SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5822 (bag in 3 sizes)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 268 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 296
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 275
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/11 9:44 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! JDpenelope, yes, it does call for buckram, but I'm guessing they may have meant a somewhat lighter weight. The place I got this from offers 4 weights and I think what I have might have been the heaviest. The machine you have sounds great! I think I've seen industrial shoe machines that are similar.
12/15/11 6:16 AM
Elemenopeo said...
nice!
12/14/11 8:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the review -- Your bag came out great. Did the pattern call for buckram? It IS very stiff. I have done exactly what you had to do -- pull my free arm home machine over the edge of the table, in order to be able to sew certain parts of a bag. Now I have a cylinder industrial machine and the arm sticks out with no table underneathl, which really helps if you sew lots of bags.)
12/14/11 6:37 AM
Terri A said...
This is exactly the kind of thing I want to know about the construction of a bag pattern - thanks so much!
12/13/11 3:12 PM
jannw said...
Great fabrics and a very nice bag! Love the birds!
12/13/11 12:42 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
NO alterations, though!! ;D
12/13/11 11:00 AM
jjhallum said...
Nice bag....I really like your fabric combination.
12/13/11 10:55 AM
Renren said...
A visually interesting bag--the fabrics go together nicely. Thanks for the heads up about the zipper and buckram.
12/13/11 10:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1008

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-120A

photo
by: birdmcfarl...

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info