Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 737 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR
About jenleeCstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/11 0:46 AM
Last Updated:12/27/11 8:37 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I agree, try again. These are getting close to perfect. I have found, with pants, that a good brand of fusible interfacing really helps with the waist stretching problem. I wonder if all of your vertical seams need to be taken in between hip and waist with your curvier figure. The contour waistband is perfect for you. Good luck on try 2. Please post a review. It's so helpful to see a pants fitting journey.
12/27/11 7:59 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
These pants are beautiful & with a bit more work will be absolutely perfect on you!
12/27/11 8:07 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Really love the pants and your fabric choice. Excellent review! I am looking for a good pants pattern, so will follow you closely.
12/27/11 9:11 AM
Sharonspils said...
Your pants are close and definitely worth another try. I used texture weft on the waistband on the wool crepe and it doesn't stretch out.
12/27/11 3:51 PM
poppykettle said...
Ugh - I made a skirt with a bias waistband and I was really unimpressed with it too - even after interfacing! I will forever be suspicious of bias waistbands from now on! Thanks for your review - I know pants are notoriously difficult to get an end result one can be happy with. Better luck next time I guess! :)
12/27/11 5:32 PM
SewWil said...
I'm with you, these are worth trying again. You are very close to having a great fitting pair of pants. Good luck!
12/27/11 9:22 PM
TJSEWS said...
I think you are close to a nice fitting pair of pants and I agree that you should try again. I have done alterations for my daughter on ready to wear pants with bias waistbands and I noticed that even though the pants are interfaced, the top edge of the waistband is further stabilized with twill tape to prevent stretching. I would recommend trying this.
12/27/11 9:22 PM
Clareew said...
I think these have definite potential for you, you should try again. I made pants with a bias waistband (in fact a number of attempts) but found the waistband stretched, even though I thought I had eliminated the stretch before applying it. Your idea for cutting it on the straight grain could save these pants for you. 😊
12/28/11 2:56 AM
strongnow said...
I am always indebted to people like you who take the time to give such helpful detail. I have a pattern in my collection that I now feel equipped to try. Thanks to you and the other people who made improvement suggestions. I expect your next pair will fit perfectly and look as great as the first pair.
12/28/11 10:26 AM
Patti B said...
Before I read your review, I was admiring the fit. I like this pattern but feel that the legs are too wide for me also. Do try again and keep us posted on the results!
12/28/11 11:50 AM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for your words of encouragement and the specific sewing and fitting advice! While it is harder to post a review of your failures than your successes, I find I learn a lot from other people's reviews where things have not gone quite to plan so I hope my review also adds to our collective knowledge!
12/28/11 7:32 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, don't give up on this one! Judging by the picture they are a great fit from the front. Beautiful pattern and your work is meticulous...will look forward to see a pair that end up fitting you exactly the way you want them to!
12/28/11 10:13 PM
becca a said...
From the front, when pinned in the back, these pants look fantastic. If you can adjust the back to reflect the pinning you would be almost there. Thank you for sharing the less that perfect results. It is definitely helpful to know the pattern seems to run large.
12/29/11 12:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used none body pillow
photo
Review by maria 6705 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by Happy go l... on 6/26/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )
Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us