewed 756 times 
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jenleeCstar
WA Australia
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/11 0:46 AM
Last Updated:12/27/11 8:37 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I agree, try again. These are getting close to perfect. I have found, with pants, that a good brand of fusible interfacing really helps with the waist stretching problem. I wonder if all of your vertical seams need to be taken in between hip and waist with your curvier figure. The contour waistband is perfect for you. Good luck on try 2. Please post a review. It's so helpful to see a pants fitting journey.
12/27/11 7:59 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
These pants are beautiful & with a bit more work will be absolutely perfect on you!
12/27/11 8:07 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Really love the pants and your fabric choice. Excellent review! I am looking for a good pants pattern, so will follow you closely.
12/27/11 9:11 AM
Sharonspils said...
Your pants are close and definitely worth another try. I used texture weft on the waistband on the wool crepe and it doesn't stretch out.
12/27/11 3:51 PM
poppykettle said...
Ugh - I made a skirt with a bias waistband and I was really unimpressed with it too - even after interfacing! I will forever be suspicious of bias waistbands from now on! Thanks for your review - I know pants are notoriously difficult to get an end result one can be happy with. Better luck next time I guess! :)
12/27/11 5:32 PM
SewWil said...
I'm with you, these are worth trying again. You are very close to having a great fitting pair of pants. Good luck!
12/27/11 9:22 PM
TJSEWS said...
I think you are close to a nice fitting pair of pants and I agree that you should try again. I have done alterations for my daughter on ready to wear pants with bias waistbands and I noticed that even though the pants are interfaced, the top edge of the waistband is further stabilized with twill tape to prevent stretching. I would recommend trying this.
12/27/11 9:22 PM
Clareew said...
I think these have definite potential for you, you should try again. I made pants with a bias waistband (in fact a number of attempts) but found the waistband stretched, even though I thought I had eliminated the stretch before applying it. Your idea for cutting it on the straight grain could save these pants for you. 😊
12/28/11 2:56 AM
strongnow said...
I am always indebted to people like you who take the time to give such helpful detail. I have a pattern in my collection that I now feel equipped to try. Thanks to you and the other people who made improvement suggestions. I expect your next pair will fit perfectly and look as great as the first pair.
12/28/11 10:26 AM
Patti B said...
Before I read your review, I was admiring the fit. I like this pattern but feel that the legs are too wide for me also. Do try again and keep us posted on the results!
12/28/11 11:50 AM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for your words of encouragement and the specific sewing and fitting advice! While it is harder to post a review of your failures than your successes, I find I learn a lot from other people's reviews where things have not gone quite to plan so I hope my review also adds to our collective knowledge!
12/28/11 7:32 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, don't give up on this one! Judging by the picture they are a great fit from the front. Beautiful pattern and your work is meticulous...will look forward to see a pair that end up fitting you exactly the way you want them to!
12/28/11 10:13 PM
becca a said...
From the front, when pinned in the back, these pants look fantastic. If you can adjust the back to reflect the pinning you would be almost there. Thank you for sharing the less that perfect results. It is definitely helpful to know the pattern seems to run large.
12/29/11 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Burda 7735

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now