SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Pants)

30 more reviews
Viewed 769 times 
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jenleeCstar
WA Australia
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/11 0:46 AM
Last Updated:12/27/11 8:37 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
From the front, when pinned in the back, these pants look fantastic. If you can adjust the back to reflect the pinning you would be almost there. Thank you for sharing the less that perfect results. It is definitely helpful to know the pattern seems to run large.
12/29/11 12:09 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, don't give up on this one! Judging by the picture they are a great fit from the front. Beautiful pattern and your work is meticulous...will look forward to see a pair that end up fitting you exactly the way you want them to!
12/28/11 10:13 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for your words of encouragement and the specific sewing and fitting advice! While it is harder to post a review of your failures than your successes, I find I learn a lot from other people's reviews where things have not gone quite to plan so I hope my review also adds to our collective knowledge!
12/28/11 7:32 PM
Patti B said...
Before I read your review, I was admiring the fit. I like this pattern but feel that the legs are too wide for me also. Do try again and keep us posted on the results!
12/28/11 11:50 AM
strongnow said...
I am always indebted to people like you who take the time to give such helpful detail. I have a pattern in my collection that I now feel equipped to try. Thanks to you and the other people who made improvement suggestions. I expect your next pair will fit perfectly and look as great as the first pair.
12/28/11 10:26 AM
Clareew said...
I think these have definite potential for you, you should try again. I made pants with a bias waistband (in fact a number of attempts) but found the waistband stretched, even though I thought I had eliminated the stretch before applying it. Your idea for cutting it on the straight grain could save these pants for you. 😊
12/28/11 2:56 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think you are close to a nice fitting pair of pants and I agree that you should try again. I have done alterations for my daughter on ready to wear pants with bias waistbands and I noticed that even though the pants are interfaced, the top edge of the waistband is further stabilized with twill tape to prevent stretching. I would recommend trying this.
12/27/11 9:22 PM
SewWil said...
I'm with you, these are worth trying again. You are very close to having a great fitting pair of pants. Good luck!
12/27/11 9:22 PM
poppykettle said...
Ugh - I made a skirt with a bias waistband and I was really unimpressed with it too - even after interfacing! I will forever be suspicious of bias waistbands from now on! Thanks for your review - I know pants are notoriously difficult to get an end result one can be happy with. Better luck next time I guess! :)
12/27/11 5:32 PM
Sharonspils said...
Your pants are close and definitely worth another try. I used texture weft on the waistband on the wool crepe and it doesn't stretch out.
12/27/11 3:51 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Really love the pants and your fabric choice. Excellent review! I am looking for a good pants pattern, so will follow you closely.
12/27/11 9:11 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
These pants are beautiful & with a bit more work will be absolutely perfect on you!
12/27/11 8:07 AM
MNBarb said...
I agree, try again. These are getting close to perfect. I have found, with pants, that a good brand of fusible interfacing really helps with the waist stretching problem. I wonder if all of your vertical seams need to be taken in between hip and waist with your curvier figure. The contour waistband is perfect for you. Good luck on try 2. Please post a review. It's so helpful to see a pants fitting journey.
12/27/11 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Horrockses

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity 1659

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

More Info
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info