SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5822 (bag in 3 sizes)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 262 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/11 9:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
A visually interesting bag--the fabrics go together nicely. Thanks for the heads up about the zipper and buckram.
12/13/11 10:02 AM
jjhallum said...
Nice bag....I really like your fabric combination.
12/13/11 10:55 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
NO alterations, though!! ;D
12/13/11 11:00 AM
jannw said...
Great fabrics and a very nice bag! Love the birds!
12/13/11 12:42 PM
Terri A said...
This is exactly the kind of thing I want to know about the construction of a bag pattern - thanks so much!
12/13/11 3:12 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the review -- Your bag came out great. Did the pattern call for buckram? It IS very stiff. I have done exactly what you had to do -- pull my free arm home machine over the edge of the table, in order to be able to sew certain parts of a bag. Now I have a cylinder industrial machine and the arm sticks out with no table underneathl, which really helps if you sew lots of bags.)
12/14/11 6:37 AM
Elemenopeo said...
nice!
12/14/11 8:51 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! JDpenelope, yes, it does call for buckram, but I'm guessing they may have meant a somewhat lighter weight. The place I got this from offers 4 weights and I think what I have might have been the heaviest. The machine you have sounds great! I think I've seen industrial shoe machines that are similar.
12/15/11 6:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

brerrabbit.com Home Sewn, TK Store

photo
by: thewall

Review
Simplicity 7083

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now